We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harrington House last week for two nights to get away from it all. This was our fourth time staying there. Whenever we need a short getaway from Orlando where we live, we always consider the Harrington House. Our favorite room so far has been the Carriage House #1 - this incredible large room overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine waking up in the morning and laying in a beautiful 4-poster king sized bed and watching the turquoise blue water and the pelicans and seagulls swooping to get their breakfast. We especially love that we can use the complimentary bikes and sea kyaks. We usually park our car and never drive again during our stay so we can ride the bikes around the island. We've indulged ourselves by having an in-room massage as well which is fantastic. The breakfasts are always prepared and presented well and they will cook to order if you don't like what they're serving that morning. I can't say enough great things about the Harrington House - what a treasure

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the gulf - that's why you're going to stay there - it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    76
    18
    14
    1
See reviews for
62
447
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed five nights in March, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Harrington House. We would have no hesitation in staying there again, and would recommend it to anyone. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were interesting (not the usual eggs, bacon etc -- although these were always available) and freshly cooked. Something to look forward to every morning! The accommodation in the house was good, and, of course, the position right on the beach was superb.
The prices are a little on the high side compared to up-market English B&Bs -- but the location is so stunning!
There is a plaque as you enter saying ---- arrive as a guest, leave as a friend. That just about sums it up. .

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon22109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We've had a friend come here many times, so had to give it a whirl. And early May was a great time to avoid the crowds, and relax. We stayed 3 days, and soon felt like we were friends with the staff. All were pleasant and attentive. We stayed in Carriage House #1, which was very private and had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. It was only a short stroll to the main house and breakfast area. The loggerhead turtles were beginning their egg laying, and on several morning beach walks we saw new turtle trails up from the ocean and back.

Room Tip: If comparing several rooms, don't hesitate to call the B & B to get their advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My sister and I were in the area looking at real estate. The folks at Harrington House could not have been more accommodating. Lovely place, lovely view, great beach, we just loved it.

On our day of departure, we had to leave before breakfast was served. But when they learned that we had to leave by 7:15 AM, they offered to give us breakfast at 6:45 AM. Unparalleled service.

Sunsets are amazing from the property. Could not have been happier with the accommodations,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

If you are into being on the beach then this is the place for you. The owners/hostesses are very friendly and the staff is accomodating. If you do not want what is being served for breakfast, which is fabulous, then you can order eggs any way. We stayed in a room called DOT#2. Very large kitchen, sitting area, flat screen TV, tiny bathroom. I would give this 5 stars but the sheets were pilled and scratchy, very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerfall14580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarringtonHouseFL, Owner at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for letting us know about the sheets.

We just ordered new towels for all the rooms and now we will take a look at the sheets and order new ones.

Future guests -- please let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is our second visit to HH and it hasn't lost any of it's charm since our last visit four years ago. The staff is very friendly, the breakfasts delicious and the setting.......well, what can you say. Oh, and how can I forget the chocolate chip cookies.They have everything you need for a beach vacation including one of the best sunsets anywhere. I've been home three weeks and I still go to their website so I can see the beach from their webcam. Now, if they can only move that camera over just a bit to the right, I can watch sunset every night and dream of being back in paradise. (hint, hint).

Room Tip: We love the Birdsong Room....a little on the small side but a great big covered deck that makes up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarringtonHouseFL, Owner at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
That's a great idea! Wwe have been experimenting for quite some time to capture the sunsets directly -- however it over exposes the view even with a polarized lens. If anyone has any lens suggestions, please give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have just returned from our second consecutive stay with the folks at the Harrington House and are signed up for next year. Historically, we have tried new venues year-to-year, many in the Carribean. But, not anymore. Last year was our first visit (done on a personal recommendation). We arrived as guests and left as friends. This year, we arrived as friends and left feeling more like family. Our 2 years pales in comparison to some people we met who have been coming back for 5, 10 and as many as 24 years. You must check our this wonderful spot!

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars, you can choose ocean view. Beyond this nicety, all rooms are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemarxSharon_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
3.0 km away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
4.5 km away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 km away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.4 km away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.7 km away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5626 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing