We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood and Crabby Birds!”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Joe's Crab Shack brings fresh seafood, authentic flavors and Southern coastal flair to locations all across America. Joe's menu features crab, fish, lobster, mussels, clams and shrimp.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Sit inside if you want to FREEZE, sit outside if you want to learn to fence with the various seagulls and pigeons seeking food... Crab boils are excellent with a decent mix of veggies, crab and shrimp... beverages are average and the tourist store is in full swing. Dont forget to steal your crab crackers from "This was stolen from Joe's Crab Shack" baked into the handle. Great for singles, couples and family size gatherings... I rated 3 stars which is average, not bad and not very good... just average... between the price and the crazy slow service... The food/kitchen is great.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We had not been there in about two years, so we decided to stop for lunch: bad idea! While the beer and the waiter were good, the salad with fish and the seafood platters were not!
the crab legs overcooked and dry inside, the calamari while tender inside, were encrusted in thick breading with no flavor! The rest of the food was mediocre!
Anyway, we used to enjoy this place years ago, but it will be a looong time before we try it again!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank renatosS5335WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

We had reservations for a party of nearly twenty. Our server was amazing, never skipped a beat. Drinks never ran out, food came out fairly quickly for such a large party! The servers all came out and did a fun little line dance to the tune of "car wash". Overall a great place to dine! Fun atmosphere right on the water. Nice deck for outside seating as well. Would definitely visit again! All the kids loved the little sharks!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JulieE1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this restaurant. It’s was my first time. Kyle was very attentive with us. The food was great (the steam pots) and delicious

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

My wife and I had to evacuate to Jacksonville due to hurricane Florence. We selected Joe's Crab Shack from a brochure in the hotel and were very pleased. We both wanted crabs and the ocean and Joe's provided both. We had claim chowder to start and a bucket of crabs. The bucket contained a mix of She Crabs, King Crab and Dungeness crabs with corn on the cob and boiled potatoes. Well, we ate ALL ! Delicious especially with some cold beer. We ate outside on the deck in the shade and the view of the beach and ocean was perfect. The restaurant is also located in an area of the beach which has abundant shopping and specialty shops. We'll go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing