We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida Keys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluewater Key RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise!”
Reviewed 6 February 2016

My husband and I are full time RV'ers and this is our favorite RV resort ever! We stayed in lot 1 at the end of the canal. There were Birds, Fish, Iguanas, etc. It was a tropical paradise. The water is about 10 feet deep and crystal clear, you can see all the way to the bottom. Angela and Scott who work at the resort are fantastic! They are so friendly and always willing to help. We had the time of our lives! I only wish we could have stayed longer than 6 weeks!

Room Tip: In my opinion Lot 1 is the best! It's at the end of the Canal with lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3 Thank kendallg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Bluewater is unlike other RV campsites. Lush plantings at each site give you a sense of privacy. The grounds are immaculate, and we appreciated the sense of pride and care this park is given. If you can stay on the bayside, you should. The sunrise is beautiful from the dock, and evenings by the water is so relaxing. The only negative, and therefore four stars, is the challenging Wi-Fi. It was sporadic and frustrating. Had to find an Internet cafe to get some work done.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
4 Thank nancyjanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna E, Manager at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2016
Thank you for your very nice review of Bluewater Key RV Resort on TripAdvisor! We also think BWK is a wonderful place to be a part of and appreciate you taking the time to suggest ways we can make it an even better place to be. We pay a great deal of attention to what you, as our guest, like and dislike and try to make improvements to earn your business the next time you are in the Florida Keys.

We are sorry our Wi-Fi did not perform properly for you during your stay. We wanted you to know we have just completed a total review of our Wi-Fi facilities and we are in the process of having it totally replaced with a customized system that will be a point of pride in the future. Next time, you will be able to spend your entire vacation here at BWK in your tiki without having to go to the internet cafe to get your work done!!

Best regards and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Victoria Holder, President, Property Owners Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We stayed on a beautiful canal site, clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and helped us manage our rv to the site. They helped us set up and had all the lights working including the green light shining in the canal to see all the fish. It is our very own private aquarium. We enjoyed our two week visit and will absolutely visit again next year.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The people at Bluewater Key RV Resort are friendly. The pool is great. You can buy or rent a site there. It has 81 sites on property. They have a place to do laundry. Walking distance for coffee, and a few groceries.

Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Located at mile marker 14.3 - places you near the town of Key West but not in it. Small, Privately owned campground, paved, level sites, landscaping between sites provide privacy. Book a bay or canal site and have your own private dock. Nearly all sites have a Tiki. Bike trail crosses entrance to park. A 30-minute drive (if traffic) to Duval Street. A 15-minute drive to beach side - park here to ride your bicycle around the island - best way to travel.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Nice Park, Good People. Tight Sites but ones on the water were very comfortable with Owner's amenities for your use.

As with most ALL RV resorts WIFI and internet were poor at best. Dog park very acceptable and well maintained by guests with puppy friends

We travel in a 45 foot motor coach and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I have been looking at and researching this RV Resort for about 10 years and said someday we are going there! Well we finally did November 2015! What a beautiful place to camp! As others have said this place ruins all other resorts as its such a beautiful resort to stay! We stayed on a water front site # 70. The sunsets were outstanding and views spectacular. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly!
We were able to rent a car directly to the resort through Enterprise which was delivered directly to our site allowing us to head into Key West with no problem.
We had been reading about the two rental companies for sites at this resort and now understand what is happening between the .Com and the .Net . We rented through.com.
It seems that you cannot pick your specific site through.com but you can through.net if that site is available.
Site # 70 was just okay compared to some of the other sites but it certainly needed some updates, my understanding was that it had just been sold and new owner was going to make some upgrades to it. We had some issues with the dock as the wood was rotting and the ladder was not secure to the dock making it unsafe to use. Maintenance guys tried to fix it first time without success but did manage to fix it second time by moving it to another area of the dock.
Seems to me that if these sites aren't 100% they should be upgraded/repaired prior to renting as the cost is quite a bit more than most RV Resorts.
Although we would definitely be returning to this Resort in the future we may go the .net route as they seemed more accommodating and accessible as the staff were always out and about in the resort. Pool was nice although it was tucked away and quite small, washrooms/showers were clean, laundry room large and clean.
The weather was great although the wind this week was quite strong off the water but no complaints as the alternative for us is Ontario Canada weather which this time of year was cold/rainy.
Would we return YES DEFINITELY!! Annette and Greg Heard

Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna E, Manager at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
In response to your TripAdvisor review of Bluewater Key RV Resort, we are pleased that you and your husband decided to vacation with us in our "little piece of paradise". It is a beautiful area and we totally enjoy sharing it. We also appreciate receiving feedback from our Guests as we are constantly striving to improve our Resort.

We are, however, concerned that certain aspects of our Resort did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we are taking various actions to address your concerns. According to our records, you stayed on Lot 71 (Bayside Silver Site). As you stated, all properties in the Resort are privately owned and the owner of this lot is making the appropriate improvements. Unfortunately, our Maintenance Crew did require two visits to this site to complete the repair you requested. They are committed to make sure the repairs meet with our Owners and Guests expectations even if it takes more than one visit to accomplish this. We have a staff of eight and their goal is to perform in a professional and proficient manner at all times and your satisfaction is their primary concern.

You are correct when stating there are two separate rental agencies operating within the resort. Since all sites are privately owned, availability of a particular site is not always possible but we are committed to making every effort to book you on the site of your choice whenever possible.

We look forward to seeing you at Bluewater Key RV Resort again and hope your stay will prove to be everything you wanted it to be.

Very respectfully,

Victoria Holder, President
Bluewater Key RV Ownership Park Property Owners Association, Inc.
Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florida Keys hotels
18.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
16.4 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
15.4 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
22.1 km away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
4.3 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Key RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Key RV Resort

Property: Bluewater Key RV Resort
Address: 2950 Overseas Hwy MM 14.5, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Florida Keys
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Key(R) RV Resort is a luxury, RV Ownership Resort near Key West, FL. All of the sites are privately owned with lush landscaping for privacy between sites. The Resort offers relaxation in a pristine tropical environment. Rates are subject to location within the Resort (Bay-front, Canal or Off-water Tropical sites) and the level of amenities provided (Silver,Gold & Platinum) Reservations are usually necessary. This is a gated community with 24-hour staff security. We are located at Mile Marker 14.5 at Bluewater Drive. Welcome to Bluewater Key(R) a Luxury RV Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluewater Key Rv Hotel Florida Keys
Bluewater Key RV Resort Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing