We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too quiet and for the price not well maintained ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida Keys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluewater Key RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too quiet and for the price not well maintained ”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Make sure you don't get 64 all furniture old and bugged up
They have a bathroom vanity sink outside for an outdoor kitchen
It's a bit of a mess
No one talks to each other
No store
No place to get a drink and socialize

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank conniefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Association President at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Conniefleet,

We're sorry that Bluewater Key® RV Resort did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We make every effort to insure that our sites are commensurate with our pricing through our tiered rental system. Lot 64 is a very nice private Bayfront lot with lush landscaping for privacy and an exquisite view. It also boosts a large private dock with access to the water for swimming, fishing and boating. We agree that the furniture could use an upgrade, but as far as being "bugged up," I think you may have experienced the nuisance of "no-see-ums" that are tiny little bugs that are common in the Florida Keys. They are hard to see, but they do bite and can leave a little red bump. They are less prevalent on windy days, but they are always around and are best prevented by topical bug sprays.

The amenities provided on our rental lots are reflective of each Owners personal tastes, but we will inform the Owner of your review. We do appreciate your comments as this provides us with the opportunity to make improvements that may be needed. Unlike some of the local campgrounds that offer live entertainment and social activities, Bluewater Key® RV Resort offers a private tropical paradise setting conducive to rest and relaxation. Key West is only a short 14 miles away and there are restaurants and markets within walking distance of the Resort. The KOA and Sugarloaf Lodge just up the road offer tiki bars. We wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
64
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We would never go back nor promote anybody else to go to this park. The pictures for our site did not truly match the price we paid. The resort is beautiful and the views are beautiful, but nobody talks to you, so the park has no personality...One owner who was there this time of year named Greg was truly the only person that cared to have any kind of interaction with us. Our site #80 had recently been bought and needed updated. The refrigerator was gonna fall off the bricks it was stacked on, the cabinets were very dated, the ceiling fan was on its last leg, half of the lights worked at the site and on the dock, neither one of our 2014 Jayco coach tvs would work and Ken (management) was quick to tell us "we needed to go down to the Kmart and buy a brand name TV and it would surely work", but yet there is a Brand name TV in the tiki and it didnt work very well either. Dealing with "Ken" was horrible, he was so hard to have any kind of conversation with. When we decided to try to talk to management about our concerns and that we would like to come up with some kind of compromise Ken was the one sent over to talk to us. As we got a few words into our feelings about wanting to possibly leave "Ken said, he had to go digest what we was trying to say to him" and he abruptly walked away! he did not let you talk he talks down to you and when we presented him with our concerns, he just smugly said "then leave, what are you waiting for, leave" when Ken did return it was 10:03 am and told us to get out he had somebody coming in at 11!! The resort did return our unused balance, thankfully since it was $220 a night but as we scrambled to find someplace to take us in January, last minute and pack that is not always an easy thing to do...Thankfully we did find a place to finish off our trip and we were out before 11...

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy / Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Dear Kathy and Rodney H,
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in paradise at Bluewater Key® RV Resort. Although It is impossible to make everyone happy, our staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and provide an environment of rest and relaxation. We do not promote on-site entertainment and we do not advertise that we are similar to the KOA. I note that during your stay at the Resort, one of our owners hosted a "meet & greet" party and you were personally invited by one of our Board members. You chose to not attend!

The lot that you choose (Lot 80) was clearly displayed with pictures and a brief description on our website. It was also clearly advertised as a "Platinum" Bayfront lot with an exquisite view. Each category of lot is also clearly defined on our website, so there should be no surprises. I can assure you that although each lot is different and distinct in the amenities provided, we utilize a very subjective grading system that substantiates the level of pricing of each lot. Lot 80 is graded as a Platinum with appropriate pricing and this was clearly posted on our website when you made your reservation.

We also feel that it is important to offer our guests up-to-date high speed WIFI and HDTV programming. Unfortunately not all older televisions in some RVs can accommodate this technology. The television provided on the lot was receptive to our new programming.

Because our rental lots are in such demand, it is our customary policy that we do not refund any fees if a guest chooses to leave early. We also do not double book our sites. In this particular instance, we had a guest that wanted to extend their stay and based on the fact that you notified the office that morning of your desire to leave early, we were able to book the other guest on that lot. Therefore, we felt it was appropriate to refund the remaining fees for your reservation. Our check out time is typically 11am.

In summary, we again apologize that BWK did not meet your expectations and wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President-Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Don't go unless you are perfectly clean, have no towels to hang dry, a dog that never barks, or have kids that never laugh loudly. These are cranky retirees who have forgotten the meaning of life. Sad as the place is pretty.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank dee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Dee J,

Although we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at "Bluewater," we DO have rules that must be obeyed, so that other Guests and Owners may enjoy their peaceful enjoyment as well. We clearly inform our Guests that we do not allow clotheslines of any kind to be displayed on our lots. Consequently, we provide a self service laundry facility with washers and dryers. Although we are a "pet friendly" Resort, with a large accommodating pet area, and the vast majority of our Owners and Guests bring dogs, we DO require that dogs be controlled at all times and that loud continuous barking is not allowed. In essence, Bluewater Key® RV Resort is a luxury RV destination facility that provides the atmosphere of a tropical paradise with peace and relaxation. Victoria Holder, President Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is without a doubt the best campground we have ever stayed at. Wonderfully maintain and run by people that will do anything possible to make your stay the best experience possible. Not to mention the fantastic views and location. I hate to write this as it is already tuff to get in and I don't need more competition.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 757mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed here for 2 weeks in December, 2016. We had a bayfront site. The entire resort is beautiful and so well maintained. Each spot has it's own dock and palapa hut. Some of the sites are more tricked out then others. Most have some sort of outdoor kitchen area and eating area. The platinum sites are by far the nicest and the price is reflective of that. The only issue with this place is that if you need something or want to go out for dinner you will have to drive.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We just left this morning from Bluewater Key Resort from an 8 day vacation. It was the most beautiful RV resort we have ever stayed at. The grounds were manicured and so clean. Lot #77 was gorgeous!! I would highly recommend to anyone that wants to be right on the water with lots if relaxation! We will be back for sure!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank karogw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

The views are unbelievable. Look, my mom always said " you get what you pay for...". So is this more expensive than Boyd's the Koa, etc.... yes! But it is absolutely beautiful. You have a private site, full hook up, digital cable, wifi. Our site had it,s own dock on the bay. You are 15 miles from Key west.. the staff is very friendly. We will be back. Stayed in site 51.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Starrs022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florida Keys hotels
18.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
16.4 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
15.4 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
22.1 km away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
4.3 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Key RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Key RV Resort

Property: Bluewater Key RV Resort
Address: 2950 Overseas Hwy MM 14.5, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Florida Keys
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Key(R) RV Resort is a luxury, RV Ownership Resort near Key West, FL. All of the sites are privately owned with lush landscaping for privacy between sites. The Resort offers relaxation in a pristine tropical environment. Rates are subject to location within the Resort (Bay-front, Canal or Off-water Tropical sites) and the level of amenities provided (Silver,Gold & Platinum) Reservations are usually necessary. This is a gated community with 24-hour staff security. We are located at Mile Marker 14.5 at Bluewater Drive. Welcome to Bluewater Key(R) a Luxury RV Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluewater Key Rv Hotel Florida Keys
Bluewater Key RV Resort Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing