We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluewater Key RV Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$336
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$269
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$157
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$196
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
137
17
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
17
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki hutkey westdog parktravel traileroutdoor kitchenwaterfront sitelower keystiki lightsfriendly neighborsbrick paversrv lotlaundry facilityboat launchoffice staffgas grillnice poolmaintenance staff
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 165 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

This truly is one of the nicest RV resort we have stayed at....in part the location, the weather and the total appearance of the place. Our site was excellent. Very wide, very deep, nice Tiki with TV and refrigerator. Outstanding landscaping. The entire site appeared well maintained. The maintenance staff was excellent and very friendly. Even had a dock if we would have had a boat. I noticed other reviews about the attitude of people staying here. I tried to acknowledge every person I saw. About 25% would respond back and strike up a conversation, about 50% would respond back and put their head down and keep walking and about 25% looked disgusted that you even dared to speak to them. Apparently these people were legends in their own minds. This is not the normal RV camping experience. There is a lot of big money people that own these sites and stay here. The advertised services all work great. Never saw one person under 40. Lots of little dogs but few larger dogs. Every time I walked my dog, I heard the little dogs barking in their owner's coaches yet the owners will complain if they hear non-owner's dogs bark. The dog park is very picturesque. But there is no place to really exercise and run larger breeds. Even a KOA normally has a fenced area where you can unleash your dog and throw a ball and let them run. But this seems to be something missing at most locations in Florida. If you want solitude, an outstanding setting, a gorgeous RV lot then definitely a great place. If you want convenience, a camp store for supplies and the usual campground socialization you may not enjoy it here. Come stocked up or tow a vehicle. It's 14 miles to Key West and several miles to any convenience store.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Steven H,

Thank you for your 5-star review!!! We are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and overall appearance of the Resort and the lot you stayed on. Our staff takes pride in maintaining the lush tropical landscape and the privately owned rental lots to make your vacation experience a positive one. Although we are not able to control everyones social skills, we do appreciate our guests and we try to be very welcoming and inclusive. As you noted in your review, we are a pet friendly Resort and offer a large Dog Walk area centrally located within the Resort. As a privately owned entity, Bluewater Key RV Resort requires all dogs within the Resort to be kept on a leash pursuant to Monroe County Leash Laws. For those Owners and guests that want to allow their dogs to run freely for exercise and play, we suggest "Higgs Beach Dog Park" in Key West. This is a large fenced beach-side dog park with plenty of grassy areas for dogs to run and play. It is open from 5am to 11pm. Monroe County also offers the "Heritage Trail" walking path along US 1 for long walks. In addition, I'd like to point out that we are indeed 14 miles from Key West, but there is a small convenience store just north and within walking distance from the Resort. We're happy that you choose BWK for your vacation destination and we wish you safe travels. We look forward to your return. Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

After purchasing our first motorhome we searched several areas in Florida for a place that not only felt comfortable but was clean, appealing and the people were kind. We found it and more! Bluewater Key Rv Resort was the best part of our 2 week trip. We were lucky to get a site for 5 nights. The staff from the get go were super helpful, from the booking with Carrie to guiding us into our site with Ken it was top notch. Each site is unique, the grounds are impeccably kept, the staff is always doing something to keep things well groomed. Beyond that the other guests of the resort were nice and down to earth, unlike some other places we stayed. We will be back and we are bringing friends along with us! Thank you Bluewater ❤

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Dear Krista A,
Thank you for such a wonderful review!! We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and meet your expectations of a great vacation! We look forward to your visit in the future!

Victoria Holder, President of the Association

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Make sure you don't get 64 all furniture old and bugged up
They have a bathroom vanity sink outside for an outdoor kitchen
It's a bit of a mess
No one talks to each other
No store
No place to get a drink and socialize

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank conniefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Association President at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Conniefleet,

We're sorry that Bluewater Key® RV Resort did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We make every effort to insure that our sites are commensurate with our pricing through our tiered rental system. Lot 64 is a very nice private Bayfront lot with lush landscaping for privacy and an exquisite view. It also boosts a large private dock with access to the water for swimming, fishing and boating. We agree that the furniture could use an upgrade, but as far as being "bugged up," I think you may have experienced the nuisance of "no-see-ums" that are tiny little bugs that are common in the Florida Keys. They are hard to see, but they do bite and can leave a little red bump. They are less prevalent on windy days, but they are always around and are best prevented by topical bug sprays.

The amenities provided on our rental lots are reflective of each Owners personal tastes, but we will inform the Owner of your review. We do appreciate your comments as this provides us with the opportunity to make improvements that may be needed. Unlike some of the local campgrounds that offer live entertainment and social activities, Bluewater Key® RV Resort offers a private tropical paradise setting conducive to rest and relaxation. Key West is only a short 14 miles away and there are restaurants and markets within walking distance of the Resort. The KOA and Sugarloaf Lodge just up the road offer tiki bars. We wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We would never go back nor promote anybody else to go to this park. The pictures for our site did not truly match the price we paid. The resort is beautiful and the views are beautiful, but nobody talks to you, so the park has no personality...One owner who was there this time of year named Greg was truly the only person that cared to have any kind of interaction with us. Our site #80 had recently been bought and needed updated. The refrigerator was gonna fall off the bricks it was stacked on, the cabinets were very dated, the ceiling fan was on its last leg, half of the lights worked at the site and on the dock, neither one of our 2014 Jayco coach tvs would work and Ken (management) was quick to tell us "we needed to go down to the Kmart and buy a brand name TV and it would surely work", but yet there is a Brand name TV in the tiki and it didnt work very well either. Dealing with "Ken" was horrible, he was so hard to have any kind of conversation with. When we decided to try to talk to management about our concerns and that we would like to come up with some kind of compromise Ken was the one sent over to talk to us. As we got a few words into our feelings about wanting to possibly leave "Ken said, he had to go digest what we was trying to say to him" and he abruptly walked away! he did not let you talk he talks down to you and when we presented him with our concerns, he just smugly said "then leave, what are you waiting for, leave" when Ken did return it was 10:03 am and told us to get out he had somebody coming in at 11!! The resort did return our unused balance, thankfully since it was $220 a night but as we scrambled to find someplace to take us in January, last minute and pack that is not always an easy thing to do...Thankfully we did find a place to finish off our trip and we were out before 11...

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Kathy / Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Dear Kathy and Rodney H,
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in paradise at Bluewater Key® RV Resort. Although It is impossible to make everyone happy, our staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and provide an environment of rest and relaxation. We do not promote on-site entertainment and we do not advertise that we are similar to the KOA. I note that during your stay at the Resort, one of our owners hosted a "meet & greet" party and you were personally invited by one of our Board members. You chose to not attend!

The lot that you choose (Lot 80) was clearly displayed with pictures and a brief description on our website. It was also clearly advertised as a "Platinum" Bayfront lot with an exquisite view. Each category of lot is also clearly defined on our website, so there should be no surprises. I can assure you that although each lot is different and distinct in the amenities provided, we utilize a very subjective grading system that substantiates the level of pricing of each lot. Lot 80 is graded as a Platinum with appropriate pricing and this was clearly posted on our website when you made your reservation.

We also feel that it is important to offer our guests up-to-date high speed WIFI and HDTV programming. Unfortunately not all older televisions in some RVs can accommodate this technology. The television provided on the lot was receptive to our new programming.

Because our rental lots are in such demand, it is our customary policy that we do not refund any fees if a guest chooses to leave early. We also do not double book our sites. In this particular instance, we had a guest that wanted to extend their stay and based on the fact that you notified the office that morning of your desire to leave early, we were able to book the other guest on that lot. Therefore, we felt it was appropriate to refund the remaining fees for your reservation. Our check out time is typically 11am.

In summary, we again apologize that BWK did not meet your expectations and wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President-Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

Don't go unless you are perfectly clean, have no towels to hang dry, a dog that never barks, or have kids that never laugh loudly. These are cranky retirees who have forgotten the meaning of life. Sad as the place is pretty.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank dee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Dear Dee J,

Although we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at "Bluewater," we DO have rules that must be obeyed, so that other Guests and Owners may enjoy their peaceful enjoyment as well. We clearly inform our Guests that we do not allow clotheslines of any kind to be displayed on our lots. Consequently, we provide a self service laundry facility with washers and dryers. Although we are a "pet friendly" Resort, with a large accommodating pet area, and the vast majority of our Owners and Guests bring dogs, we DO require that dogs be controlled at all times and that loud continuous barking is not allowed. In essence, Bluewater Key® RV Resort is a luxury RV destination facility that provides the atmosphere of a tropical paradise with peace and relaxation. Victoria Holder, President Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews