We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick Back and Relax in the Keys”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida Keys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluewater Key RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Great Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Kick Back and Relax in the Keys”
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This is a beautiful RV resort at MM14 just a hop skip and a jump from Key West. There are two places you can book, Bluewaterkey.net or Bluewaterkey.com We found the .net people and the site very user friendly, and Rita and Dee by phone; email and in person were very personable and helpful. The resort is very clean, with a nice pool and probably the nicest laundry room I've ever used at an RV resort! Take your bikes, you can peddle right alongside Highway 1 up and over the bridges on the bike path, it's fun. We also took our kayak. There is a boat launch ramp, and you can also launch from your docks on the canal side, where there is also fishing. Many of the sites are finished with brick pavers, and almost all have really cute tiki huts furnished with patio furniture, flatscreen television, refrigerator and cabinets. In spring break season, we paid $205 per night including taxes.

Room Tip: The bay side sites are likely to be very windy, you may want a canal side site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Presdient of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Vacationpatrol,

Thank you for your generous 5-star review of the Resort! Our staff takes pride in trying to make your vacation a positive experience. The Bluewater Key® RV Ownership Park Property Owners Association, Inc. operates it's own rental program and you may review our rental sites at .com. We have a large selection of sites to choose from with various price rages, and you may book your choice directly on-line or call the Concierge desk listed on the website for more information.

Alternatively, our competitor operates her independent for-profit rental business with approximately 14 lots. She is NOT affiliated with the Association's rental program.

Regardless of which rental program you choose, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to a return visit. Safe travels!! Victoria Holder, President of the Association.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
64
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

This truly is one of the nicest RV resort we have stayed at....in part the location, the weather and the total appearance of the place. Our site was excellent. Very wide, very deep, nice Tiki with TV and refrigerator. Outstanding landscaping. The entire site appeared well maintained. The maintenance staff was excellent and very friendly. Even had a dock if we would have had a boat. I noticed other reviews about the attitude of people staying here. I tried to acknowledge every person I saw. About 25% would respond back and strike up a conversation, about 50% would respond back and put their head down and keep walking and about 25% looked disgusted that you even dared to speak to them. Apparently these people were legends in their own minds. This is not the normal RV camping experience. There is a lot of big money people that own these sites and stay here. The advertised services all work great. Never saw one person under 40. Lots of little dogs but few larger dogs. Every time I walked my dog, I heard the little dogs barking in their owner's coaches yet the owners will complain if they hear non-owner's dogs bark. The dog park is very picturesque. But there is no place to really exercise and run larger breeds. Even a KOA normally has a fenced area where you can unleash your dog and throw a ball and let them run. But this seems to be something missing at most locations in Florida. If you want solitude, an outstanding setting, a gorgeous RV lot then definitely a great place. If you want convenience, a camp store for supplies and the usual campground socialization you may not enjoy it here. Come stocked up or tow a vehicle. It's 14 miles to Key West and several miles to any convenience store.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2017
Dear Steven H,

Thank you for your 5-star review!!! We are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and overall appearance of the Resort and the lot you stayed on. Our staff takes pride in maintaining the lush tropical landscape and the privately owned rental lots to make your vacation experience a positive one. Although we are not able to control everyones social skills, we do appreciate our guests and we try to be very welcoming and inclusive. As you noted in your review, we are a pet friendly Resort and offer a large Dog Walk area centrally located within the Resort. As a privately owned entity, Bluewater Key RV Resort requires all dogs within the Resort to be kept on a leash pursuant to Monroe County Leash Laws. For those Owners and guests that want to allow their dogs to run freely for exercise and play, we suggest "Higgs Beach Dog Park" in Key West. This is a large fenced beach-side dog park with plenty of grassy areas for dogs to run and play. It is open from 5am to 11pm. Monroe County also offers the "Heritage Trail" walking path along US 1 for long walks. In addition, I'd like to point out that we are indeed 14 miles from Key West, but there is a small convenience store just north and within walking distance from the Resort. We're happy that you choose BWK for your vacation destination and we wish you safe travels. We look forward to your return. Victoria Holder, President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

After purchasing our first motorhome we searched several areas in Florida for a place that not only felt comfortable but was clean, appealing and the people were kind. We found it and more! Bluewater Key Rv Resort was the best part of our 2 week trip. We were lucky to get a site for 5 nights. The staff from the get go were super helpful, from the booking with Carrie to guiding us into our site with Ken it was top notch. Each site is unique, the grounds are impeccably kept, the staff is always doing something to keep things well groomed. Beyond that the other guests of the resort were nice and down to earth, unlike some other places we stayed. We will be back and we are bringing friends along with us! Thank you Bluewater ❤

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Dear Krista A,
Thank you for such a wonderful review!! We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and meet your expectations of a great vacation! We look forward to your visit in the future!

Victoria Holder, President of the Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Make sure you don't get 64 all furniture old and bugged up
They have a bathroom vanity sink outside for an outdoor kitchen
It's a bit of a mess
No one talks to each other
No store
No place to get a drink and socialize

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank conniefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Association President at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Conniefleet,

We're sorry that Bluewater Key® RV Resort did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We make every effort to insure that our sites are commensurate with our pricing through our tiered rental system. Lot 64 is a very nice private Bayfront lot with lush landscaping for privacy and an exquisite view. It also boosts a large private dock with access to the water for swimming, fishing and boating. We agree that the furniture could use an upgrade, but as far as being "bugged up," I think you may have experienced the nuisance of "no-see-ums" that are tiny little bugs that are common in the Florida Keys. They are hard to see, but they do bite and can leave a little red bump. They are less prevalent on windy days, but they are always around and are best prevented by topical bug sprays.

The amenities provided on our rental lots are reflective of each Owners personal tastes, but we will inform the Owner of your review. We do appreciate your comments as this provides us with the opportunity to make improvements that may be needed. Unlike some of the local campgrounds that offer live entertainment and social activities, Bluewater Key® RV Resort offers a private tropical paradise setting conducive to rest and relaxation. Key West is only a short 14 miles away and there are restaurants and markets within walking distance of the Resort. The KOA and Sugarloaf Lodge just up the road offer tiki bars. We wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We would never go back nor promote anybody else to go to this park. The pictures for our site did not truly match the price we paid. The resort is beautiful and the views are beautiful, but nobody talks to you, so the park has no personality...One owner who was there this time of year named Greg was truly the only person that cared to have any kind of interaction with us. Our site #80 had recently been bought and needed updated. The refrigerator was gonna fall off the bricks it was stacked on, the cabinets were very dated, the ceiling fan was on its last leg, half of the lights worked at the site and on the dock, neither one of our 2014 Jayco coach tvs would work and Ken (management) was quick to tell us "we needed to go down to the Kmart and buy a brand name TV and it would surely work", but yet there is a Brand name TV in the tiki and it didnt work very well either. Dealing with "Ken" was horrible, he was so hard to have any kind of conversation with. When we decided to try to talk to management about our concerns and that we would like to come up with some kind of compromise Ken was the one sent over to talk to us. As we got a few words into our feelings about wanting to possibly leave "Ken said, he had to go digest what we was trying to say to him" and he abruptly walked away! he did not let you talk he talks down to you and when we presented him with our concerns, he just smugly said "then leave, what are you waiting for, leave" when Ken did return it was 10:03 am and told us to get out he had somebody coming in at 11!! The resort did return our unused balance, thankfully since it was $220 a night but as we scrambled to find someplace to take us in January, last minute and pack that is not always an easy thing to do...Thankfully we did find a place to finish off our trip and we were out before 11...

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy / Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Dear Kathy and Rodney H,
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in paradise at Bluewater Key® RV Resort. Although It is impossible to make everyone happy, our staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and provide an environment of rest and relaxation. We do not promote on-site entertainment and we do not advertise that we are similar to the KOA. I note that during your stay at the Resort, one of our owners hosted a "meet & greet" party and you were personally invited by one of our Board members. You chose to not attend!

The lot that you choose (Lot 80) was clearly displayed with pictures and a brief description on our website. It was also clearly advertised as a "Platinum" Bayfront lot with an exquisite view. Each category of lot is also clearly defined on our website, so there should be no surprises. I can assure you that although each lot is different and distinct in the amenities provided, we utilize a very subjective grading system that substantiates the level of pricing of each lot. Lot 80 is graded as a Platinum with appropriate pricing and this was clearly posted on our website when you made your reservation.

We also feel that it is important to offer our guests up-to-date high speed WIFI and HDTV programming. Unfortunately not all older televisions in some RVs can accommodate this technology. The television provided on the lot was receptive to our new programming.

Because our rental lots are in such demand, it is our customary policy that we do not refund any fees if a guest chooses to leave early. We also do not double book our sites. In this particular instance, we had a guest that wanted to extend their stay and based on the fact that you notified the office that morning of your desire to leave early, we were able to book the other guest on that lot. Therefore, we felt it was appropriate to refund the remaining fees for your reservation. Our check out time is typically 11am.

In summary, we again apologize that BWK did not meet your expectations and wish you safe travels. Victoria Holder, President-Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Don't go unless you are perfectly clean, have no towels to hang dry, a dog that never barks, or have kids that never laugh loudly. These are cranky retirees who have forgotten the meaning of life. Sad as the place is pretty.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank dee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Dee J,

Although we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at "Bluewater," we DO have rules that must be obeyed, so that other Guests and Owners may enjoy their peaceful enjoyment as well. We clearly inform our Guests that we do not allow clotheslines of any kind to be displayed on our lots. Consequently, we provide a self service laundry facility with washers and dryers. Although we are a "pet friendly" Resort, with a large accommodating pet area, and the vast majority of our Owners and Guests bring dogs, we DO require that dogs be controlled at all times and that loud continuous barking is not allowed. In essence, Bluewater Key® RV Resort is a luxury RV destination facility that provides the atmosphere of a tropical paradise with peace and relaxation. Victoria Holder, President Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is without a doubt the best campground we have ever stayed at. Wonderfully maintain and run by people that will do anything possible to make your stay the best experience possible. Not to mention the fantastic views and location. I hate to write this as it is already tuff to get in and I don't need more competition.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 757mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florida Keys hotels
18.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
15.4 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
173 reviews
17.4 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
22.1 km away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
4.3 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Key RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Key RV Resort

Property: Bluewater Key RV Resort
Address: 2950 Overseas Hwy MM 14.5, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Florida Keys
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Key(R) RV Resort is a luxury, RV Ownership Resort near Key West, FL. All of the sites are privately owned with lush landscaping for privacy between sites. The Resort offers relaxation in a pristine tropical environment. Rates are subject to location within the Resort (Bay-front, Canal or Off-water Tropical sites) and the level of amenities provided (Silver,Gold & Platinum) Reservations are usually necessary. This is a gated community with 24-hour staff security. We are located at Mile Marker 14.5 at Bluewater Drive. Welcome to Bluewater Key(R) a Luxury RV Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluewater Key Rv Hotel Florida Keys
Bluewater Key RV Resort Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing