We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida Keys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluewater Key RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This was the nicest RV resort we have ever stayed at in our 10 years of RV'ing. It was like being in the Caribbean without leaving the US. We had lot 47 right on the bay and it was breathtaking. So peaceful sitting by the water all day with a nice breeze. Our lot had two tiki huts...one with couches and chairs and ceiling fans. The other was smaller with a small sink and fridge. It made cooking outside so nice all week. Every lot in this place is immaculate and the staff are always around cleaning up and willing to lend a hand with anything you need. One of the nicest group of people ever. Special thanks to Ken for squeaking us into our site right before the cutoff time and to Scott for raising and lowering my windscreen 20 times. We loved it here and would be happy to come back. Maybe as an owner one day :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JillH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Association President at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear JillH24,

Thank you so much for your recent review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your vacation! Our staff works hard to make you time at "Bluewater" a pleasant and relaxing experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!! -Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The best RV resort we've ever been to! Beautiful sites and views. Peaceful. Great pool. Convenient to Key West. Most sites ate on the water, bay or canal. Bay sites all have docks. Each site is unique with landscaping and tiki huts.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank josephe436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Association President at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Joseph E,

Thank you for your excellent review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Bluewater Key® RV Resort and we hope to see you again in the future!!
Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
169
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in lot 64 and it was truly a paradise. We enjoyed the amenities of the tiki hut. There is ample seating, a dining set, a bar, full size frig (which is wonderful considering the size of a RV frig), and television. We enjoyed watching the sunrise from our dock and even did some fishing. Lots of fish to be seen. The park is exceptionally clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We were extremely pleased with our stay and hope to return next year. Money well spent.

I would add that I do feel when paying the platinum rate that all the amenities should be in working order. When the tiki lights/dock lights are broken as well as the provided gas grill, the owner should be responsible for repairs in a timely manner. (Thanks to the onsite grounds man for getting what he could going and I apologize for not remembering his name.)

The only thing I would have liked to have seen is a dog park where you can take your furry family off leash, but that is a personal preference.

On a side note: we were on a "waiting list" for over a year for this trip and although I have made numerous inquires I have yet to get a response from (Rita, who would get back with me once she met with the owners). Thankfully my husband ended up on the BWK.com on accident and they booked us right away.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We have been here 15 days, it is expensive, until you factor in what you get !!! Most of the other RV resorts in the Keys have extremely small sites…have stayed at them and driven thru the rest of them and slides were touching slides or if not then trees! If you could even park/back into one—we have a 35' 5'th wheel and it would be a WTF moment!!!
Plus some have insane rules like you cannot let your dog potty on the site you rent and must take them outside the 200+ unit site and you cannot walk them there but must drive them out——Another WTF…
All of the staff at BWK does an excellent job taking care of guests.
The only caveat I would suggest is to completely check out the site you reserve, as they are all different. Some have all exterior furnishings inclusive of fridges and TV's. Some are totally bare!! Site next to us has no working cable for the TV's and there is only 1 TV station in the Keys. There are two different property management groups to reserve thru and each does not handle each others sites so be prepared to navigate between those. This was an Army Hawk Missile base during the Cuban Crisis in the 1960's and was abandoned in the 1980's and was bought up and turned into the BWK Resort. I will come back, but will verify what I am reserving. The canal side sites are more user friendly as the bay side are exposed to more wind and if you are luck the tiki huts have wind screens in place!

Room Tip: Check your site options carefully!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired-Lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Retired Lt.,

Thank you for your excellent review!! All of our sites are large enough to easily accommodate big rigs, but some restrictions apply as far as pull-ins or back-ins. Each lot is separated by lush tropical landscaping which provides privacy. All of our sites are privately owned and furnished according to the Owners tastes, so there is quite a variety of sites to choose from. We have 3 pricing levels that are in conjunction with the amenities provided; Silver, Gold and Platinum. We even have a few larger lots that are priced individually as Platinum Plus! We provide 3 different lot locations for your enjoyment; Bayfront, Canal or Tropical. Each location provides a different experience for your vacation plans. Although some of the decor on our lots may vary, each lot is critiqued and graded to determine which pricing tier it belongs in. Certain standards must be met for each level of pricing.

In addition, we provide HDTV programming on all of our rental lots, with multiple channel choices. Unfortunately, with progress and upgrades, some of the older model TV's cannot get reception. We also provide free basic WIFI and premium high speed internet for a fee.

For a complete look and more information on all of our renal lots, visit the Association's website ending in .COM. We also have "Ownership" opportunities listed. You may book your site on-line or call our Concierge Desk at the number shown on our website.

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. - V. Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Boo Hoo....didn't want to leave. Heaven on Earth! Accomodations, site workers like Angela and Scott, owners like Ron and Ginny and Ronnie and Christine were the closest to St. Peter welcoming us into the pearly gates of BWK! The hospitality,the campsites,the friendly feeling and the gorgeous views can't be surpassed. God willing, we will be back ASAP!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank anzbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Anzbenz,

Thank you for such a nice review!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at Bluewater and we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels......Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This is a beautiful RV resort at MM14 just a hop skip and a jump from Key West. There are two places you can book, Bluewaterkey.net or Bluewaterkey.com We found the .net people and the site very user friendly, and Rita and Dee by phone; email and in person were very personable and helpful. The resort is very clean, with a nice pool and probably the nicest laundry room I've ever used at an RV resort! Take your bikes, you can peddle right alongside Highway 1 up and over the bridges on the bike path, it's fun. We also took our kayak. There is a boat launch ramp, and you can also launch from your docks on the canal side, where there is also fishing. Many of the sites are finished with brick pavers, and almost all have really cute tiki huts furnished with patio furniture, flatscreen television, refrigerator and cabinets. In spring break season, we paid $205 per night including taxes.

Room Tip: The bay side sites are likely to be very windy, you may want a canal side site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Presdient of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Vacationpatrol,

Thank you for your generous 5-star review of the Resort! Our staff takes pride in trying to make your vacation a positive experience. The Bluewater Key® RV Ownership Park Property Owners Association, Inc. operates it's own rental program and you may review our rental sites at .com. We have a large selection of sites to choose from with various price rages, and you may book your choice directly on-line or call the Concierge desk listed on the website for more information.

Alternatively, our competitor operates her independent for-profit rental business with approximately 14 lots. She is NOT affiliated with the Association's rental program.

Regardless of which rental program you choose, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to a return visit. Safe travels!! Victoria Holder, President of the Association.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

This truly is one of the nicest RV resort we have stayed at....in part the location, the weather and the total appearance of the place. Our site was excellent. Very wide, very deep, nice Tiki with TV and refrigerator. Outstanding landscaping. The entire site appeared well maintained. The maintenance staff was excellent and very friendly. Even had a dock if we would have had a boat. I noticed other reviews about the attitude of people staying here. I tried to acknowledge every person I saw. About 25% would respond back and strike up a conversation, about 50% would respond back and put their head down and keep walking and about 25% looked disgusted that you even dared to speak to them. Apparently these people were legends in their own minds. This is not the normal RV camping experience. There is a lot of big money people that own these sites and stay here. The advertised services all work great. Never saw one person under 40. Lots of little dogs but few larger dogs. Every time I walked my dog, I heard the little dogs barking in their owner's coaches yet the owners will complain if they hear non-owner's dogs bark. The dog park is very picturesque. But there is no place to really exercise and run larger breeds. Even a KOA normally has a fenced area where you can unleash your dog and throw a ball and let them run. But this seems to be something missing at most locations in Florida. If you want solitude, an outstanding setting, a gorgeous RV lot then definitely a great place. If you want convenience, a camp store for supplies and the usual campground socialization you may not enjoy it here. Come stocked up or tow a vehicle. It's 14 miles to Key West and several miles to any convenience store.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, President of the Association at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Steven H,

Thank you for your 5-star review!!! We are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and overall appearance of the Resort and the lot you stayed on. Our staff takes pride in maintaining the lush tropical landscape and the privately owned rental lots to make your vacation experience a positive one. Although we are not able to control everyones social skills, we do appreciate our guests and we try to be very welcoming and inclusive. As you noted in your review, we are a pet friendly Resort and offer a large Dog Walk area centrally located within the Resort. As a privately owned entity, Bluewater Key RV Resort requires all dogs within the Resort to be kept on a leash pursuant to Monroe County Leash Laws. For those Owners and guests that want to allow their dogs to run freely for exercise and play, we suggest "Higgs Beach Dog Park" in Key West. This is a large fenced beach-side dog park with plenty of grassy areas for dogs to run and play. It is open from 5am to 11pm. Monroe County also offers the "Heritage Trail" walking path along US 1 for long walks. In addition, I'd like to point out that we are indeed 14 miles from Key West, but there is a small convenience store just north and within walking distance from the Resort. We're happy that you choose BWK for your vacation destination and we wish you safe travels. We look forward to your return. Victoria Holder, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florida Keys hotels
18.6 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
16.4 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
36.2 km away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
918 reviews
22.1 km away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
848 reviews
26.8 km away
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Key RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Key RV Resort

Address: 2950 Overseas Hwy MM 14.5, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Florida Keys
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Key(R) RV Resort is a luxury, RV Ownership Resort near Key West, FL. All of the sites are privately owned with lush landscaping for privacy between sites. The Resort offers relaxation in a pristine tropical environment. Rates are subject to location within the Resort (Bay-front, Canal or Off-water Tropical sites) and the level of amenities provided (Silver,Gold & Platinum) Reservations are usually necessary. This is a gated community with 24-hour staff security. We are located at Mile Marker 14.5 at Bluewater Drive. Welcome to Bluewater Key(R) a Luxury RV Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluewater Key Rv Hotel Florida Keys
Bluewater Key RV Resort Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing