We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
145
18
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
18
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki hut key west dog park outdoor kitchen waterfront site travel trailer bay front lower keys tiki lights friendly neighbors boat launch office staff laundry facility gas grill bluewater key full size refrigerator ocean side
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 174 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Our RV friends had always told us how great Bluewater Key RV Resort (BWK) was and that we needed to check it out. Since we are "newby" RVers we chose BWK for our 2nd RV adventure and were not disappointed.

Their website is excellent - you get the overall view of the park and can pick based on location then drill down to price and amenities. It made comparisons easy. We chose space #19. The amenities were great, the price was reasonable and we were just far enough from the pool to be comfortable.

Immediately after making the online reservation we received email correspondence from Dena at BWK. The email included a welcome to BWK, lots of great local info including bus schedules (we did not have a toad so this was important) and information concerning our pet. The Resort rules are pretty straight forward and there to ensure everyone has a great time. None of the rules seemed outrageous to us.

When we arrived they ask that the driver stay with the rig and the co-pilot go inside to check-in. As soon as my co-pilot went in the office, a gentleman came over, explained where we would be going and welcomed us to BWK. As we were heading in, we noticed how clean and beautiful BWK really is. There's no indication of issues left over from Irma. We were directed to space 19 and now there were 2 Staff members assisting us with the back-in. Both were great (Apologies as I did not catch their names) and reviewed the hook ups, showed us around the site and confirmed we were good.

The tiki living room included a refrigerator, big screen, microwave, high end furniture and a couple of ceiling fans that kept things cooler. (it was in the high 90s). The space had plenty of room. Beside us was one rental space and the other side had a great full time setup - really nice 5th wheel. The space is just off the canal but not water front. A great space - kudos to the owners and we would pick it again.

Traveling into Key West is not a problem. UBER will pickup at BWK but be advised we paid $43 one-way to Duval street. The return from Southernmost beach was $38. We chose UBER on that day because it was brutally hot and we did't want to wait on the bus. On Father's Day we caught the bus and it was $4 roundtrip for 2 seniors (60+). The bus stop for southbound is only marked by a paved pad but is right across from the northbound stop. Northbound has a bench and enclosure.

Be sure to go 1/8 mile north to Fish (the local restaurant) and Baby's Coffee shop. Both are outstanding and local places. Fish has a nice bar and Emily (the bartender) is a lot of fun. The food is the best we had during our trip. And the espresso at Baby's was sooo smooth. Please visit these places and help them recover - these are not chain stores - they're local owners working hard.

BWK is definitely the best RV Resort in the Keys. The Staff are great - we found the other visitors to be friendly and there were lots of great pets. The pool area was clean and the pool was wonderful. There were kids with their parents but there was never a problem with noise.

BWK is a spot of paradise in one of America's favorite vacation areas. If you are looking for a great party place with lots of friends and a keg - this ain't it! There are other places you can go and have that party.

Many THANKS to Dena and the BWK Staff for a great visit. Looking forward to returning soon.

Cheers,

L&J
Miami Beach

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRD33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Member Board of Directors at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear JRD33141,

Thank you so much for your great review!! We are so pleased that you had a great time! We want to thank you for mentioning our staff and the great personalized service they try to give each of our guests. They really work hard to represent the Owners and how much we appreciate your business. In addition, thank you for suggesting that our readers visit a couple of the local businesses. They too are grateful for your patronage. We hope that you visit the Keys again soon and we look forward to your return to Bluewater Key®️ RV Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

The RV tiki locations were well designed, provisioned and managed. Located close short to Key West and a Publics. Maintenance is constant, keeping everything immaculate, garbage pick-up daily and with an active recycling program - yay!! Staff were super kind and helpful.
Our RV station had its own fishing/swimming dock, room for a Toyota Highlander, kayaks and 5-bicycles. There were 2-picnic tables, an outdoor fridge freezer and a sideboard.

We are day 2, of a 5-day stay. Leaving here will be hard, but I know we’ll return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mandylewismarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Member Board of Directors at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear mandylewismarketing,

Thank you for your 5 star review!! We hope you are continuing to enjoy your stay and we look forward to your return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and looking online I honestly was under the impression everyone had access to the water to swim. I had no idea you had to have a bay side spot to get into the water just to float. (Bay side was not available when we booked)We booked in a nice spot and for not being on the bay side it was nice outdoor spot. The hut was very nice. Unfortunately the TV was hit with lightning and had some lines in it. Our cable never worked inside our RV the entire time we were there. It tried to pick up 3 channels but never did. We wanted to change our spot to bay side to the end of our stay to let our kids to enjoy the bay but because of owner spots I wasn’t able to change spots. Another issue is no A/C in the bathrooms. The pool was...nice.

I know I seemed to talk about the negatives however I titled it almost paradise because the landscape is gorgeous! The spots are very clean and very nice. The staff takes pride in making sure everyone enters their spot looking great. The place is gated which is a huge plus! The price was very fair. I loved the very private large spots.

If we had A/C in bathrooms, stayed bayside, and had cable in RV it would have been perfect!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Member Board of Directors at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Dustin M,

Thank you for your 4-star review! We're sorry that you had some issues with the TV on your site. From what I understand there were issues with Comcast (our local provider) throughout the Keys due to inclement weather last week. In addition, our high-definition cable is digital not analog and some TV's are not able to receive the signal.

Because all of our sites are privately owned, once a reservation is made and a deposit is received, the reservation is confirmed and refunds are not allowed, unless there are extenuating unforeseen circumstances. Changing sites is allowed after you have arrived (if another site is available), but the commitment remains on the initial site that was confirmed. Therefore, we encourage our guests to review all of our rental sites on our website before making that reservation and make sure that it meets your needs and expectations. Always feel free to call our Concierge desk if you have any questions about a particular site.

In addition, our governing documents require that all RV's be self-contained with their own bathroom facilities. Therefore, our public restrooms/showers are intended for pool use only and are not air-conditioned.

We hope that you will give us another try and we will look forward to your return visit.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Loved this park. Staff friendly, helpful and accomadating. Our site was awesome. Right on the bay. Quiet at night, very relaxing. I wish there was more that went on at the park. There are ALOT of full timers, (they own their sites, like condos) and they kinda keep to themselves. I think I was the only one who bar b qed ...Never saw a bunch of people gathered anywhere in a social setting. It was more like your neighborhood..We liked it, but I don't have any need to go back.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank greaseman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Member Board of Directors at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear greaseman93,

Thank you for your great review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your time at our Resort and we hope you change your mind and visit us again! Our staff works hard to try to make your vacation a pleasant and relaxing experience. This time of year most of our owners are not in the Resort and our sites are mainly occupied by other guests. The rain this past weekend probably quieted the Resort down, but we always say, "it doesn't rain in the bars" and there is always a lot to do in Key West. We appreciate your patronage and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My wife and I just spent 10 nights at Blue Water Key on lot 65. Lot 65 has a great Tiki and private dock. The weather was not great, but the time was so relaxing. The pool is small but nice. The lots are all privately owned and decorated individually. Super well maintained with a nice dog park and a separate people park. Boat launch is available. Water is shallow, snorkeling right off the dock. Laundry facility available. Showers are basically for pool use and RV/Campers are expected to be self contained. We had an incredible time and are looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Look at all the sites available on their website and pick what you need and want.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bosk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misvic1, Member Board of Directors at Bluewater Key RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Bosk M,

Thank you for your 5 star review!!! We're happy that you had a great time and we look forward to your return visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews