We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
607
209
55
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
209
55
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews key colony bar next door fishing pier key west private beach garden suite hot tub full kitchen thought of everything standard room middle keys short drive sparky's landing lounge chairs third floor fire pit coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 913 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Beach with free of charge beach chairs and umbrellas. There was complimentary water in plastic bottles. Lack of restaurant, there is a temporary bar by the pool (1a) and snacks to eat: burger, fries and fried frish. Garden room with separate eat-in kitchen, tiled floor, continuous ventilation system (to have rest at night and no disturbing breeze, the fuse must be turned off). Despite the construction site outside, the room is very clean. Many thanks to the 3 ladies from cleaning team.

If we had known all the restrictions before, we would have moved to another hotel.
The handling of our complaints with a simple "we are very sorry" was inappropriate. Beside the fact the full price for the 3 days was charged. After "Irma" the cleanup is still ongoing, the roof of the main building and the strand bar incl. restaurant is being rebuilt. The timbers for the roof for the bar are machined in front of our patio door (garden view) with a motor saw. We had to live with construction noise from about 7.30 till 5 PM.
Sand needs to be filtered or clened even again, still has many small rocks of battered tiles and concret from previous patio (result of jackhammer work due to reconstruction).
We got a strong hint from the front desk staff, wear sturdy shoes due to risk of injury (even had to sign a paper to document that advice).
Internet was only temporarily available with disturbances. The sports room was not available due to lack of equipment.

Room Tip: Take a room with ocean view, garden view (ground floor) is not appropriate
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johannes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

My family and I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. Hands down the best spot, service, everyone was realy for friendly and super helpful with our requests. After they fully recover this will be the best spot in Marathon and one of the best hotels in all of Florida Keys.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel provide a window view of the sea, while front apps and view is more headed into the city
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thanks Jan, we appreciate your awesome review. It's been a long haul, but our staff is working extremely hard to make sure all of our guests are relaxed and enjoying themselves. We are and will be the best spot in Marathon/Key Colony Beach! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Stayed in the small suite with kitchenette. Quiet, a few steps away from swimming pool with hot tub and the beach. While the restaurant was still being rebuild everything else was rebuild, and smelling fresh paint.
Almost walking distance to some of the Maraton Key's restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you Ted for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and would love to have you back with us in the near future. Give us a call directly at 305-289-0525 and receive a repeat guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

This was the best resort I have stayed in!! "Pittsburgh" AKA Tori and "Chicago" Lea--were the BEST Hosts!!!! We stayed in an ocean front, 2nd floor room. It was always clean and well maintained. They had extra supplies that we didn't take into account like plates and silverware. Beach was clean and well kept. Pool was very clean as well as the hot tub. The restaurant was closed, but mid week they did open a bar. It was a bit pricey. There was a cooler with bottled water. Beach towels were always available. There were 2 fire pits which we loved! The beach furniture was always available and comfortable. We would absolutely return!!

Room Tip: Beach front!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ryannrio298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018


Thank you so much for your great review! We do have a pretty awesome staff that go above and beyond for all of our hotel guests. The mini outdoor bar and small tapas menu helps give the guest a chance to sit back, relax and enjoy the sound of the ocean while sipping a refreshing cocktail or a delicious snack. We certainly look forward to having you back with us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

A really nice hotel to spend a week or so just getting away from the nasty northern winter. The staff was a friendly and helpful as you can get. Room was clean and the hotel amenities were excellent. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thanks Frank, Come back and see us again in the near future and receive a 10% off repeat guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews