We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Would I stay again here?....Probably not. The rooms remind me of an old motel 6, whereas the rooms are small and you certainly don't get a lot for your money ($199/nt). The pool area is decent with lots of small kids running around, but to get a towel for your lounge chair, you have to go inside to the front desk. Weird! The service inside was somewhat poor. When I checked I , it seemed as if I was actually inconveniencing the person who checked me in. Again, for the cost, I would have hoped for better quality and service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Bob R,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    667
    321
    103
    43
See reviews for
413
628
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights (6 and 7th April) and I hate to put this place down because it does have its good points. The good points are that the staff are extremely friendly, the rooms themselves are quite nice, the location is pretty good and the pool and pool bar are quite nice. Unfortunately the downside is you are basically staying at a motel type building where your motel room door opens straight out onto a public walkway which is right on the hotel car park which is next to the main road and unfortunately your hotel room has paper thin walls.
We had booked this place for two nights and the first night myself, wife and two girls were woken several times during the night by a mixture of people coming back late (but not acting particularly rowdy), motorbikes or cars with V8's in the car park, trucks doing whatever they were doing and other noises which I could not recognise whilst drifting in and out of sleep. The next day we asked to be moved and the staff were very friendly and put us in another room but to be honest the noise wasn't much better. I am not a fussy person but when every member of your family get woken during the night you know something isn't right especially when we had all stayed in a more child resort in Orlando the previous 12 nights and we all slept well every night.
The hotel isn't particularly cheap either so I would drive yourself half a mile going towards Miami and stay at the Hampton Inn and suites where for $20 more you get a room with balcony, nice comfy beds,a man made beach, nice pool, a lovely free breakfast, amazing wildlife including Manatees which are amazing and come right up to you and a real nice noise free nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Fandangos,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory, but pleased the staff was a highlight of your stay. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

As a priority member we booked this room using points and were given a complementary upgrade from a regular room to a deluxe room. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating. It was very convenient having a restaurant and gift shop and we thoroughly enjoyed the tiki bar by the pool.


The hotel was perfectly situated on a canal near diving, sunset cruises, glass bottom boat tours, restaurants and many other activities were within walking distance.

We would not hesitate to return to this resort like Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: We tried to get a room facing the canal but they were not available. We had a room facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LnMStape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel early April and found it to be very comfortable indeed. Location good, easy to find, staff were attentive and efficient and the room was clean and comfortable. The pools were clean and a nice poolside bar is present. My only reservation concerning this hotel was the so called all-you-can-eat breakfast. The quality was marginal (for $ 11.99) and a glass of Orange juice was $2.75 extra! So much for all-you-can-eat ... Quite expensive, in my humble opinion. BTW, the room price fair, not cheap, but not expensive either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sverrir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
225 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had booked a room for seniors and were most surprised to get a room on the first floor without elevator. We were supposed to carry our luggage up the stairs. Impossible for us so we asked for another room on the ground floor. This was possible but I had to pay extra. When I mentioned being a gold member of the Priority Club they were suddenly interested and much more friendly to us and gave the room for free.
Can't say that it was a nice hotel for that much money.

Room Tip: there is no elevator and you can only reach the rooms on the 1st. floor by narrow stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear FranceMartine

Thank you for your review of your stay via Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear our staff services did not meet your expectations. We will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. Please accept my apology on this issue. We hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel was very clean. All employees were smiling and cordial. Stayed in back building facing Marina. Was peaceful and quaint. Close to dive boat. Enjoyed pools and breakfast buffet. Small gift shop had practically everything. Room very nice. A/C worked great, was kind of loud, which actually drowned out any noise in building. Only problem, felt security took too long to stop a domestic dispute that started one evening one 1st floor of building. When stopped, those quests were escorted off premise. Everything we were offered was received. Would stay at hotel again, but Key Largo itself has very little to do other than eating and bars, fish charters, and dive/snorkeling boats. Was perfect for just the two of us, but wouldn't bring family for an entire week, because kids would get bored.

Room Tip: Back building second floor facing Marina with balcony was very nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I always stay at Holiday Inns. The Key Largo Holiday Inn was not what we were expecting.

The location is great. It's right on the marina, so we walked to our scuba boat each morning. Also, there's a Dunkin Donuts & Starbucks next door for quick breakfast.

The rooms were subpar. They were motel style - opening to the outside rather than an enclosed hallway. As such, we couldn't have our window open without every passerby seeing us.

Overall, the hotel wasn't horrible, but it was well below the quality we're used to with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear scottzee,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. While I am happy you liked our location. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
10.7 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.1 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing