We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
445
48
11
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
48
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango room botanic gardens breadfruit sugar apple cold bottled water paddle boats fresh fruit ping pong key lime tropical plants grounds are beautiful pool and hot tub slice of heaven complimentary kayaks key west florida bay full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 518 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband raved about this place. I have yet to figure out why. The sunsets were great, but those could be had at a place 1/2 the price. The gallery is wonderful, but you don't have to be a guest to enjoy the gallery. The pool is okay, kind of small and not that warm. The hot tub was hot, but quite small. The "beach" is not what one pictures a beach to be at a "resort". The room was VERY nice especially the bathroom and specifically the shower. The bed was not the most comfortable, nor was the futon. I would pick the outside hammock for a nap. The kitchen in our room was really well equipped and I would recommend brining lots of snacks/drinks and even plan on doing some in room cooking. We did not want to drive far for a good restaurant or good place to buy food, but you do need to. We live in Florida so for me the only things this place offers that home does not is a hot tub (small) and sunsets over the water. Again, both could be had for far less money. There is a lot of concrete that could have been done with beutiful tiles instead. If you live in New England and have been snowed in for a month this would be a great place, but if you live in Florida it's not that different from home...and who wants to go to a resort that is just like home?

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Spent two nights the second week of December. The grounds, staff and overall feeling about the place is not only unique but welcoming and relaxing. We will be going back one day to this amazing hidden gem. The staff took special note that we were celebrating and personalized a gift and card for us. What more could you ask for....

Date of stay: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kikitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This is a very nice, quaint resort. Yes, it is a little small but beautiful grounds. It looks a lot like our favorite restaurant KL Coffee or Conch House (whatever they call it) . The property is very well maintained and staff is very friendly. Will stay here again!

Date of stay: November 2007
1  Thank ScubaJoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I would like to say that the Kona Kai is too small...or the staff are nasty...and the place is filled with bugs and is dirty and filthy...but that would be wrong.

The truth is...my wife and I would only be saying this to keep the place to ourselves and to keep others away.

In fact, the Kona Kai is clearly one of the best gems in the Keys. This was our 4th time staying on the property and as always, we were not dissapointed. Joe, Ronnie and their staff were (as usual) incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds were perfectly maintained and even at full occupancy the place was peaceful and quite.

If you are looking for full service resort with a pool bar pool and prepared food delivered to your room, go some place else! The Kona Kai is for the discriminating client who wants the perfection of tranquil grounds and clean well decorated suites and rooms.

Just do us a favour if you decide to stay there...leave a suite for us.

One thing to remeber when vacationing in the Keys, many resorts charge parking and resort fees which the folks at Kona Kai DO NOT DO. So when you are pricing and comparing everything on line, keep this in mind. You will see that the prices at the Kona Kai are more than competitive.

Why am we writing this positive review? Because Joe, Ronnie and their stafrf deserve it.

Cheers,
R.A.
Toronto, Ontario

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ricksdakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2007

The most picturesque, serene place I've stayed in years! Very private and quiet 2 acres of beautifully landscaped property. Owners and staff very nice and accomodating with wide range of information regarding the area. Loved Rob's Marina and the Hungry Tarpon - reminds me of "old Florida" and Ballyhoo's - across the street has THE BEST seafood around.

Date of stay: October 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank smzsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews