We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Beautiful small resort. The women who run the place were very nice, even helping us arrange things to do while we were in the Keys. Everything was maintained extremely well - I think they even swept the sand to make it look just so.

This is a small place, maybe 10 rooms. They have no restaurant or bar. There are plenty of places nearby to go, but if plan on drinking heavily you should bring your own. If you're not a drinker (like us), this is an even bigger reason to come here.

One really nice touch -- they have a refrigerator with bottled water and fresh fruit out by the pool.

I don't think they allow kids, or there's some minimum age. We didn't see any kids there at all.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wredlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2008

Feb. 24-27, 2008
Small, intimate, private, understated luxury, beautiful grounds, very nice rooms and furnishings, immaculate, convenient location, beautiful sunsets, a nice beach for The Keys, and a wonderful and helpful staff. What more could we ask for? Can't think of anything. My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We will return.
Steve and Judi
Iowa

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at Kona Kai -our stay was absolutety lovely and KK cannot be praised enough.

When first arriving by car we were driving down the frankly not very charming road from the mainland, and we were getting nervous about what to expect from the keys.

Not to fear -as soon as we arrived at Kona Kai we were first impressed with the great service and friendly staff and then blown away by the atmosphere of the place (really well maintained, so quiet and absolutely beautiful).

The dock and sunset view is fabulous. Perfect setting to enjoy with a chilled bottle of wine. The beach, pool area and hot tub all really nice, intimate and kept sparkling by the staff. Our room was very spacious with a great bed.

We especially appreciated all the little special touches: great showers, soft linens and towels, cold bottled water at all times, fresh fruit, friendly and very knowledgeable staff with lots of honest advice about restaurant, excursions and so on.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KBRBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

My husband raved about this place. I have yet to figure out why. The sunsets were great, but those could be had at a place 1/2 the price. The gallery is wonderful, but you don't have to be a guest to enjoy the gallery. The pool is okay, kind of small and not that warm. The hot tub was hot, but quite small. The "beach" is not what one pictures a beach to be at a "resort". The room was VERY nice especially the bathroom and specifically the shower. The bed was not the most comfortable, nor was the futon. I would pick the outside hammock for a nap. The kitchen in our room was really well equipped and I would recommend brining lots of snacks/drinks and even plan on doing some in room cooking. We did not want to drive far for a good restaurant or good place to buy food, but you do need to. We live in Florida so for me the only things this place offers that home does not is a hot tub (small) and sunsets over the water. Again, both could be had for far less money. There is a lot of concrete that could have been done with beutiful tiles instead. If you live in New England and have been snowed in for a month this would be a great place, but if you live in Florida it's not that different from home...and who wants to go to a resort that is just like home?

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Spent two nights the second week of December. The grounds, staff and overall feeling about the place is not only unique but welcoming and relaxing. We will be going back one day to this amazing hidden gem. The staff took special note that we were celebrating and personalized a gift and card for us. What more could you ask for....

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kikitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

This is a very nice, quaint resort. Yes, it is a little small but beautiful grounds. It looks a lot like our favorite restaurant KL Coffee or Conch House (whatever they call it) . The property is very well maintained and staff is very friendly. Will stay here again!

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank ScubaJoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

I would like to say that the Kona Kai is too small...or the staff are nasty...and the place is filled with bugs and is dirty and filthy...but that would be wrong.

The truth is...my wife and I would only be saying this to keep the place to ourselves and to keep others away.

In fact, the Kona Kai is clearly one of the best gems in the Keys. This was our 4th time staying on the property and as always, we were not dissapointed. Joe, Ronnie and their staff were (as usual) incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds were perfectly maintained and even at full occupancy the place was peaceful and quite.

If you are looking for full service resort with a pool bar pool and prepared food delivered to your room, go some place else! The Kona Kai is for the discriminating client who wants the perfection of tranquil grounds and clean well decorated suites and rooms.

Just do us a favour if you decide to stay there...leave a suite for us.

One thing to remeber when vacationing in the Keys, many resorts charge parking and resort fees which the folks at Kona Kai DO NOT DO. So when you are pricing and comparing everything on line, keep this in mind. You will see that the prices at the Kona Kai are more than competitive.

Why am we writing this positive review? Because Joe, Ronnie and their stafrf deserve it.

Cheers,
R.A.
Toronto, Ontario

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ricksdakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
9.3 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,375 reviews
3 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
638 reviews
3.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.3 km away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Address: 97802 Overseas Highway, Mm 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $263 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing