We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
445
48
11
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
48
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango room breadfruit cold bottled water sugar apple an art gallery paddle boats fresh fruit ping pong grounds are beautiful tropical plants key lime pool and hot tub key west slice of heaven complimentary kayaks table tennis florida bay
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 518 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Feb. 24-27, 2008
Small, intimate, private, understated luxury, beautiful grounds, very nice rooms and furnishings, immaculate, convenient location, beautiful sunsets, a nice beach for The Keys, and a wonderful and helpful staff. What more could we ask for? Can't think of anything. My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We will return.
Steve and Judi
Iowa

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2008

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at Kona Kai -our stay was absolutety lovely and KK cannot be praised enough.

When first arriving by car we were driving down the frankly not very charming road from the mainland, and we were getting nervous about what to expect from the keys.

Not to fear -as soon as we arrived at Kona Kai we were first impressed with the great service and friendly staff and then blown away by the atmosphere of the place (really well maintained, so quiet and absolutely beautiful).

The dock and sunset view is fabulous. Perfect setting to enjoy with a chilled bottle of wine. The beach, pool area and hot tub all really nice, intimate and kept sparkling by the staff. Our room was very spacious with a great bed.

We especially appreciated all the little special touches: great showers, soft linens and towels, cold bottled water at all times, fresh fruit, friendly and very knowledgeable staff with lots of honest advice about restaurant, excursions and so on.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KBRBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband raved about this place. I have yet to figure out why. The sunsets were great, but those could be had at a place 1/2 the price. The gallery is wonderful, but you don't have to be a guest to enjoy the gallery. The pool is okay, kind of small and not that warm. The hot tub was hot, but quite small. The "beach" is not what one pictures a beach to be at a "resort". The room was VERY nice especially the bathroom and specifically the shower. The bed was not the most comfortable, nor was the futon. I would pick the outside hammock for a nap. The kitchen in our room was really well equipped and I would recommend brining lots of snacks/drinks and even plan on doing some in room cooking. We did not want to drive far for a good restaurant or good place to buy food, but you do need to. We live in Florida so for me the only things this place offers that home does not is a hot tub (small) and sunsets over the water. Again, both could be had for far less money. There is a lot of concrete that could have been done with beutiful tiles instead. If you live in New England and have been snowed in for a month this would be a great place, but if you live in Florida it's not that different from home...and who wants to go to a resort that is just like home?

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Spent two nights the second week of December. The grounds, staff and overall feeling about the place is not only unique but welcoming and relaxing. We will be going back one day to this amazing hidden gem. The staff took special note that we were celebrating and personalized a gift and card for us. What more could you ask for....

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kikitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This is a very nice, quaint resort. Yes, it is a little small but beautiful grounds. It looks a lot like our favorite restaurant KL Coffee or Conch House (whatever they call it) . The property is very well maintained and staff is very friendly. Will stay here again!

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank ScubaJoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews