We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Key Largo”
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #4 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We have stayed in Key Largo several times, and found this little hotel the best by far. We stayed there with friends, and saw the inside of several rooms which are all uniquely different and extremely large. The beds were very large and comfortable, and the bathroom was extremely large. The kitchenette was a nice surprise and will definitely be used on our next trip back. The innkeepers really make you feel special!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zznqp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

We visited Azul Del Mar in June for a friends birthday weekend in the keys. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. It is a quaint little hotel located right on the water. Our room was spacious, clean and incredibly comfortable with a little kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. The staff was so nice and friendly and made you feel like you were staying at their house. We were treated to a sunset boat ride which was awesome and were able to kayak during the day on the beautiful bay. I have been visiting the keys for many years and can't believe I never heard of this hotel. We will definitely be back and have already told most of our friends about it as well. 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: We took a second floor room with a view of the water. The downstairs waterfront suite was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We recently stayed at Azul and found it to be a pleasant surprise. It is set on a beautiful peice of property and had incredible sunsets. We really enjoyed Kayaking and just relaxing in the lounge chairs. The rooms were very clean, spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was so nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan on going back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grovepalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a wonderful weekend! My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Azul del Mar. It is a very manicured and peaceful property. The decor is very tastefully done. We stayed for two nights upstairs in Aquamarina and the view was great! (overlooking the bay) The suite is very spacious and comfortable for a 6 bedroom Hotel. Great service and very clean! Going out on the bay kayaking was a lot of fun as well as the sunset cruise in the pontoon boat.
Wonderful getaway for a romantic weekend. Would definitely go back soon.
My friend was staying in the main suite also overlooking the bay but downstairs and it was gorgeous as well. (and bigger)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayelin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My family and I stayed at the Azul del Mar for 5 nights. The room was excellent and comfortable. It didn't feel like a hotel room but more like a vacation home. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Dominic's evening boat ride to a watch the birds coming in to roost that was very interesting. Even though the hotel was just off Highway #1 it had the feeling of seculsion and privacy. It was wonderful to sit outside in under one of the cabanas and relax and watch the sun sink into the water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troyd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This bed and breakfast type hotel (minus the breakfast - because there is none) is listed as a boutique hotel. We have stayed in many hotels from Hawaii to Mexico, from St Lucia, to Paris. Most were not listed as luxury hotels - but accommodations were far more exclusive than Azul del Mar. We stayed in the Orchidea Sea Front Suite. You could not see or hear the sea - because various decks and shade pavilions blocked the view. There was a chair and loveseat that were worn and dirty yellow. The television was an old ugly model hanging from the ceiling [like in the hospital]. No luxury flat screen here! The Kitchenette was very nice, obviously new, with a granite counter top, no complaints there. Moving on to the sleeping area, the bed was nice, comfy, clean. There is no closet but there is a lovely moveable coat/clothes rack with only one hanger. The rack doesn't show up in the picture of the suite - because they moved it out of the way so you couldn't see how inappropriate it was. The lighting is very sparse and poor. There was a very cheap lamp on the single night stand [would have liked one on either side of the bed]. On the other side was a stick lamp that provided poor light. The bathroom, ah yes, was less spa-like than any I have visited. There was one light switch. It turned on the old light fixture over the sink, as well as the noisy, dusty, dirty fan. There is a small, old vanity [with dust caked in the door]. There is not ONE hook in the bath to hang your clothes. Must I really leave them on top of the toilet? The shower was acceptable - with newer small tiles on the wall. There were nice places to sit facing the ocean, but the wicker chairs were dirty and the chair pads appeared a couple of years old and looked dingy. "Exclusive hotel" would have new pads, and clean wicker. The staff was nice and helpful. Room was mostly well cleaned. Property was narrow and noisy with the drone of AC units from neighboring establishments. Cannot figure why this is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen14120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Thank you Daniel for a lovely stay at your deluxe appartments, lovely clean appartments with excellent standard of amenities. The venue was quiet and provided a good base for the upper keys.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northeast16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,546 reviews
19.0 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
616 reviews
10.9 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
862 reviews
7.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $255 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo
Azul Del Mar Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing