We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a few days driving down the Keys to Key West and wanted to break the journey.
Tucked just off the interstate, this small hotel is really worth finding.
Rooms recently decorated and a view over the small bay - fabulous.
Next door is a great fish restaurant - try the cajun shrimp, I can still taste it !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    212
    49
    15
    11
See reviews for
124
543
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My family of 5 stayed in a suite for 2 nights on our way to Key West. The staff is super friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. It is a small property, but very well done. The pool was clean and the landscaping is beautiful. There are kayaks to use for free and a sandy area for laying out or viewing the water. We were very pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast! It consisted of fresh fruit kabobs, key lime tart cups, berry yogurt parfaits, fresh caprese, bagels and pastries. What a wonderful way to start the day! If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay while exploring the Keys, this is an excellent place.

Room Tip: Our suite had tiny windows and therefore not the best view of the water. If that's important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsemom29036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked this place for 3 nights from Choice Hotels website - we generally stay at Comfort Inns or the like but splurged on this vacation to the Keys when I saw this place. When we arrived Stephanie showed us to our 1 bedroom suite but there were no blankets or shower curtain so she upgraded us to a two-floor 2 bedroom suite - quite luxurious for my husband and I and our 14 year old daughter! The grounds were beautiful and we canceled a half day at the beach to stay and swim at the lovely pool and hang out in the hammocks. Everything was clean, the staff was friendly, and Snappers next door had delicious food (you have to try the tuna nachos and ceviche) and great service. Breakfast was nice with homemade bread, yogurt cups, key lime tarts and fresh fruit. We booked a fishing trip with Blackfoot Charters at the marina and had a great time- Mike was personable and entertained our daughter so she wasn't bored. Never did get a chance to try out the kayaks but we plan on coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idoc1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is our third day stop over on our 2 week fly drive holiday. Very helpful staff on arrival, even though we were 2 hours early for check in, this was no problem. Very nice room overlooking the sea, this is certainly a home away from home. The breakfast was the freshest we have had so far on this trip. I thoroughly recommend Dove Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

A small hotel on the water with a few docks and restaurant next door. Clean, nothing fancy but a nice break from the "typical" Keys hotel. There is a Caribbean feel to the property.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, all look out on the water and a quiet bay off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very clean rooms and grounds, friendly staff, great pool and kayaks whenever you want!! The breakfast was the best with fresh fruit and breads! and dont forget the resturant next door (snappers) great food and drinks. Cant think of a bad thing about this place and already thinking about next year at dove creek!!!!

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Although bad weather hampered our stay here (just one night on way back from Key West), it is a lovely property offering great value and a wonderful location. I researched carefully and booked it because of the on-site kayaks, which we could not use because of high winds. However, the complimentary breakfast was just about the best one could ever expect at this type of hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The adjacent restaurant, for which they offer a discount (I believe it is Snappers) was quite good, and features live music nightly, which was very appealing. When we saw the rest of Key Largo on our way out, we REALLY appreciated how lovely this setting is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellar2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
11.9 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
3.5 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.0 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
8.4 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
5.2 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Choice Hotels so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing