We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Setting, but Disorganized Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, but Disorganized Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stopped here for cocktails and to watch the sunset recently. Right on the water (bay side), this restaurant/bar enjoys a great location. Be aware that there is not enough parking in their small lot to accomodate their seating capacity, so when the place is busy, you have to park along Overseas Highway. On the evening we were there, the bartender working the outside bar was disorganized and didn't seem prepared to work her shift. I also got the impression that the bar wasn't properly setup or stocked. For some reason, our drinks during Happy Hour cost more than the exact same drinks once Happy Hour ended! Considering the obvious problems they seemed to be experiencing, I didn't mention this confusing price change. Other customers were getting rather upset over having to wait longer than necessary for their orders. I should mention that while we were there, this outside bar was never completely full.

We considered ordering apps at the bar and staying longer, but just didn't get a good feeling due to the overall disorganization at this restaurant. It wasn't just at the outside bar, the entire staff seemed to be confused and unfocused. However...we checked out the menu and it did appear to have some interesting dishes.

The outside area at Sundowners is very relaxing and has that great water view. There was a very good singer/guitar player performing on the small outdoor stage. We did stay longer than we originally intended due to his musical talent and ability to engage the customers. I don't know if the difficulties that evening were due to inexperienced or untrained staff, unexpected customer volume, or maybe this is the way they always conduct business. We'll try Sundowners again because the place seems to have the potential to be a very nice place to relax in Key Largo. For their sake, I hope the problems we observed that evening were an exception, not the rule.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    491
    177
    77
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding "Key's" resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Having been to the key 4 times over the last 10 months for diving - I find myself going back to Sundowners every trip - service is friendly, menu is what you what in the keys, a mix of fresh seafood and steaks, and they have a great outdoor seating area that has an outstanding sunset view. This trip they have brought back the guitar player outside. Always a place for large groups and families - I highly recommend. My son swears by their baked potatoes. This past trip the kitchen was a little slow (we didn't mind since we where enjoying the music outside) - our waitress offered us a free desert and a 10% discount - very unexpected and really showed their focus on customer service....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthAtlantaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing location, food, service and ambience. So go and try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Absolutely amazing location, food, service and ambience. So go and try it! We came across this restaurant by accident so was a pleasure to find out that the service and food was amazing. Steaks and seafood a must!! It was my mother in laws birthday and they made it really special by turning a whole key lime pie into a cake with candles. It was the best one I have ever tasted! The service could not have been better, very attentive at all times even though it was busy. Watching the sun go down in a place that's buzzing with people, super food and a great singer! Paradise!! You'll regret not trying it out!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Mark was our waiter and suggested great food. We both really loved the kabobs---steak cooked just right and shrimp and scallops were very fresh. The bread had a nice tropical flair and the salads were huge. Try a rum runner for a nice cocktail to start. We were encouraged to stay for the sunset. So nice not to feel rushed!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChanceUpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good Food and Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Ate here once during our visit, the food was really good and the setting with the seats on the dock were great. You could see large Tarpon and other fish cruising by in the evening light, was a great setting. The music coming in from the Big Chill (next door) was quite loud, but least there was no competeing music from teh actual restaurant so it just added atmosphere.

The negative aspect was really our server, she wasnt very busy but seemed quite slow. She also manged to spill an entire pot of oil based salad dressing on to my shorts, which she didnt seem very bothered by. Once i had cleaned up i had to ask for a compliemntary round of drinks to cover the cost of the dry cleaning bill i was faced with. i was very disappointed that this was not forth coming or any other compensation considering her mishap was pretty large.

This i guess was a one off occurence, but it did put us off going back, customer service obviously not a strong point

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing