We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Coconut Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palm Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Grove, Illinois
1 review
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing place to stay for a few days after a very hectic time at work. Coconut Palm Inn was exactly what the doctor ordered! I travel for a living, so staying at a hotel is usually not a “treat” for me. Fortunately, the staff, the grounds and most of all the furnishings at the Coconut Palm Inn were welcoming, warm and most comforting. Everyone who worked there welcomed us with a smile on their face and treated us like royalty. The grounds were well kept and inviting. I logged more than a few hours in the hammock stretched between the palm trees! What impressed me most of all was the cleanliness and the furnishings in the room. This wasn’t your sterile, cookie cutter hotel room. The furniture was unique and inviting. It made me feel at home. I would return the Coconut Palm Inn in a heart beat, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_635_7643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    211
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
271
766
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

had no expectations at all when we arrived so our minds were not messed up.
Were lucky to get room no 14 (a suite) with the best view of all the rooms. The only bad thing was the aircondition making a lot of noise.
Breakfast needs 'an upgrade' but except from that this is a small paradise on earth, with nice rooms, execellent service and the most beautiful surroundings.
If we ever comes to Florida again, we will stay a week.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stighh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were overall very disappointed by the Florida Keys. We are Californians who are accustomed to nice beaches and scenic drives. The Keys had none. This resort allowed one to actually sit on a beach in comfy adirondack chairs looking out at the tranquil Bay. Kayaks were available for a paddle. At first, the place looked disappointing. Looks like it used to be a 1950s stucco motel, but they have done some nice remodel work to make it nicer that it first appears. Bed was very comfy. Bath was nice. We were upgraded to an ocean facing room. $239. We had booked the standard room for $219 which looks at the parking lot. NOT OK for that price. They did not charge for the upgrade, since there were many vacancies. I think all of the prices in the Keys are terribly inflated for what you get. We pay less most everywhere in the world and receive much more value.
Coconut Palm inn has a lovely dock to walk out on. Nice sunset views from your own beach if you are tired of the raucous happy hour crowds at the ocean front restaurants.
Major problem: they advertise continental breakfast. Terrible. Coffee was terrible. Food consisted of very stale (and ice cold right out of the fridge) muffins/croissants that probably originally came from a Costco type place. I found this insulting as a guest paying good money. Would have rather not had anything than have them put this out.
Staff at front desk were very nice and helpful.
A good find for the Keys (IF you want to go to the keys)

Room Tip: Without an ocean view room, you have to go around the building to get in/out to the beach. While I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The screened in porch was worth the trip. To be able to sit there and look out onto the bay was wonderful. The Inn sits back off US 1 and was quiet. The breakfast though small, met the needs and got you ready for the day. The kayaks and paddle boards were in demand and people seemed to enjoy them. The staff was very friendly and helpful and expect we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampatwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I reserved a room at this inn based on its website and the reviews on TripAdvisor. My husband and I were extremely disappointed. He is not terribly particular about hotel rooms but as soon as we stepped into the room, he suggested moving to another hotel. Of course, it was far too late for that.
I agree with another reviewer who described the room as mediocre. It was clean but extremely small and uninspiring. The screened-in porch was a nice addition though.
The location is excellent--right on the beach and near to shops and restaurants. And, it is very quiet but the rooms are not sound-proof by any stretch. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had no complaints there. The continental breakfast, however, is a joke.
I definitely feel that our room was not worth the $200+ per evening that we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We visited Coconut Palm Inn for 3 nights and were thrilled when a nice room upgrade was offered. The room was well furnished, clean and comfy, with a beautiful deck view to the beach and water. The staff were efficient and friendly, and able to offer help in locating a bike rental facility nearby. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, complementary breakfast and kayaks. These few days seemed like a visit to the keys in an earlier, more gracious time and the location was perfect to bike ride and explore the area by car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I felt that for the money, the room was mediocre. It was rather small and not a lot of room to move around in. The screened in porch was very nice, although neighboring occupants to adjorning rooms could be distracting while in their screening in/shared area. There was a disclaimer about ants/bugs in the room and claimed that being a tropical area, it is to be expected. I've gone on multiple tropical vacations and feel this is an excuse for not wishing to address the ant issues. Place some ant poisiong and the problem is taken care of. The value for the money was not a good one. I don't feel it was worth $200+ per evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
0.5 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
15.9 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
8.7 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.8 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
18.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palm Inn

Property: Coconut Palm Inn
Address: 198 Harborview Dr, Key Largo, FL 33070-2664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Palm Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hideaway with only 20 rooms and suites, 450' of sandy sunning beach, dockage, kayaks, boat ramp, pool and alfresco continental breakfast. Rated top 40 Secret Beach Hideaways by Travel + Leisure 2010. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palm Hotel Key Largo
Coconut Palm Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing