We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here for our wedding with Capt Alex of Islescapes. It was a perfect location. It is right next to the pier and of course Duval street. They were kind enough to upgrade our room to ocean view. The room was amazing. It had a loft that had the King Bed, bathroom and tv. Downstairs was the living room and another bathroom. It is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We'd booked this hotel through a company we've used successfully many times before which was a big mistake in this case as we'd paid them in full so couldn't just check out & move.
The room "A Luxury King Spa Guest Room" did not have a bath or a balcony as we'd been lead to believe it would.
When I checked at the front desk about this was told very abruptly & rudely that we'd have to pay $100s more for this than we'd paid. We paid just under £2000 for 6 nights & thought this was not to be sneezed at as she suggested. She never did get back to us if a room with those items did become available.
We then discovered that the toilet did not flush so had to ask for someone to repair it.
In the middle of our first night there was loud shouting & running in the corridor, then the fire alarm went off 3 times. Everyone else on our floor were also up and asking what the problem was. I phoned down to reception to find out if this was a real alarm and was told curtly that this had been reported already and someone was dealing with it, I was then hung up on!
The next morning we discovered that our hire car in the resorts private car park had a flat tyre. A coincidence?
We had a view of part of the car park, complete with noisy drunks wandering through/past every night.
Other complains are that on several occasions we had to ask to have our room serviced as it appeared to have been forgotten.
Coffee for the machine in the room did not get replaced till we asked, also had to ask 3 times to have toilet tissue and shower caps replaced in the bathroom before getting any.
We travel a lot and have never had such bad service & just general rudeness from front desk staff anywhere else.
This was our 4th visit to Key West and have always had a warm welcome in other places we've stayed. This was also our 5th Wedding Anniversary holiday so extra disappointing for us to stay here.
This is the only time I have ever left a review, but felt I had to say how I felt about this resort.

Room Tip: Check whether you have a sea view or garden view as advertised. Balcony, bath or shower only etc. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. Please know that we have a longstanding relationship with Travelocity and are certain we could have come to an agreement with them if you truly would have been happier departing. We pride ourselves on guest service and would have liked the opportunity to have discussed the matter further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently had our wedding at The Pier House and it was perfect! Both our ceremony and reception were held at the Sunset Terrace and the ocean view was incredible. The grounds are beautiful (lots of great picture spots), view was gorgeous, food was amazing and service was excellent! Our guests really enjoyed themselves and kept complimenting the food and service - everyone who worked there was extremely friendly and helpful. We highly recommend anyone looking for a Key West wedding venue to have it here - it was truly amazing and we're glad we chose The Pier House.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idaandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just left the Pier House last Thursday 2/8/12. The resort is beautiful!! We had a great room (balcony with an oceanview), great service/great food, and watched a beautiful wedding on the beach right under our hotel balcony. I would recommend this resort and spa to everyone!! Thank you Pier House for a wonderful vacation!! We will be back next year.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We won't be going back here. Not anytime soon, anyway. We were very disappointed to get put over on the spa side, not what we booked. Internet only worked in the front lobby. No elevators was not a huge issue but me in the morning, not pretty nor happy sitting in my bathrobe in front of what seemed like the world... Not the same as it was the first time we stayed here in 2005.

Room Tip: NOT the spa, not that it will guarantee where you will stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have not had any complaints that our free wi-fi was not working throughout the resort but I have shared your insight with our internet systems manager so that he may address your concern.
Some guests love the larger spa rooms and the proximity to the Caribbean Spa. We're sorry the room and location did not meet your expectations however. We hope you do choose to stay with us again as we have many other room types to choose from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Don't get me wrong, it's a lovely place. On the water, in Key West. Unfortunately, for the almost $500/per night price tag, I expected more. The property exists of several buildings, and we were put in the Caribbean Spa. I was with my 80 year old parents. There was no elevator, and the rooms were on the second floor up a daunting staircase which they found very difficult to navigate. Our rooms faced onto the outdoor spa (directly below), and the street and parking lot. We tried to enjoy the lovely veranda, but the spa (hot tub) was so loud (the waterfall feature) that we could hardly hear each other speak. (It runs from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily). The tv in the room had basic cable and nothing more. The room itself was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The pillows were lumpy and hard, and the mattress was hard. Honestly, I liked the typical rooms at the Mariott Residence (under $300) just as much if not more.

Room Tip: If you want a view, stay out of the Caribbean Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for the review and taking time to share your experience. It is true that the one building without an elevator does house the Caribbean Spa rooms. In instances where we are made aware that stairs could be a challenge we do make every effort to assign first floor rooms. We value your feedback as an opportunity to continually identify issues and improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in a dock side suite. Our view was great. We felt like we were on a cruise ship. Looking out of our room and sitting on the balcony we had an unobstructed ocean view. We would wave at the people in boats going by. It was very calm and peaceful. Then we would walk out of the property to the fun chaos of Key West. The location is perfect to walk every where. We felt Key West was a combination of Bourbon Street, Beal Street (Memphis), typical Carribean port (shops), and laid back island. We enjoyed our quick winter escape.

Room Tip: There are many different locations and views. Be sure to discuss and pick what is important to you...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rcandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We appreciate the room tips for future guests and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.3 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.1 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,615 reviews
0.3 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $377 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing