We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 January 2015

very nice hotel on a great location by the water. Cruise ships obscure your view of the water most mornings and the roosters crowing all night mean u should bring or buy ear plugs. Staff was great. They quickly fixed my broken room safe and had great recommendations for breakfast places (which key west is known for).

Reasonably priced room service and nice but a small pool. Gym is very small. Very poor wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2015

Staying here was such a treat! My husband organised it as part of our Ruby wedding celebration.It lived up to all expectations. The hotel is part of the Noble House Hotel Group, who renovate, still keeping a lot of the character, old French and Spanish colonial plantation houses. Many of the houses in Key West are these attractive symmetrical wooden houses covered in clapboard.. ... The hotel has a restaurant that looks right over the bay, and a delightful swimming pool, the view is marred somewhat on the days that the large cruise ships moor close by. The hotel room was lovely, with an amazing deep jacuzzi style bath to disappear into and enjoy a luxurious soak! I enjoyed a wonderful view of the frequent amazing sunset from the the window. The town has a great artist, laid back liberal feel to it. As well as the quaint shops, many restaurants, cyclists, there is the quaint appearance of feral chickens wandering about freely, thought to have been descended from fighting cocks that Cuban owners lost when a hurricane hit the area. Earnest Hemingway's house is nearby, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lallie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed in the Keys in November. Ocean Key resort was recommended by a friend to us. Check in was late, front desk staff not very professional. Pool staff was not very friendly. Room was nice but the balcony had a broken decorative piece that banged around in the wind all night. Have stayed in Key West many times but this was our first and last trip to Ocean Key Resort, not worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We chose Key West for our Christmas getaway to meet with our adult children and friends. We looked forward to relaxing in the sun by the pool overlooking the ocean.we had 2 suites, one beautifully designed and decorated, a second suite that was old and outdated. Several weeks prior to our trip I received a phone call informing me the pool would closed for 'cosmetic renovations' Dec 14-21. I considered moving to a different location but was assured the pool would be completed. We arrived on Dec. 19 and found the entire pool area under construction, everything was being re-tiled. When I asked about the timing, the front desk denied even knowing about the pool's renovations. Each day went by and the pool's renovations very slowly progressed. It was not completed when promised yet there was no communication to the guests on the pool's status and each day I went to the front desk to ask the status and was not told a thing! I felt deceived and lied to. Never did they offer compensation, I had to demand compensation. Finally on Dec 24, 2 1/2 days late, the pool opened. Very poor planning on the management's part, and they took no responsibility to their guests. Not the special Christmas family stay we had planned for. Very disappointing experience that could have been avoided with open and honest communication to guests.

Room Tip: Partial views are likely overlooking the parking lot, loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My husband and I loved the place very very much. They have many onsite facilities. The outside pool and hot tub were nice with the ocean view. Jacuzzi in the room was super lovely too. Not like most other chain hotel rooms, Ocean Key has its own taste of the room decoration and made our stay extra comfy and cozy. Although a little pricey (we visited during New Year), it worth the money for the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Stayed here with my wife for two nights (19/20th Dec.2014). The address says it all, 0 Duval Street. Drive any further and you're off the pier and into the gulf! This was our first visit to Key West so we spent a little extra on this hotel, it was worth every penny. Everything about this hotel is top class. The staff are some of the best ever, the location is to die for, the hotel bars and restaurants are great and the Sunset Pier is the best place to watch a Key West sunset. If you want the nightlife it's right outside your door on Duval and the sightseeing trolleys are just around the corner. At check-in we asked for a room with a nice view and were given a free upgrade to a suite, now that's great service. We just asked nicely and the hotel helped us out because they wanted us to enjoy our stay. We ordered a room service breakfast on our last day as a treat and our order was delivered on time, hot and with a smile. When we left,the valet brought the car round and loaded our luggage immediately, once again with a smile. We cannot fault this hotel, everything about our stay was perfect and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Key West.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Stayed at this wonderfully located hotel for 2 nights as part of our November honeymoon. Unfortunately, despite it being a special occasion for us the hotel located us in a room overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel. A disappointment. Great room but lousy view! The hotel's swimming pool area is small but has great views out to sea and gets the sun for most of the day. At least it would have done if a dirty great cruise liner hadn't tied up for the afternoon on the quay immediately outside the hotel. The pool was in shade all afternoon as a result and even though the liner left just before sunset time, our first day was effectively ruined. We had to go into town when all we wanted to do was rest up.
Never mind we thought , we have the second day to look forward to around the pool. Not so, there was a wedding taking place that day and room around the pool was severely restricted from early afternoon. We were moved away and .... into the shade! We ended up spending the second (and last afternoon) of our Key West break walking around the town (again).
So, although the hotel is indeed ideally located there are certain considerations travellers need to take into account when staying at this hotel. Do check up on cruise liner parking and weddings taking place at the hotel before you visit.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st Floor rooms overlooking Mallory Square. Its a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
5.6 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
6.9 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: C$470 - C$1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing