We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice, peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was on the quiet side of Duval Street. We enjoyed that and it was easy to get to the shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, breakfast was good and the front desk people were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyChicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    911
    161
    47
    31
See reviews for
693
923
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a very large room with a king bed. The staff was knowledgeable about Key West and helped us find a great place to have dinner our first night. The room was clean and quiet. Definitely will come back if in area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibe131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights here.
Receptionist was quite helpful.
Room was a good size, 2 queen beds and still enough space. Decor was a bit tired, but everything worked and the bed was very comfortable.. Room was very quiet, although the motel is the standard US pattern of external corridor past front of rooms. If there had been any noisy late night revellers this could have been a problem, but in our case it was fine.
Location is just a short 5 min. walk to the quiet end of Duval street, and about a further 20 minutes up Duval to the 'Sunset Celebrations', getting louder and noisier as you go north on Duval.
Decent size pool in the central courtyard. Free buffet breakfast, not fantastic but well adequate.
There is a small beach just south of the Hotel on Duval, but did not try it.
The first night we ate at an italian restaurant on the southern end of Duval. Think it was called La Trattoria. Nice meal, good service, would go again.
2nd night ate at Camille's just up Simonton. Had a voucher from the hotel for free Key Lime Pie. Meal here was really nice. Last night tried another Italian next door to Camilles. OK, but not up to the standard of the other 2.

General comment on Key West. Bit of a culture shock after sedate Naples. Glad I went, saw the sunset etc, but a bit loud for me. Would I go again? - probably not, but then I am 60. More my scean 20 years or so ago,.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room, and the receptionist did comment that she had noted this and given me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
It is always great to hear that we are meeting or exceeding our guest's expectations. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Fort Worth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Was able to check in early on a Thursday in January. Had a Great Room with two large Queen Beds. Separate Shower with Sink and and a outer Sink for your partner to get ready for the Days Activities. Breakfast Room only had 14 seats but the Outside Pool Area and Room is always a good second Choice. My Room was extremely clean and bright. Limited handicapped parking but I heard Ni C/o. The location is absolutely Great. Right next Door to a Cuban Market and Sandwich Bar and 25yards to get a ride on the Conch Train or Trolley. The Conch is better for pictures if you are restricted for time. My two nights @ this Hotel were the Best on my 3 week plus Vacation to Florida. Walking to Duvall Street and all the sights were extremely easy for Seniors and Handicapped People. Scooters, Bikes were all available but YOU do NOT need them if you enjoy walking.

Room Tip: Arrive early for parking as it is free and some what limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackHawks1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Key West is a nice destination in winter time: splendid architecture, good seafood, sunshine ... BW Hibiscus hotel is on the calm side of Key West but not far from the vibe (Duval Street); very close to the so-called Southernmost point; clean and quiet with a large heated swimming pool open till midnight. Breakfast is standard; wifi works well. A bit pricey, like many hotels in the Keys. Spacious room with 2 queen beds, microwave, fridge, coffee machine. Easy parking. In one word, good value.

Room Tip: The pool is open till midnight, which could cause some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhenaton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Very nice room,exceptionally clean,breakfast was so-so. Very easy checkin and out.
The staff were very helpful and gave clear concise directions to Duval Street and Mallory square which were within easy walking distance.
(Note: This is the only BW that we have ever come across that takes the fees up front on booking,when not booking a web saver.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Good situation close to Duval Street, and within walking distance of Mallory Square and Fort Zachary Taylor. Room was spacious with 2 queen sized beds, decent bathroom and shower, desk and high sped Internet. Microwave and fridge, but no cutlery or crockery, which seems a strange omission, what are you supposed to eat with? Lovely pool and hot tub, with tables round which was nice for breakfast in the sun. The exterior was being painted while we were there, but this did not cause any problems. If the hotel is going to do any more improvements I would suggest soundproofing, as the plumbing is rather noisy , especially if your neighbours take a late night bath as ours did. Breakfast is complementary, and ok but not exceptional. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
4.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
4.8 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing