We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place for wedding reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
US$76.48*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
Ranked #4 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for wedding reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We loved vising this location for such a special event! Staff was great. Food was very good. Pool was lovely backdrop for cocktail hour. Only one bathroom working (which was quite dated).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,552
    3,817
    1,013
    143
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cool Cats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am happy to report that I finally made it to see the 6 toe cats and with 45 of them on the property, you too will have the opportunity. We enjoyed the guided tour which is included in the price of admission. All furnishings are original and interesting. I was unaware that he married 4 times and we learned a little about his 4 wives on the tour as well as some of his issues. The grounds are beautiful and you can purchase tickets of other historical sites as a package saving on the individual cost of the tickets to each site.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully run home of Papa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The family (no relation to Hemingway) who owns and manages the tours keeps the estate in wonderful condition including with six toed cat heirs of Hemingway's own (around 45 live there today)!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank choufrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
THANK YOU very much for your 5-star review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loris, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cats own the place, but don't run it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Learned a lot about Hemingway's life that I didn't know. Enjoyed learning about his life style and the contributions that he made to this area. A must see in Key West.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
THANK YOU very much for your 5-star review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Matt & Michelle's Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

A Private Acre just 16' above Sea Level!

We were note let down from the time we entered the main gate until the time we exited!
You must take the guided tour as each room is filled with nostalgia from a time gone by! And your guide will point out all the nuggets of information available that would otherwise be lost unless you were a Hemingway scholar. (It would like be having a Maine Lobster put in front of you without any idea of how to get ALL the meat out of it!)
So take the time to see just how this place was constructed to how Mr Hemingway lived & died...

Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
THANK YOU very much for your 5-star review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing