We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roman is the best”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #54 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Roman is the best”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just returned from a nice couple of days in Key West. Heron House is lovely, clean, well-located, comfortable and well run. Roman was so gracious on our arrival and during our stay: helping us park, getting our bikes sorted out, showing us the hotel amenities, marking up maps for us and giving us suggestions and directions, letting us store stuff after the check-out and more. He works very hard and knows every guests' name. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    124
    75
    30
    26
See reviews for
16
315
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great Hotel in a beautiful and quiet area. Roman is a great host. Just the breakfst is bit poor which really could be improved without much efforts. Would recommend this hotel any time again. Walking distance to Mallaroy place and Duval street. What else do you need! Thanks alot for the nice stay and the "@home" atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esprit2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a fine location very near to Duval and very pretty - relaxed and well laid-out. It had been recommended to us by friends and travel agents alike. The owners obviously seek a reliable clientele and enforce this, on arrival we were presented with a list of undesirable behaviours which, if we pursued them, would lead to our "expulsion" from the property. We found this a bit daunting. There is no dedicated parking, but we had no problem finding a non-resident lot in the neighbouring street. Our room faced the pool, was a bit dark and smelled a bit musty, more seriously it was not clean of dust. We flagged this up next morning and were lucky that another room was free (#14) which was lighter. But unfortunately, we discovered later that the second room smelled badly of mould/mildew once the aircon was switched on and we wiped a coating of filth off its air inlet, this did not change the smell. There was a cute private seating area outside behind the room, but it was full of old decaying leaves so we did not take advantage of it. The safe was unusable since the sliding doors to the wardrobe were both irrevocably broken and jammed, the cold water tap was not secured and came off in our hands. The shower head provided water but had also seen better days. Breakfast was great and coffee was available from 7am. After our second night we spoke again with the management who were very understanding and credited us without any question or ill feeling for our third booked night, allowing us to seek somewhere else. We could see many reasons why Heron House would be attractive, but we found the state of disrepair and the lack of cleanliness fundamentally unacceptable. With these factors corrected I am sure that we would then recommend the Heron House to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILADELPHIA,PA
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We absolutley loved it here! I don't understand any negativity. This is not the Mandarin Oriental or the Ritz Carlton so it you are expecting that, look elsewhere. I base my review on our experience and what type of estalishment this is. First check in was fast and easy. The people at the front desk WERE very very nice and very helpful. Trent helped us with our bags and gave us a tour of the facility before showing us to our room. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained and clean. This place is a quiet oasis, yet so close to everything. I would say that walking around for 6 days there, this is the best location. You are close to everything and where this is located a short walk in all directions to so many neighborhood restaurants. You can't beat the location.
Our room was great. We were in 9c and had a king bed, very clean and spacious. Refrigerator, safe, plenty of space for unpacking. Shower had great water pressure and too was cleaned very well by house keeping. Wi-fi worked great and had no problems at all. The air condition was loud so that might be an issue for some.
Only had breakfast there on our last day. With so many great restaurants in Key West I wasn't planning on taking advantage of the breakfast. However, it you are on a budget or want something quick or not a big eater in the morning I thought it was more than adequate. They had coffee,tea, OJ, apple juice, fruit salad , croissants, bagels , bread,cereal, granola, pastry, and assorted fruit like bananas, apples, etc.
We didn't have any problems that other people encounted. I would absolutely recommend this place without hesitation and believe the place looks exactly like the pictures, at least our room did and the grounds. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELJUNKIE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our room (#2) at the Heron House was very nice, comfortable and clean. It was a little small, but there was just the two of us and we weren't in the room that much. Check-in was a breeze; our room was ready when we got there (earlier than check-in time). The staff were very helpful if you needed their assistance. We were given some pointers on some of the tours and they made arrangements for us to rent bicycles. Otherwise, they left you alone. The foilage on the grounds were very nice as well. I would definitely return. This was my husband and my first visit to Key West. We had a blast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaGK723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

After choosing from many guest houses online felt totally let down by the standard of accommodation when we arrived at Heron House. our room (12 ) faced the pool and not only was it nothing like the pictures there were bugs in the bathroom, it was not clean, fridge was in the wardrobe which was broken. Our sheets had holes in and the 3 nights we spent sleeping there were 3 too many, also no housekeeping! Although we enjoyed our visit to Key West i would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleW475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Note that there are two Heron House locations in Key West. This review is about the location on Simonton. We stayed in room 9 - a lovely, second floor room with a balcony overlooking Simonton. The room was spacious, with a king sized bed, a sofa, television, bar fridge. Gorgeous wood work on floor and the walls - imagine wood mosaic tile.

The balcony had two comfortable chairs to lounge in.

The property itself is stunning. It benefits from a privacy wall surrounding the property. The swimming pool is very inviting. The lounging area has comfortable sofas, newspapers, a waterfall. This is the kind of place that you imagine owning as a house.

The one minor negative: for such a lovely place, the showerhead was the cheapest thing going.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,021 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.7 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.1 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West
Heron House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing