We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Th best B&B I've EVER stayed in!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Th best B&B I've EVER stayed in!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Centrally located...walk to all attractions, restaurants, and activities, yet far enough away from the "wild" streets. Classy, quite,very clean, beautifully decorated, friendly. The rooms (especially #11) were spacious yet cozy. The continental breakfast is great. There is a high standard set for the guests, so if you are a party animal, this is not for you (You will be asked to leave.)

Room Tip: Check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etaurins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    120
    70
    29
    25
See reviews for
16
298
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights November 2011. Can only agree with previous reviewers regarding the excellent location and beauty of the surroundings. With no parking at the House we were advised to drop off the luggage and drive a block or two to find a space roadside.This we did easily. Maybe the bathroom could do with updating and the hot water took for ever to come through but only small niggles. Our room faced the gate to the path/road which needed an extra key. Breakfast basic but adequate. Our neighbours I think were honeymooners and the walls are wooden and thin so late evening and early morning .....
It was our first time in Key West and we definately be returning.
I've added a few pics showing our room etc

Room Tip: Our room number was 1066 and faced the exit gate ideal for loading/unloading and a quiet entrance la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoUKaygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My girlfriend and I spent Friday thru Monday at the Heron House. The location is ideal, close to the action yet far enough away that it feels like you are on a deserted island sitting in your room, the courtyard, the breezeway or by the pool with the lush old growth trees and plants - the fountain/aquarium is an especially nice touch.

We stayed in # 10 - it was very large with a private patio and the main entrance connected onto the breezeway - a large bathroom with tub/shower, lots of granite and wood - it was exactly as you would imagine an upscale Key West or Caribbean BnB to be ... perfect.

The staff were professional and helpful, their contribution to our experience was impeccable . Although we arrived later than expected after traversing the continent, arrangements were made to make sure that we could get into our room and start our extended weekend getaway on the right foot.

Breakfast was great, wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch.

We came and went throughout the day/night with the feeling that we had the whole place to ourselves until we attended the wine and cheese Saturday evening and met a few of the other guests and then again Sunday at breakfast when dozens of people were checking out in the morning.

Lots of walking, lots of island history/lore, a little shopping, and many fantastic restaurants and bars close by - really enjoyed the street performers and the sunset.

We both travel a lot.

Heron House made a good trip GREAT! We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This Hotel is located a block away from the main strip. In two words, "hidden santuary".  This property has been cared for with love. It's so quiet with beautiful trees and plants surrounding every direction. 

Every room has a seperate outdoor entrance. I stayed in room 5. A standard room with my own large front porch, tables and chairs to complete the entrance. Walking in included breath taking high tray ceiling, king bed, granite counter tops and endless charm. Overall very romantic and cozy. 

From the rooms to the pool, spotless.

Breakfast was great! Standard B&B but so fresh and appealing. 

As for customer service, very helpful and kind. The young man behind the desk was very welcoming and sincere. He made sure we were happy with our stay:)

When I return to key west I will definitly check in here again. Highly recommend for the price the value is a steal.  

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just returned from a nice couple of days in Key West. Heron House is lovely, clean, well-located, comfortable and well run. Roman was so gracious on our arrival and during our stay: helping us park, getting our bikes sorted out, showing us the hotel amenities, marking up maps for us and giving us suggestions and directions, letting us store stuff after the check-out and more. He works very hard and knows every guests' name. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great Hotel in a beautiful and quiet area. Roman is a great host. Just the breakfst is bit poor which really could be improved without much efforts. Would recommend this hotel any time again. Walking distance to Mallaroy place and Duval street. What else do you need! Thanks alot for the nice stay and the "@home" atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esprit2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a fine location very near to Duval and very pretty - relaxed and well laid-out. It had been recommended to us by friends and travel agents alike. The owners obviously seek a reliable clientele and enforce this, on arrival we were presented with a list of undesirable behaviours which, if we pursued them, would lead to our "expulsion" from the property. We found this a bit daunting. There is no dedicated parking, but we had no problem finding a non-resident lot in the neighbouring street. Our room faced the pool, was a bit dark and smelled a bit musty, more seriously it was not clean of dust. We flagged this up next morning and were lucky that another room was free (#14) which was lighter. But unfortunately, we discovered later that the second room smelled badly of mould/mildew once the aircon was switched on and we wiped a coating of filth off its air inlet, this did not change the smell. There was a cute private seating area outside behind the room, but it was full of old decaying leaves so we did not take advantage of it. The safe was unusable since the sliding doors to the wardrobe were both irrevocably broken and jammed, the cold water tap was not secured and came off in our hands. The shower head provided water but had also seen better days. Breakfast was great and coffee was available from 7am. After our second night we spoke again with the management who were very understanding and credited us without any question or ill feeling for our third booked night, allowing us to seek somewhere else. We could see many reasons why Heron House would be attractive, but we found the state of disrepair and the lack of cleanliness fundamentally unacceptable. With these factors corrected I am sure that we would then recommend the Heron House to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.4 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.7 km away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West
Heron House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing