We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat this”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't beat this”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

For the military this is one not to miss. Great rooms and great rates. Suggest you call to make reservations

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jumpmasterjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in May 2011. This lodge is located on Sigsbee road. It's not the Hilton but use the $$ you save to enjoy the tourist stuff. Our room had 1 x queen, fold out couch, kitchen, dvd player...DVD rental at Redbox at Exchange. Front desk lets you borrow beach chairs, cooler, and towels. Walking distance to Exchange\Commisary, Gym, marina. It's not walking distance to downtown. When we went to town, paid $4 for parking for the day, then rented bikes and putted around. Best beach is at Fort Zachary, $7 for 2 people, lots of shade and nice location to swim. The rental townhouses at Trumbo NAS looked nice for a large family and it's closer to town but not on the water. Key West is a nice destination for a few days and the Navy Lodge fit the bill.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank jumboload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This was a typical Navy Lodge, good price, well maintained facility and really friendly staff. Good location for downtown Key West and all the touristy areas, plus shops restaurants etc. A take-out breakfast was provided each morning. One word about the Navy Lodge website - it shows a pool at this Lodge which isn't quite correct. The pool is on another Navy facility a few miles away. The other thing to be aware of is the very low speed limit (15mph) around the Lodge. The police will get you if you transgress speed limits and 'no cell phone use' rule whilst driving on base.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank KidsinAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebring florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

we spent 3 nights at the gateway lodge in key west and enjoyed every minute. we decided to take in the sights by walking from the lodge which turned out to be great and the help from the staff was great in directing us to various places. we are looking forward to returning this spring for more fun.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank waywardsailor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed at the Navy Lodge in Key West for 10 days right after Thanksgiving, 2009. It is on a Navy Air Station annex and is only available to armed forces active and retired personnel, plus some civil service personnel. We made our reservations four months in advance. There were RV and camping sites on the base a few block away. I have included some pictures related to my review.

COST- The Navy Lodge is the most expensive of the temporary/vacation on-base options for a single room. The Navy Lodge cost us $89 per night, during this time of year. However, there are no taxes on base which saves about $7 a day. That compares with on-base trailers and the Navy Gateway Inn at roughly $55, per night, at another annex. The Condos a prior report says are $110/ night for three rooms. RV sites cost only $20 per night and many are very near the Navy Lodge. Off base in Key West, we found that the Comfort Inn and Day's Inn cost about $90 per night, plus taxes, during the same off season period.

QUALITY - The Navy Lodge Key West beats all of these particular options in its setting, appearance, privacy, quietness, and quality of its rooms and furnishings. It is like being in a first class resort on a tropical island... which it is! The Sunset Lounge, right nearby, is an appealing aged tropical bar overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. It has excellent food and drinks, at prices about 30% less than prevailing costs in restaurants in Key West. There is no reason to eat dinner anywhere else. Also right nearby, on the base at this location, is a small marina where you can rent a power boat, canoe, or kayak for exploration or fishing. The Navy MWR office is across the street for reduced price tickets to attractions. However, the savings are less than I expected, about 10-15% less than actual deals available off base. The Navy Exchange and Commissary are also about a block away, allowing much more savings on food and drink. The Navy Lodge rooms have small kitchen with dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. The Lodge supplies a continental breakfast in a bag, every day. There are coffee makers in the rooms and hot coffee in the lobby.

Location - The Navy Lodge is within 15 minutes or so drive from everywhere in Key West. Parking can be a problem in the more tourist areas and there is primarily pay parking in most areas of interest, which is not cheap. You can park for free in the Truman Annex and at certain places near the beach on Atlantic Ave/St (?) and walk to many locations. Go in the restricted Navy part of the Truman. Look in a large fenced area containing WWII battlements and bunkers. If you are lucky you will see some wild “Navy” goats there. Seeing these white creatures standing guard in the old Navy battlements and bunkers is a special delight. There is also a very nice sandy private Navy beach, with bathrooms, to be enjoyed, at no cost at all. We preferred a state park ($7/Day/Car) bordering on the south of the Truman Annex and connected to it. It has beautiful picnic and camping areas and a great public beach, plus an old fortress! We took picnics with us for lunch every day, in a small foldable cooler. I could go on and on about the sights and entertainment you can find, but the rest is left for you to discover and explore.

EasyRover

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank EasyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
2.6 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.5 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#41 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge Key West

Property: Navy Lodge Key West
Address: Bldg 4114 Arthur Sawyer Rd, Key West Naval Air Station - Sigbee Park, Key West, FL 33040-5000
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROVIDING OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY TO THOSE WHO PROUDLY SERVE OUR COUNTRY The Navy Lodge is your number one choice for outstanding guests services specializing in meeting the needs of the PCS military family, TDY and leisure traveler. Please note: International Military are authorized patrons of the Navy Lodge Program, but must be pre-approved through base security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge Key West Hotel Key West
Navy Lodge Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing