We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome :):):)”
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing. Front porch swing and bench, great for coffee or cocktail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing.
Front porch swing and bench, great for coffee or cocktail
Sundance spa on private back deck with lounge chairs, hammock, dining table, BBQ
Hammock, BBQ, outdoor dining
The white armoire houses a 27' TV and DVD player. Lots of storage with chest of drawers, armoire.
Kitchen with sit-down table opens out to the private back deck with BBQ and additional dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen with full size major and small appliances.
Computer desk/chair, large WiFi TV, Blue Ray DVD player. Local artwork adorns the entire cottage.
LazyBoy recliner and comfy sofa.
Bathroom offers tub and shower and is accessible from kitchen and bathroom as well as back deck.
Bathroom opens to back deck with outdoor shower and sink.
Outside shower and sink, both with hot water - a favorite with our guests.
Relax at the Seashell Cottage
That's me, Carolyn, on Whitmarsh Lane aka Lazy Lane, home of Seashell Cottage
Original painting by McMullen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barb and...
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome :):):)”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Think about a private getaway that promises to regenerate your spirits, and bring back a calmness to the self. We had anticipated this trip for many months, and we have to admit, our expectations were exceeded. A lovely cottage settled in a quite lane, a perfect hideaway for those escaping the daily havoc of normal life. Duval Street is a short walk to a new adventure everyday...Fort Zachary Taylor State Park is a go to for swimming, snorkeling, sun bathing, and getting to know the many vacationers from all over the globe. The Turtle Krawl offers excellent customer service, the BEST ceviche ever, and a relaxing happy hour. The restaurant overlooks the harbor, and is home to actual turtle races! BO's wonderful little place down by the docks will make you an amazing Hog fish sandwich, ask for some slaw to go with...Of course you will enjoy visiting Cuban Coffee Queen for their sweet morning buzz, or an interesting Mango butter toast. We have to say that we mostly enjoyed the comfort of the cottage, the hot tub to relax in with a glass or two of wine, the outdoor shower that allowed us to be one with the natural elements.... Awwww...so we had a beautiful time. Thank you so much, you obviously take pride in your vacation home, and it is very clear that you are there to provide best service to your guests. Will we return....YES :)
Barb and Randy Grimes

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Cindy and I really appreciate your taking the time to write this colorful, soulful and informative review of the Seashell Cottage and Key West.

I love the outdoor shower and the Turtle Kraals Happy Hour, too!

We are so pleased your expectations were exceeded; that's what a vacation should be!

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phinzup
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection for Literary Vacation”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I arrived on a rainy, nasty day in Key West. It was pouring. Duval Street was flooding. The temperature was in the 50s. But I was in Key West, so it couldn't be all bad.

It wasn't. Seashell Cottage was the perfect retreat from the absolute brain drain that was the Key West Literary Seminar. A beer, a book and the front porch swing were all I needed to recover from learning more than my head could absorb every day. The light sounds of music from several local bars and the smell of night blooming jasmine put me in a state of mind that only Key West could bring. I've stayed in many places in Key West and this was the closest to Paradise I've found yet. I felt local, and after 2.5 weeks I didn't want to leave.

The bed was comfortable. The lane it is on is quaint, cozy and quiet. The back patio area was perfect for breakfast in the morning. The outdoor shower, even on a cold day, was glorious. The couch was excellent for an afternoon nap before going out to evening events. If I had too much to imbibe at functions, Mr. Z's was only 2.5 blocks away. Groceries? Fausto's is only 3 blocks away. Duval? Just around the corner from Mr. Z's, yet when you're at the cottage you feel miles away from that insanity.

Perfect. That's the only word I can use to describe Seashell Cottage. Perfect. I've been trying to find a way to get back ever since I left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience with privacy. Best of both worlds.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrimes28
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First trip to Key West”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot find anything negative to say about the Seashell Cottage. Everything was better than expected and the location was excellent. Carolyn and Cindy really went above and beyond. This is where we will be staying when we return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for writing the review! Cindy and I are so pleased that your first Key West visit, staying at the Seashell, was a good one.

You, two, are 5 star guests and we'll look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Carolyn Baker
Owner, Seashell Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FirstClas...
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“True Key West experience!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Better than I expected! =) Very clean, very quiet, very private, very safe, had everything we needed and more. Loved the roosters in the morning, a couple very friendly kitty cats made their daily rounds to check on us. Activities were all within walking distance. Parking was perfect if you don't bring an SUV or minivan. Other properties had cars cramped in or on the narrow street but the Lazy Lane had the perfect two spots with no risk of damage by anyone else squeezing in or out around yours. We liked how the property had a locking gate. One added feature that we wish we had known about was the bike rack inside the locked property...we would have brought ours if we had known. Jacuzzi was cleaned daily and towels replaced as we needed. We will never stay in a Key West hotel ever again!! I loved the true Key West experience in this cottage. =)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your authentic Key West experience at Poinciana Place, complete with kitties and roosters.

We'll look forward to your return!

Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaM91
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very Key Western. 2 bedroom, 1 bath, complete kitchen, washer, dryer, centrally located to Duval St within walking distance to beach. Quiet pool. Definitely would stay here again. They even provided dish washer powder, toaster oven, blender, microwave.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Key West Gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We decided to get away from mid-Atlantic cold and repair to the Keys for two weeks this winter. We took the ground-floor unit of Poinciana Place and it's been perfect. Bruce, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and thorough in addressing all needs. The bedroom is comfortable, the kitchen efficient and the deck with hot tub marvelously restorative. The patio in back has a fine gas grill, washer and dryer, and two friendly resident cats.

We brought our computers to do some work, and the wifi while not lightning-fast, was perfectly adequate for e-mail and basic web searches.

We got into a pattern of having one meal (L or D) out and one in each day and there are many really good restaurants within easy walking distance.

The last two days of our stay turned cool (it was frigid back home!) but the place is equipeed with a nice space heater that took the chill off and made us comfortable.

This is a great place and we hope to return in the future.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much at Poinciana Place and have shared your thoughts with this lovely descriptive review.

We'll look forward to your return!

Carolyn Baker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tearbearc...
Lockport, IL
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Once Again!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second 4th of July in the Seashell Cottage (our fourth stay with Lazy Lane), and staying on “The Lane” gets better and better every time!

We arrived to find Cindy working her tail off to get the place ready for us, even though our flight landed before noon! AND IT’S CLEAN!! Now that’s excellent service. It’s great that they are able to accommodate early flights. It’s a wonderful feeling to start your vacation as soon as you land, and not worrying about where your bags are.

You can tell Carolyn really loves this house because of all the wonderful touches she puts into the place. I’m not exaggerating when I say you can stay here for a week and never leave. It’s Key West, so you don’t really want to stay in all the time, but if you feel like lying low for an evening (which we did), this place is perfect. You have a full kitchen with any utensil you could think of and a gas grill right outside your door! One of my favorite amenities that doesn’t really get mentioned is the filtered water pitcher that’s in the fridge. Yes, sometimes you need to drink water in Key West! Don’t get me started on the outdoor shower. I think everyone should have one of these!

The location is what makes it. I never, ever get tired of daily visits from Mr. Gloria, Princess and a couple of new felines in the neighborhood. The employees at the inn across the lane are very friendly, and are great to have morning conversations with. Bruce, who owns Poinciana Place next door (another treasure), is sometimes outside ready to have a great Key West conversation. The locals who live in the area are just the nicest people you could come across. Whenever we go to Key West, we always like to feel that we are part of the life there and not “just” tourists. Staying here makes us feel just that.

I always enjoy making my annual reservations and getting to chat with Carolyn. She is really a sweetheart. People like this are what make Key West visiting again (and again). Thanks again for another memorable vacation. We will see you again soon.

Oh, and when Carolyn suggests making your reservation for next year before you leave…do it! We didn’t, and someone got to it before we did. Good thing there are other Lazy Lane properties to reserve! ;)

Mike & Tara

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Your love of the Seashell Cottage, Lazy Lane, and Key West is apparent in this glowing review.

It's so satisfying to have guests like you who not only enjoy the ambiance and appreciate finer points of our neighborhood, but also blend right in.

Thank you so much for the exquisite review; and, as always, we will all look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Carolyn
Cindy
Mr. Gloria, Princess, Ms. Midnight
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing