We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here early January. Ended up having to move to another hotel as this hotel was so noisy we could not sleep at night (or even nap during the day!). Loud noise coming from either the room next door (rooms desperately needs to be sound proofed), music blasting all day and night or the 'mid day very loud bingo from the hotel next door (which fair enough cannot be blamed on the hotel).
The pool is ok, but only has sun for a very few hours each day as the hotel building block for the sun. We had already booked for several nights, but as we had kids with us that could not sleep we were forced to change hotel (very doubtful any room is any better due to location and non sound proof rooms). We tried to deal with the move in a friendly way but they did not seem very understanding of our complaint and charged us for the extra night we had booked but did not stay there (though told them 2 days in advance). We changed to another hotel with the same rate with a much nicer room, very quiet, lovely pool in the sun and with a private hotel beach.

Room Tip: There are none as long as the sound proof in the hotel is non existent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mariannetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was a very practical place to stay at, my family wanted to enjoy some warmer weather so it was a great getaway. Beach was not too impressive but was nice to play in the sand with the kids and lay in the sun.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank kerri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Kerri, thank you for your review. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our nice warm weather in Key West! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were initially booked here for 5 nights but realized after we arrived in Key West that we probably didn't need 5 nights in Key West. Customer service was wonderful. When I asked to shorten our stay after already checking in, they made it happen without asking any questions (other than making sure the reason wasn't anything they could fix) (and without any penalty). While there, we took advantage of sunning ourselves at the pool (which was nice but a little crowded), and had several meals at the Shor restaurant. We received a coupon card for the restaurant upon check-in which was great (the more you eat, the more you save - 15% off the first meal, 20% off the second meal, etc.). Service was friendly and relatively quick for breakfast and lunch. The food was very fresh and well-prepared. We also got massages at the spa (prenatal massage for me and a deep tissue massage for the husband). The massages took place at a private suite in the Jala Spa which is beautifully decorated in soothing colors and has an adjoining bathroom with steam shower. The experience was wonderfully relaxing and our therapists (Jaelyn and Rachel) were great. The concierge helped us book the somewhat last-minute appointments and was very helpful (wish I could recall her name). We stayed in a King Salon overlooking the pool which had two balconies (one over the pool with a comfy lounge and chair and the other with a bistro table and two chairs overlooking the parking lot). The room was true to the photos on the website and was very clean. The location is great - close to Mallory Square and Duval but far enough away that it's quiet and relaxing. If we are in Key West again, we would definitely consider returning to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Key West. Thank you for the nice comments on our staff and specifically Shor and Jala Spa. I will be sure to pass on your words to our staff. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for one week, Jan 28 thru Feb 4. We found the place average, certainly not worth $560 a night. Very small room, only two outlets to charge phones and iPads, which had to be placed on the floor, very poor lighting, only one bed-side lamp, which made it difficult to read. Hi speed wi if should be included, not extra! The resort fee is absurd! You have to pay to use the pool and "beach" area, which we used for about one hour during our entire stay. Staff was friendly and food at Shor was good but a bit pricey. Location is good, a short walk to Mallory Square and some good restaurants. Good but certainly not great!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed here before. Its a good hotel in a prime location. We booked sea view and full package with breakfast. The check in was good - glass of champagne always a nice touch. Staff friendly and efficient. Room nice - good view, good A/C, nice shower, good decor. Pool nice but a bit chilly.
All hotel staff very good - one exception - the breakfast hostess on day 1. This sounds trivial but we went for breakfast and a male member of staff sat us at a table and told us our server would be with us soon. We were ignored for 10-15 minutes then a very overbearing woman came and asked 'when did we arrive' we told her we thad been there a while. Her reply was 'well your still sitting there as you walked in withoout checking in with a hostess'. Felt about 5 years old and told off - did not need this attitude. Server then took another 10 mins to come to us and did not listen to ourm order. Two days later she was charming - she had clearly 'forgotten' she had been so rude on day 1.
The other major issue was that we were called in our room on the first day by a hotel employee who asked if we would help by being taken to a 'new Hyatt hotel' in Key West. As we had stayed a few times our input on the 'new hotel' ould be valued. It would take 90 minutes and we were offered $100 or Hyatt points. In the end we decided that we had no time to do this. At checkout we asked about this - would you belive it - they were trying to sell us a time share. No woncdr they asked us not to go on our last day and insisted that they take us and we could not make own way there. The guy simply omitted to tell us he was sellimg a time share - not what we expect from a Hyatt - so beware. not sure if we would go back after this?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here 4 nights using our Hyatt points. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room, 3204. Room comes with all the amenities, turn down service, and the best thing -- real Starbucks coffee for use in the in-room coffee pot. Check-in was a breeze; we were even offered a glass of champagne. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did get several drinks at the poolside bar. Pool is kind of small, but very nice. There is a very rocky, sandy spot where you can get into the ocean but we didn't see anyone do this during our entire stay. This spot is right near boats and the jet-ski's so the location isn't ideal. This hotel is within easy walking distance of both downtown and the pier area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi Cathy, thank you so much for the great review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the in-room coffee! I would love to welcome you back on your next trip to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel would have been a five star except for four things - bed too soft and dipped in middle, single ply toilet paper, scratchy towels and no chocolate with turn back. That said, staff was attentive and breakfast was excellent. We ate other meals elsewhere. Loved the pool area. The location was an easy walk to shopping, recreation and restaurants. We would go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to hear that you would like to come back to the Hyatt Key West. Thank you for your suggestions as well as your great comments on our staff and breakfast. I will definitely make sure to pass on your comments to our team. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.4 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.8 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
2.0 km away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $365 - $1,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing