We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Key West Spring Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Key West Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just returned from a family outing to Key West. We stayed at Casa Marina Resort, with our daughter & two friends in one room, my son/daughter-in-law & granddaughter in a suite, and mom & dad in an ocean front suite. The rooms are average, but the access to the beach & pool area was outstanding. We were 25 steps away from the pool and beach areas. The service by staff was very good....especially the pool & beach service by Graham & Steve. They had our beach lounges & umbrellas set up every morning ready for us to enjoy the day outdoors! If you decide to stay there make sure you look up these two guys. They will take care of your beach & pool needs. But don't wait too long to get set up on the beach or pool area.....they ran out of lounge chairs & umbrellas by 11am. I felt bad for those who were left out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,252
    1,611
    912
    466
    311
See reviews for
1,708
3,055
88
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have stayed at the Casa several times. This time booked the basic double island view room since we were traveling with the kids and figured we wouldn't be in our room very much. The room was definately basic, no balcony and a view of a street. It was constantly damp in our room. Maybe because AC didn't work to full capacity?? It seemed to run constantly. The floors were basic tile which after a day felt damp and sticky. Felt like you didn't want to go barefoot. When booking the room, I requested a quiet room and I will say it was very quiet. Never heard a thing at night and we are all light sleepers. Now for the good stuff! The location is fantastic! We had the Westin booked originally and changed back to the Casa at the last minute thinking the Casa had more to do for the kids. We took the kids down to see the cruise ship docked in front of the Westin and when we saw all the people pouring out we knew we definately made the right choice for the Casa. The kids loved the pools, the beach, volleyball, cornhole and the ping pong table. The Casa is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Duval yet only a short bike ride when YOU choose to take part in the fun. You can rent bikes right at the hotel. We found street parking right next to the hotel which saved us the daily parking fee. Checkin/checkout was quick and easy. The bar near the pools was great for a quick afternoon cocktail to unwind after a day of sight seeing. The drinks are expensive but they always are at hotel bars so no surprise there. We just bought a bottle of wine while out and about during the day to put in our room. So overall I would say I was a little disappointed in the room quality for the price but the rest of the resort and location make up for it! If you can afford it the best room we have had at the Casa was the Grande Ocean Vista. It is in the main building with a large glass balcony facing the beach and pools. It was BEAUTIFUL inside and out!

Room Tip: Ask for nonconnecting rooms if possible. Much quieter. Have stayed in both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear MB fromMD,

Sounds like you really know how to enjoy yourself! We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you appreciate our beautiful location.

We have shared the issues with your room to our management team. If you should be in Key West again please contact me at stresh@luxuryresorts.com for personalized service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlap, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Already a disappointment and we've only been here one night so far. Room is very small for family of 5. The 2 double beds are small and creak like old fashioned metal springs, barely enough room for baby crib and all our luggage, They would not honor our request for a free room upgrade even though we are Hilton diamond members. Beach is small with lots of seaweed. Walls are thin enough we can hear others in adjacent room coughing crying etc. The shower is very small, no bathtub to bathe a young toddler. Hot water takes a long while to come out of faucet. We called the desk twice and told them the Wifi is not working but all they said was try again in 10 minutes. Still no WiFi. TV is very small. Duval Street was not a family place. Doesn't seem like this hotel is for families either. Won't come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

You are not staying on the Carribean. After reading reviews and knowing that, my initial shock was buffered after seeing the smelly seaweed filled beach. And, after reading the reviews, I was prepared for the small plain rooms.

But I kept telling myself, this is a Waldorf? It should be a Hitlon ... except for the staff.

If it wasn't for the Blue Pool/Beach staff - this hotel property would fade into an overpriced hotel. The boys at the pool/beach - elevated the experience for our family. They were friendly and always found a spot for us - then there is popsicle time, cucumbers, fresh fruit, drink of the day, cleaning your sun glasses ... excellent service./

I found the housekeeping service horrible. We had TWO rooms for 7 nights - and most times, we would return to our room between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m. --- after being GONE all day --- to a room that was unserviced. So I had to call, and then LEAVE again - when what I really wanted to do was shower and get cleaned up for dinner.

On our LAST night, we finally received a "welcome" letter in our room ... seriously??? And a schedule of when things happen. I had no idea they showed movies at the pool in the evenings, or had games in the "activity" pool [another issue - our first day we set up at the 'activity pool' only to be annoyed by scuba lessons for two hours so we switched pools]. That welcome letter (in both rooms on our 7th night) would have been SO SO SO helpful on day one. Why not give it to the guests at check in??

I did find the front desk staff to be VERY friendly and helpful - not saying anything bad about them.

Overall, I found that the staff made this average hotel into a better experience. And I traveled with an 18 year old and 13 year old - neither complained about the walk to Duval Street for dinner - it actually felt good to walk after a lazy day at the beach and pool.

The jet ski tour was awesome - a highlight. I had to take my son and he wasn't thrilled with my lack of agressiveness on the water. But Tom (the guide) had no problem with taking over and giving him the ride of his life.

I feel I'm being more negative than I intended. Yes, I would stay there again knowing what I now know. But the rooms need upgrading. Since we had two rooms - I can say - one room had a shower, one room had a bath. Both rooms overlooked a parking lot. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: I think you pay for what you get here .... ocean view would be important to me now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annierose-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed in the Ocean View Suite, which was very roomy and had a great view of the Atlantic. The service at the resort was excellent, but was especially great at the pools and at the watersports facility. Mark Gray, who is the director of operations of the pool/watersports, went waaaaaay out of his way to make our stay great. When my wife's luggage was delayed coming in from the airport, he made sure that we had all of the essentials to start enjoying our stay until the luggage arrived. The jet ski tour is highly recommended...Tom and Ray did a top notch job teaching us about some of the history of Key West. The onsite dining was really nice too...many of the wait staff are pleasant young exchange students from other countries, like Richard from South Africa (our favorite). Oh, and we were also really impressed with the cleanliness/maintenance of the hotel, beach, and pools. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammondsport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

For that night time drink and maybe dinner, sit at the most beautiful bar over looking the beach ocean and two pools. Its nice in the daytime too but I like it best in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Meals on site great, view great, beach not as great as hotels internet shows. If your wife takes a bath, she is out of luck, no bathtubs. Expensive Ocean view suite was tiny, extremely poor tv picture quality on both cheap sets. Our room in the suite building was disappointing to the previous hotel on Marco Island. For the cost for two nights we were highly disgusted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLB3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear JLB3460,

Thank you for your review. It is imput like yours that helps us continually improve our guests experience. We will share all of your comments with our management team in regards to the facilities you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.6 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing