We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with the On-Beach Massage!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the On-Beach Massage!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We are regular participants of couples massage therapy back home. Although we prefer hot stone, in lieu, my husband prefers a regular Swedish massage and a deep tissue for me.

As we did not stay in this resort, I did not want to rate this review based only on one service that was experienced; on-beach couples massage. I would rate the couples massage an overall, generous 2 of 5 stars because my husband's massage therapist (Heather from England) was "better" (though the have never seen a regular Swedish massage done with heavy chopping and deep tissue work) than mine (Livia or Olivia from Italy) who had no interest in performing the massage much less the deep tissue massage that was requested and few areas of focus. Livia tended to lack focus and enthusiasm. She primarily shook my body from side to side, and played with my long hair excessively twisting it round and round. She was ok with the neck and foot massage. She did not focus on my tight calves at all but oiled me there ever so lightly and finished before the time...and shook me back and forth again while she watched Heather finish her heavy chopping. She did not tell me she was done either... Not worth the $250 though I am glad that it did not cost more that this fairly normal cost.

The sound of the waves, swaying palsm, and gulls were nice, although, their tikis were located in the "Activity Area" where a very large group of jet ski tour group was getting their orientation from a very giddy and loud guide for a very long time...the massage therapist even commented on the length of his speech... This was on the right side on the beach. Left side on the beach was the sun bathers and lots of screaming kids and a long dock with crying kids where parents were trying to get them to try swimming. The back side was a walkway to the activity rental building where people walked back and forth but that wasn't bad. Directly behind the massage tikis was the volleyball play area and kiddie play area with little games where kids screeched on and off. This was expected but the quality of massage from a Waldorf Astoria Resort is unexpectedly and extremely disappointing.

We will not do this again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank bassein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear bassein33,

We have passed on your feedback to our Spa Team. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality, I am very sorry that you did not have a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    1,725
    1,007
    530
    371
See reviews for
1,875
3,306
97
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The grounds were beautiful and safe but this hotel needs a lot of work in terms of service. The front desk was perfect. However everything else was poor. The restaurant for breakfast and the pool had beyond inferior service. Housekeeping was horrible and would not clean well, stock the rooms poorly and very inconsiderate. And the manager Maria must learn how to deal with situations. This is the first time I have written a review because I was very disappointed. I would probably stay again if I went with my kids( because the resort was so safe) but not without them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our family enjoyed our recent 6-night stay at Casa Marina. We loved our ocean-view suite and were close to both the beach and the pool. The service, especially by the beach and pool, was excellent, and this made our stay even more pleasant. The concierge was very helpful in suggesting activities and water sports for our family, and we loved the snorkeling and dolphin safari.The resort is about a mile from Duval Street shops and restaurants, and is an easy walk in the evening.
This is an older property, and Key West is a casual vacation spot. If you are looking for urban luxury of miles of sandy beaches, this is not the place for you.
Our family had a great vacation, and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Overall a very good hotel and resort! The pool and beach area are awesome and very family friendly! Every couple of hours there are things happening: activities for kids, complimentary drink of the day, frozen towels, cucumbers for your eyes, sunglass cleaning, and wait staff to serve drinks/food from Sun Sun restaurant. Much pampering! The only complaint we had is that there is only 1 bar for staff and customers so the delivery of ordered items often took longer than if we went to bar ourselves. However, Server Chantel was able to deliver promptly and attended to us superbly. Prices at the bar/restaurant are high (but so are all of the prices for food/drink in Key West!!). A Happy Hour 2 for 1 or discount would be a nice touch. Use the on-property activity service (Barefoot Billy's)...excellent service and fair pricing. The waverunner tour was amazing and nicely priced; reserve bicycles early or later in the afternoon otherwise they are all rented. Best way to see Key West and Duval St. is via bicycle! Reserve pool chairs early in the morning...staff will set up towels and umbrellas upon request. We had a room in the older part of the hotel so no water views, but the room is well appointed, decorated and modern. Our housekeeping was good, but did forget to restock toilet paper, and they brought it quickly when we called. We had a problem with our safe, but staff resolved it immediately (it was late at night too). No Microwaves in rooms, but small fridge that is not fully stocked...for us we liked this so we could fill fridge with own needs. Our friends had a room with balcony and 2 beds. Great view, but room felt a bit less spacious than our king. At first we thought the service at hotel was mediocre (especially at restaurant), but we soon learned that despite the high pricing of food/drinks in Key West, service isn't top notch. Our flight out was not until the evening and the hotel was very accommodating in allowing a late checkout, offering for us to use pool until we wanted to leave, although there is no changing room with shower. This would be a nice touch as well! We read other reviews for this hotel and see people complaining about this is "not a Waldorf". It may not feel that way if you've been to other Waldorf hotels, but it is a great resort for an island destination. The grounds are beautiful. Beaches are not common at Key West hotels and this place has a nice 1 with beach chairs, umbrellas, hammocks, a pier, swim platform off the pier. We didn't get into the ocean or hang on the beach because there was a large amount of sea grass that we saw all around the island. Barefoot Billy's staff said this was unusual, but expect such things when you go to a warm, tropical, island destination. Best Happy hour we found was at Alonzo's...all drinks and appetizers 1/2 off!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Whether you have a three days or a month, Casa Marina is the place to go. Relax on the beach or at the beach front pools each complete with towel service, drinks, and dining. Take advantage of the many activities offered by the Watersports, Beach and Pool staff. For those on the go, you can rent a jet ski, take a tour of the island by water, rent bikes, parasail and that is just a few activities they offer. For those who like to stay close to home or have small kids, every day offers a new activity like jewelry-making, painting seashells, pirate coin dive, and swimming races. The staff is friendly, and fast, attending to your every need. Be sure to say hello to Mark, the outside Director who will make sure you have what you need to enjoy each and every day. This type of service is VERY hard to find these days so my suggestion, check out Casa Marina for yourself. You will never want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I reached out early to Evelyn Summer (VIP Manager) and Cathie Henning (Concierge) to help me plan my trip and they were wonderful. Cathie set me up on water activities and Evelyn made sure my accommodations were just right. Thanks to you both.

Things I liked about this hotel

1). The Private Beach
2). The Full Gym
3). The distance to Duval St. I love to walk, so about a 20 min walk.
4). Maid service was great.
5). Room was awesome.
6). The Staff

Dislike:
1). The walls are paper thin.

Not a 5 star hotel in my mind, but definitely a 4 star. The staff is really eager to help, but you have to do some work on your end as well. Reach out them and be friendly.

Here are some restaurant suggestions

1). Blue Heaven
2). Better than Sex
3). Camiles
4). Banana Cafe
5). El Siboney

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRalegih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We read a series of reviews prior to our trip and they seemed pretty negative . We were concerned and actually phoned the hotel ahead of time to find out if there was any truth to the stories, for instance, of the rooms being no better than dorm rooms.
I am very pleased to report that the hotel, we are in the main building, third floor, is terrific. Very comfortable, large, well appointed rooms. Our kids are in an adjourning room. The food, the staff, the waterfront staff and the entire place has made for a great visit to Key West.
I recommend this place and would be pleased to be coming here in the futer.

Room Tip: Main building, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.9 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing