We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort for a honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon (using HH points). What an impressive lobby and beautiful architecture! We were welcomed most warmly by Tim, the valet attendant. Kudos to Tim for making a fantastic first impression! The front desk attendant congratulated us on our honeymoon, but the comment about funding our entire week+ long stay with Diamond status points warranted only, "wow, you must travel a lot". I have received warmer welcomes from Hampton Inns...a little bizarre in my opinion.

We had booked a junior suite and requested it be off the first floor, and upon arriving at our room, we found that it was, indeed, on the first floor. The layout of the room was not to my expectation: I thought I would be able to have the option of opening a window/the slider to have the natural air versus air conditioning. Because we were on the first floor, we did not feel comfortable doing that, plus the slider and patio were immediately next to a heavy foot-traffic area. When I called to inquire about switching room locations, the staff was amenable and upgraded us to a king suite on the top floor. They were courteous and this particular front desk person made us feel more valued for choosing the Casa Marina for our Honeymoon and congratulated us several times on our recent marriage. So, onto the next room...much, much better! This room was definitely more what we were expecting from a suite although I do concur with what many of the other reviewers have said regarding the resort not having that "Waldorf feel". I think this is a good thing because this was in Key West and therefore a more laid back atmosphere fit the island better.

The pools were great, and the staff was fantastic. The poolside bar service was impeccable...very possibly the best pina colada on the island. There was a small bar inside the lobby that advertised an absinthe tasting but it was very difficult to actually find someone who would provide this for us. I'm not a fan, but my husband very much wanted to have one of these gross things. When we did get someone to help us with the tasting, the menu looked very creative! My husband was quite happy with the variety of options and was satisfied.

Beautiful grounds, beautiful beach, beautiful pier, beautiful setting. Please do not forget that Key West does not have natural sand due to the coral. Therefore, do not come here expecting a soft-sand beach experience unless you want imported sand at one of the public beaches. With one of the only natural beaches on the island, the Casa Marina does not import sand, yet maintains the natural integrity of that part of the island. This should be commended. Wear flip flops so you don't hurt your feet. It's too beautiful for that!

One last thought...no need for a vehicle although the parking situation is very convenient and secure (albeit expensive). Rent bikes instead! We walked most of the time, and the distance to the “action” part of Duval was a little far for our taste because we like to go back and forth from activities to the room (we are both 30yrs old and in good health, so keep this in mind if you are like us and enjoy making multiple trips to the room throughout the day - rent bikes). FYI the trolley also makes a stop right at the entrance of the resort!

Room Tip: Top floor is the best if you want to sit on your balcony and not hear chairs scraping against the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirlNH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,780 - 4,786 of 7,288 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Casa Marina! It's worth the extra money to upgrade to a ocean view with balcony. I admit it was pricy but I thought it was well worth it. The staff was accomodating and it was a great time. I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear 175beach,

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I'll cut to the chase right away: Branding this hotel a Waldorf Astoria was a major reach (and mistake) by Hilton, and while a nice hotel, it failed to live up to those inflated expectations.

The Good
- Gorgeous old building built in the 20's. Love the dark hard woods and flowing white linens.

- Great location- right on the water, slightly tucked away from the craziness of Duval street but in walking distance to several good restaurants.

- Pool area is very nice. Palm tree lined walkways lead up to dual pools each with a great view of the ocean.

- You actually get amenities for the resort fee- drink of the day samples and free ice-pops at the pool, sun glass cleaning (sounds funny but it was a nice touch), internet access, etc.


The Bad
- Service, overall, is sub-par. I'm not someone that needs doors to be opened for them and to be spoiled rotten. But when I'm paying for a place where that level of over-the-top ridiculous service is expected, well, I expect it. The doormen/valets seemed overwhelmed at times. The front desk staff, (especially the manager(?) Ramon) was more or less useless and seemed like they were being forced to be there at gunpoint (for example, I asked him how he was doing, and I get a sigh and shoulder shrug in response). Terrible body language. The waitresses at the pool are all but absent and terribly slow. The bright spot was the concierges, both within the hotel and poolside. They were friendly and helpful.

- The room we were given had it's windows painted shut (for "hurricane protection" they claim...b.s.), so there was absolutely no fresh air circulating. The room at times became musty as a result, and we weren't able to enjoy the great weather from our room.


This is a very nice place, and we did enjoy our time here. However, given the high price (whether that be cash or Hilton Honors points) this place is being sold at and the fact they they're branded a Waldorf Astoria, the service was a big letdown and overall I expected a bit more out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Thank You for making my trip a memorible experience. All of you contributed and need to be recognized for doing such a wonderful job..Your Resort is top notch in my book and with great thanks to the people like yourselves who "make a difference". Patrick and Mark on the beach, Darrin, Nate and Dan working hard behind the bar, and Ann for setting up all of our reservations for the week....Your guys are a great team, keep up the great work and we'll see you on our next Key West visit..

Room Tip: Closet space is extremely limited for 2 guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcappio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our 3rd stay at the Casa and while the beach & pool area remain the top attraction, the fitness center is outstanding, however the rooms are average at best. We were in the 3rd floor of the main building with a oceanfront view, however could not enjoy the fresh sea air as the windows were painted shut. The room only had one sitting chair, but plenty of open floor space. Would have been nice to have another chair so we could both sit and read in the morning while enjoying coffee.
Food at this resort with regard to lunch & dinner is limited to the beach "restaurant" & bar, quite overpriced, and not very impressive.
As mentioned, this was our 3rd stay...started out when it was a Wyndham property..and that was the best!...2nd stay was when it was owned by somebody else, and now the 3rd time it's a "Waldorf"/Hilton. It certainly leans more towards the Hilton side of the family.
We came over here after 6 days at the other end of Duvall, so we do enjoy the peace & quiet of the resort, however it's really not worth the inflated prices they are commanding.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dancincpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Mark Gray did a great job of helping us today. He recommended a couple of places to eat and made reservations for us.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank kathleen721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This isn't your typical Waldorf, but it is also Key West, where everything is a little more laid back. I definitely would not say it is a 5 star resort, but hotel wise it is the best option in key west. The standard rooms face the parking lot or the street. There are 2 pools, which have waitress service. They have a private beach as well, and they will set up your chair for you at either the pool or beach. However, the beaches in key west aren't that great. Because there are no waves the sand is shelly and rocky, and the water is full of fish and algae, and to be honest it smells a little bit. But that is key west, not the fault of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good, and ample outdoor seating. The pool bar menu was a bit limited, but not a deal breaker. The sister property next door, The Reach, has an amazing steak restaurant, The Strip which I highly recommend. The drinks are good, free NY Times 7 days a week (even Sunday), and the gym is awesome for a hotel gym. Bottom line, probably not up to Waldorf standards, but the best hotel in key west.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yankeetravels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 km away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.2 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
2.2 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $358 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing