We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Key West, best service in Key West, highest prices in Key West!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The beach, the breakfasts, the outside beach service are amazing. The inside needs some renovation, the hallway carpet is old & dingy & the room itself is nothing spectacular, but the views are. Rocky beach, but I recommend the 27 mile jet ski tour through the hotel. Great guide, they let you drive full throttle & you see the entire island from the water. We did come back to this hotel twice, it really is the only good beach option there!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Jennebk,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you could come soak up the sun! The weather has been amazing. Summer is still here in Key West and it sounds like you made the most of it. We hope you can come back soon.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,912 - 3,918 of 7,511 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nights here in 1st week of October . We had one of the ocean and pool view rooms with the private deck. Greet view , room was clean, bathroom a little small but it is a very old hotel. The grounds are very nice. Two pools, one adult only (thank you) and a bar and restaurant on the water. Close to all the action on Duval street if you want, a quick $7.00 cab ride. It was too hot to enjoy the private deck, spent more time at the pool. Later in year, with less heat, the deck would work better. We enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lcoldwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay at the Casa Marina Resort.
We are so pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable visit for your first time in Key West! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Casa Marina Resort sometime in the very near future.

Sarah Franks
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for a few nights to sample Key West. Really no complaints about the hotel. Everyone was very nice, but there was a slight (and again, i'm being picky as it's a swanky place) sense of a bit tired in the rooms, partly driven by salt air/sand effect on any residence. But not serious! One day i saw an employee spraying the hallway (which has carpet ) for bugs/critters. Walking down the hallway, the smell of the chemical was strong enough that I found it uncomfortable. I guess that was better than encountering the creature he was spraying for. The hotel has lots of activities to choose from. We enjoyed renting bicycles the most. The best cocktail we had the whole time in Key West was the Casa Key Lime Colada. The pools were nice, but sometimes they were a bit short on towels. Overall, the resort has a great beach/pool setup. It makes the place appealing - the convenience of pool/beach/food/bar/facilities. I would return here. It's not the charming B&B approach to staying in Key West but it's a very nice place to stay. We walked around the neighborhood and felt our setup (beach/pool/parking/privacy) was preferred to any other similar place we saw. We found the valet parking very easy and fast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank travel99ventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a blast at Casa Marina and hope to come back for a longer stay. We stayed at the Hilton Key Largo for two days when we flew in from Miami and then spent two nights here. The staff at this resort is wonderful. I kept telling my wife that I can't understand the negative reviews. Our ocean view room was LARGE and CLEAN and had every possible amenity I could have asked for. The bellman even told us why the bathroom was so small. You are staying in a HISTORIC property and these rooms didn't even have bathrooms when it was first put into place. This adds to the charm and I can't say enough good things.

The pools were warm and the beach attendants were perfect. I was never pressured to tip them although I know they will accept tips. Plenty of activities around if you wanted to have a beach day and plenty of cabs available if you want to head into town.

The only two cons for me was the fact that it was necessary to take a cab into town. We walked as far as the southernmost point and the Hemmingway house but that was about a 30 minute walk. If you're ok with that you won't need a cab. Also, one option is to walk into town and take a cab back. It did sting to do that when we were paying $20 to park per night and still needed to use alternate transportation.

The other negative was the drink prices and some of the food quality. It was going to cost $40 for breakfast no matter what. I wish there was a value option for someone that just wanted a lite breakfast. And, for a frozen margarita and a glass of wine (both in plastic cups) it ran me nearly $30 after tip. I certainly understand that the Waldorf Astoria is a high end resort but even for that I felt it was a little high.

However, the staff didn't seem to have a problem with us using our soft sided bag cooler on the beach to BYOB. That's a big plus and an alternate option. Finally, I did order the hot wings on the beach. I'll pass next time. Just not good. But the fish tacos were amazing!

We will be back!

Room Tip: spend the extra for an ocean view room. For the price the ocean view without balcony is centrally lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtsublueraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Matt was great in giving our large group a guided tour through the keys on a jet ski. We would definitely recommend him and would definitely go out again. Barefoot Billy's is the best choice for jetski tours on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetD512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I can't say enough about the pool staff who were all great, but especially Daniel who tops my list of the staff, he goes all out to make sure all you needs are meet. He helped make my first trip to Key West a great one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel seemed newly remodeled, rooms were very nice, concierges were very helpful... Loved the sand art dragon out by the pool.... Daniel and Patrick (hope I got his name right!) were very friendly and attentive at the pool, they handed out giant Popsicles and frozen wash clothes in the afternoon to help beat the heat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 km away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
262 reviews
0.4 km away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: C$456 - C$920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing