We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn in the heart of Key West”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn in the heart of Key West”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We only planned one night in Key West. After checking out some reviews, I decided on the Gardens Hotel. The purpose of our trip to Key West was mostly for the drive (best part was between Islamorada and Key West) and to spend a day visiting Key West. We did not need a place on the beach since we were already staying in Fort Lauderdale on the beach. The Gardens Inn met all our needs. Perfect location, about half way (walking distance) between both sides of Key West. The B&B was charming and well maintained. The reservation service by email was prompt. They also made a reservation for me for supper in advance of our arrival. Upon arrival, we were lucky to have our room ready at noon so we dropped off our bags before setting out for lunch at the beach. The room was on the lower level of one of the separate buildings with its own private sitting area on the veranda. It was a Garden Room. Nice size room. King bed. Very clean. Quality linens and towels. Nice island feel decor. The bathroom was clean, a little outdated. We enjoyed a drink and a swim in the pool and hot tub at the very end of the afternoon. Pool water was a nice temperature. They supply sun tan lotion in the room and by the pool which is a nice touch if you forgot yours. Had a great sleep after a full day of travel, walking and drinks and dinner. I was awoken around 6am by the sounds of possibly the garbage truck, backing up and then again, by the people upstairs around 7am..walking around but nevertheless, I was able to relax in bed until 8:30 am. The rooms all have nice wooden floors so this is to be expected. I am sure even if you walk on the lower level, people could hear you next door or upstairs so I don't think it makes much of a difference if you ask for a lower or upper room. We enjoyed a nice breakfast by the pool and gardens (fruit, yogurt, toast) and you could order eggs. Lots of little tables available. You could also eat indoors, weather dependent. The main house had a nice sitting area/parlor and a nice wine bar (you could purchase wine by the glass). Wasn't there long enough to take advantage of that! Had time for some more shopping along Duval St. before 11 am check out. Would definitely recommend if it fits your budget and you are looking for a central, quieter location. Hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Worth splurging on some of their more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    132
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
78
1,233
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I took a quick and much-needed break this past weekend. Having had done his "homework", my husband booked this quaint, little inn because of the reviews and its proximity to everything. He couldn't have chosen better if he tried! When we went to check in, instead of just taking our information and handing us the keys, we were given a glass of wine and escorted to our room by way of the wine dispensary and the pool. Erika explained how things worked, the times things happened (breakfast, gates locked, etc.), and how to contact anyone, if needed. As we got to our room, she apologized for such "a small room" (which was truly, more than adequate!)
Our room was one of the farthest from the pool area. It was a very comfortable size, EXCEPTIONALLY clean, and very quiet. It was right next to where we parked the car, so it was very convenient.
The staff was efficient, and extremely warm and friendly. Everyone treated us like gold, and there wasn't anything they wouldn't do for us.
The only negative i can say is that in our three nights there, two of them had events open to the public: one a paid fundraiser; and one a weekly, live jazz band. The Hotel made it known that as their guests, we were more than welcome at a paid fundraiser (with open bar and never-ending appetizers.) Some people may find these events a little overwhelming if they are expecting the serenity that the garden areas suggest.
Would I recommend this to anyone? YES, most definitely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We do host several events throughout the year and try to keep our guests informed via confirmation letters, newsletters and the like. Our Jazz on Sundays is a main stay for locals and guests alike! Last week Broadway diva Terry White stopped in and sang a few songs! The other event during your stay was the 2102 Equality Florida Key West Gala. This Annual event raised 156K this year in just 2.5 hours and honored our local Commissioner, Mr. Jimmy Weekley for his efforts for full equality. Key West has One Human Family as it's official slogan and I am so glad you were able to participate in this event. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and a part of, if I may. Each event is carefully thought through for the possible guest impact as you our guest are our top priority. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Sunday evening from 5-7pm offers great jazz in the garden. Offers wine tasting and bar. Music and ambience great, but don't ask for drinks beyond the very basic. Can't make a cocktail to save their life. Common problem in KW unfortunately. Stick to wine or beer and you'll have a great evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiankayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
I find your review quite interesting. Key West has one reputation as a adult beverage town, another reputation as a great arts destination, and of course our reefs. Many wonderful attractions bring guests from all walks of life. With regard to drinks, Key West usually over pours. Here at the Gardens Hotel we offer a d'Vine Wine Bar with over 35 different wines from around the world and a top shelf, full liquor pool bar with many specialties such as our Gardenia, the Mojito, Pina Colada, Margarita's and a myriad of Martinis. It would be most helpful if you had listed the particular drink. I would have then spoken to our bartenders to see what we can do to not have this happen. We strive to anticipate and exceed and can only do this when you let me know at the time, not in a review after the fact and without proper information for me to address your issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed St Pattys weekend. Place is very nice and tropical, nice pool and breakfast, loved the wine room and employees are very nice. A few negatives, we stayed in treetop room which was very nice with nice balcony. However when I opened the closet, the door handle fell off and bathroom door did not shut unless you slammed shut. Constantly workers everywhere working on palm tree that had yellow tape around it. These are minor complaints, I'm sure the next time we go back it will be 100% again! Still had a wonderful time, would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vekeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your return visit! From time to time we do have to do maintenance that is required, this case being brick work, electrical and water lines. We had to get this done in two days and hence had the crew working fast. The Canary Palm is a center focal point of the Gardens and has to be worked around very carefully. I am sorry about the timing but glad you understood. When I read your review I immediately sent maintenance to your room and addressed each issue. I also met with our housekeeping staff to assure that these among other items are addressed each day in every room. We do hope to see you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This place was absolutely wonderful. It is only a short walk from Duval Street and therefore perfectly located, you don't hear the noise of the party on Duval, but can walk there in just a few minutes. The place is a little garden oasis. Very beautiful and perfect to relax.
All the staff members are very friendly and helpful, and they think of things even before you know you want them. The pool is not big but very nice and every Friday they have a Jazz evening in that area, which was wonderful. Lots of people come to enjoy this, so you might want to get your seat early if you want to see the band. They also offer a special Mojito bar and a some tasty Hot Dogs during this special event.
The room is quite large and very nice. They offer complimentary breakfast in the morning which is great. Every morning they have additional to the actual buffet two breakfast specials which you can order.
I absolutely loved the idea of the wine bar, where you can just try whatever you like, that way you can do your own little wine tasting.
I will certainly return and can recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellalinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Gardens hotel exceeded our expectations. Check in was great with a welcoming glass of prosecci. We took advantage of the coupon on Trip Advisor for the free bottle of wine.
We stayed in one of the Courtyard rooms, a nice size, & were happy with our choice as we were able to sit on the verandah & listen to Sunday night jazz.
All of the staff were friendly & helpful. They show what customer service is all about.
The pool was a wonderful 86 degrees with the greatest floats/rafts ever!. A pillow on each end and easy to get off & on.
We flew into Key West and took a cab to the hotel. No car is needed once you get there. The Gardens is midway between the gulf & the ocean, and a very short walk to Duval Street.
For my husband & I, this is a do-over trip & we will surely stay at The Gardens Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Placestogo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

On a lark, my wife and I drove two hundred miles (with the top down and weather cooperating) for a two day one night stay. Just the drive to Key West was an adventure. We read other thoughtful reviews so planning a Sunday night stay with Jazz and wine by the pool sounded perfect. It was, and it was enjoyable to not only mingle with fellow guests but locals who know something good when they see it. This charming B & B has wonderful accommodations and staff. Erica and Jim were great!

Just a block from the action of Duval Street, you are still far enough off the beaten path to escape the noise of Spring Break yet be a quick walk from the action. Only thing to beware of is tree sap on your vehicle if you park in the lot on Angela Street. We thoroughly enjoyed this one night stay and highly recommend it to those who appreciate the charm of a well-managed and beautifully set B & B.

Room Tip: A first floor room allowed us to sit on our Veranda and enjoy the Jazz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyg07039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Sometimes a one day trip is pleasant and rewarding! Thank you for the visit and comments. I will pass them on to our wonderful crew who all make The Gardens Hotel what it is. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,021 reviews
3.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.3 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing