We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pool Area”
Review of Westwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westwinds Inn
Ranked #42 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Pool Area”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Westwind Inn for our one night stay in Key West. Parking is limited, we were lucky enough to find a spot on the street, directly across from the Inn. If you are not so lucky, there are side streets, and parking garages nearby. The outside of the Inn is well maintained, with many trees, and plants. When we first arrived, I was a little worried that the Inn was going to be very loud, due to the fact that it is located on a somewhat busy street. Once we stepped inside, I realized I was wrong. After a quick check in, we made our way to our room. One of the unique things about this place is that the rooms are similar to individual cottages, which surround two pools. I cannot adequately put into words the beauty of this area. It felt like being in a tropical oasis, complete serenity! The area is completely enclosed with tropical trees, and plants, and beautiful flowers. The pool has a waterfall in the middle. The only downfall I see to the pool area would be for those that want to work on a tan, as the area is mostly all shaded. You will be able to catch some rays by moving your lounge chair around the pool area. The rooms are decorated with a beach cottage theme. Our room had a bed, flat screen, dresser, mini fridge, and a bathroom. The one downfall to the room was the bed. When we walked in we could see two indents in the mattress where many, many other guests have slept. It’s definitely time to invest in some new mattress! The breakfast was served poolside. It included muffins, Danishes, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, and tea. The staff did a great job of keeping the area clean, and well stocked. We found the hotel to be a peaceful place to return to after a wild crazy night visiting Mallory Square, and attempting the Duval Crawl! If we make it back to Key West we will definitely be staying at the Westwind Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweaver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    175
    63
    25
    22
See reviews for
59
301
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Enjoyed the peace &t tranquility while only a short walk from the harbor boardwalk area and downtown. Breakfast is served in lovely surroundings but would have enjoyed more choices like yogurt & granola. Less emphasis on pastries and high carb items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahp995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Room (especially bathroom) could use a bit of updating. Tile floor in need of replacement. A/C very noisy and had to turn off at night. Location is great - easy walk to Mallory Square. Continental bkfst was very nice - some homemade pastries, cereal, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice. Pools are small but very clean - one is heated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeloverNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Westwinds over the St Patricks day weekend. Our room was comfortable with a lovely high bed. The aircon was very noisey and remained switched off at night. We enjoyed breakfast out in the garden, luckily it was sunny. The overall ambience is one of tranquillity and we felt very relaxed staying there. The location was excellent for all the shops, bars and restaurants. We paid for parking on opur first day but managed to find a nearby "box" for the second. Our only comment would be the price, it really is too high for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked two rooms relatively last minute over St Pats day AND spring break! We rode motorcycles down from Daytona bike week with another couple. Pleasantly surprised that we could park our bikes close to us (car parking more difficult I heard). Room nicely decorated and very clean. Two pools to use, we used the heated one and the luscious tropical foliage surrounding it made us feel like we were in our own little paradise. Continental breakfast in the am was good and it was nice to converse with some of the other guests. There is a bike rental store one block over. Also, the port where the catamaran from Ft Myers docks is just 1-2 blocks away. Nice walk over to Duval Street, but have to be a little careful as Eaton Street can be a busy street.

Room Tip: Room 120 affords a lot more privacy, has a little sit down area and kitchenette. Nice area outside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjnjplantcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Westwinds B&B Inn is located in a convenient spot on Eaton Street near downtown and the harbor area. We arrived in Key West via the Key West Express ferry and the B&B is an easy walk from the ferry terminal, even with luggage. The young man manning the front desk explained the B&B setup and operations but did not offer much else in getting our stay off on the right foot. We could not check in until after 2 PM so he recommended walking to the Conch Festival in Bay View Park. The “short walk” was more like 30 minutes and the Festival was pretty disappointing with food trucks serving greasy conch fritters and other marginal fast food fare along with some pretty bad amateur singers manning the stage in between recorded music. We even got panhandled. Definitely not worth the walk. We learned later that the nearby Gallery on Greene Street was having an artist showing and reception, which we would have greatly appreciated being told about versus the Conch Festival. Alas – youth is wasted on the young.

Upon returning and checking in, we were assigned room 202 in a building just down the street. There is a fairly steep staircase to climb so make sure you can manage hefting luggage up the stairs before taking this room – we were offered no assistance by the staff. The good thing about this room is that it is relatively isolated from the other rooms and quiet. The downside is that it is an add-on room with the roof dormers intruding on the space. I am 6’1” tall so hit my head a couple of times. I felt that staying more than 3 nights might lead to a permanent list in my posture! Still, the room has an adequate kitchen and space for two. Nothing fancy but adequate although not the best value at $250 per night. The Westwinds has no parking so add another $13 per day to that total if you have a car. The garage is conveniently located 1.5 blocks away.

The Westwinds has two pools both in very lovely landscaped settings that offer shade or full sun during parts of the day. We used the heated pool option nearer our room, especially with temperatures barely breaking 75 during our stay. Only complaint here are the small bath towels provided that are not really adequate for lounging around the pool.

Biggest disappointment was the breakfast. Westwinds offers probably the fewest options of any B&B my wife and I have patronized. Bagels, a few sweet rolls, 1 or 2 fruit options, and corn flakes are all that is offered along with a hard boiled egg, which they ran out of a couple of mornings. Not great by any means and something they would do well to improve. For dinner, I would highly recommend getting a reservation at Azur, which is just around the corner on Grinnell Street. You can read my review of Azur here on Trip Advisor.

Overall, I would say we were satisfied staying at the Westwinds. The convenient location is a plus and the rooms adequate. With taxes and parking though pushing the cost into the $280 per night range, it’s an expensive stay for what you get. But, that is kind of par for the course in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great base of operations from which to explore Key West! We stayed in room 204 which was small but nice. Just feet from our door was a lovely shaded and heated saltwater pool. Continental breakfast was more than adequate and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Staff was very helpful. We would go back!

Room Tip: Since rooms are all different, it is a good idea to talk to the staff prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.2 km away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 km away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#32 of 77 in Key West
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
858 reviews
0.5 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
919 reviews
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Inn

Property: Westwinds Inn
Address: 914 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westwinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, tranquil compound, charming architecture, lush gardens - Historic seaport district of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Westwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Hotel Key West
Westwinds Key West Fl
Key West Westwinds Inn
Key West West Winds
Westwinds Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing