We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquility Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquility Guesthouse
Ranked #75 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

5th time staying at this property - every Thanksgiving weekend. I highly recommend this location for the quality of the accommodations and super friendly staff. Have always found fellow guests to be open and friendly. Great place to have a low key holiday and easy walk to Duval Street and some awesome restaurants. I will be back!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask to see the rooms - some are better location than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

An awesome place to stay. Great grounds, rooms, and service

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelwoodsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Not perfect, stains on bed spreads, one bed was tilting, but not enough issues to dampen our stay. We were in a two bed room with 3 people total, and the room was nicely finished, with a great looking bathroom, large TV, included fridge, etc..... We had the fortunate chance to meet the owner and found him to be extremely friendly and nice with good advice on where to eat. Didn't interact much with other staff or guests, but room was cleaned nicely during the day while we were out. Great location, VERY quiet, and tho some guys were nude, no one was obnoxious or overly aggressive about it. I would gladly stay here again. By the way, the continental breakfast was great, and tho we did not partake, the cocktail hours were a great idea if you are looking to meet friends!!!

Room Tip: I would suggest a first floor room like I had if possible. Those stairs looked steep with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I just love this place. We think it's the nicest of the three different hotels in the Hobart Resorts. If you are a high maintenance type of traveler who expects white glove service and impeccable decor, this might not be the place for you. But, if you love to relax with friends around the pool at The Oasis, sipping cocktails and laughing while developing lifelong friendships, this could be your place. The Coconut Grove also features a more private pool and hotub area if you want to get away for some quiet time.

The staff is reliable and friendly and will help with whatever you ask. They have bikes for rent - which are great for getting around the island. The offer a free round of frozen drinks for everyone each day, and a simple wine/snack happy hour in the evening that is just more opportunity to connect with people from all over. Then, go out and enjoy Key West, and call the Coconut Grove your home, with easy access to everything that's happening.

Room Tip: Room # 10 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim69_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My partner and myself spent a weekend in Key West for the first time and chose to stay at Coconut Grove. We had a very pleasurably weekend. The room was spacious and accommodating. We had the single story rooms in the back (316) it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and attentive, they took care of anything we needed. We enjoyed being able to go back to the resort and relax without the loud music blaring. Overall I could not have asked for a better place to stay. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Only stayed there once so far. I think having the single story rooms is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Me and my partner stay in a lot of bed and breakfasts in the Keys, and this has been one of our favorite so far. The staff here was really nice and they went out of their way to make us happy. We were in and out a lot, but no one seemed to mind. Everyone's attitude was flawless and we ended up lounging around the grounds for a day and it was so great. We would come back here and recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet b&b in the keys

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatfam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson, az
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Two friends, my partner and I just got back on Weds from a week's stay at Coconut Grove / Oasis. We had the Presidential Suite (rm 317) in the one story building. In general, the room was quite nice. I'm glad my partner and I had the non-carpeted bedroom, since carpeting in a humid environment such as this can tend to feel gross underfoot. Two items of note with our room - 1) the large gap under the front door where there is no true threshold (invitation for smaller critters to come in) and 2) the lack of any plates/bowls/utensils in the kitchenette area (we kept borrowing from the breakfast room, only to have the maid take them later on).

The combined grounds of the Coconut Grove / Oasis part of the complex looks very nice, since they are late 1800's buildings with lots of surrounding vegetation. The 3 pools and 2 spas on that side of the street provide ample water playspace, along with the rooftop sundecks.

A few complaints about the pool area - 1) the chaise lounges are cheap, and make you think their going to collapse before you finally settle into them, and 2) the 24-man jacuzzi has no active jet system (I think it needs a major repair), so you're basically sitting in a large tub of hot water. The other, better functioning spa was in a quiet, more excluded area of the property (and was rarely in use).

As noted by other reviewers, the continental breakfast is ok, but could definitely use a little "punch" to be better. Croissants or some other type of danish would be a nice break from their bagels and english muffins. And the food for happy hour could use a bit of an improvement. Several guests wondered if the "soggy potstickers" were even safe to eat (they had been steamed, but were a wet, gummy mess).

Despite the faults, we still found the overall experience of staying here nice, and would definitely be willing to stay again for our next Key West visit!

Room Tip: Ask for room 317 if travelling with 3 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbintucaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#67 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 km away
Garden House
Garden House
#64 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 km away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#15 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.7 km away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guesthouse

Property: Tranquility Guesthouse
Address: 815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Guest House Hotel Key West
Tranquility Guesthouse Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing