We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old style resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful old style resort”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Ibis Bay for 5 nights. Room was clean and and quiet. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Pool was new, right next to the restaurant. Food was delicious. We ate at least one meal each day. menu was varied.

Room Tip: ASk for room toward the bay side, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    359
    213
    97
    111
See reviews for
280
493
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I booked this as a special through Expedia because they offered a suite with fridge and coffee maker for $188 per night. I was a bit concerned about the negative reviews, but thought that most were pre-renovation and hoped for the best.

The location is right on Route 1 before you get into Key West, with lots of neon signs and chain drug/other stores around. There is NO Key West atmosphere at all; it has all of the charm of a roadside motel in New Jersey. The room was terribly laid out. It was actually two rooms, one of which was quite large with an old, dirty convertible sleeper couch. When I called and said we needed the couch made up into a bed all they did was drop off some shabby sheets and leave them on a chair. Really? For a resort? I had to spend one night on it and my back still hasn't recovered - the springs were broken and prodding me everywhere. The next night my son chose to sleep on the floor instead.

Apparently this room was renovated but if so they wasted their money. It had a cheap, outdated feel.

The pool is a mediocre rectangle surrounded by motel rooms.

The one nice thing was the restaurant, which does manage to have a nice atmosphere and decent food. People actually bike from Key West to this hotel for the food.

If you are going to take the trouble to drive all the way to Key West, stay someplace IN Key West with some atmosphere. This place is not it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMM-TravelCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

i read all of the reviews, and was skeptical, but when i got there, the staff was great, the rooms are nothing special, but suited me just fine. the food was amazing at the stoned crab, and the drinks were just as good! i had no problem with it.

Room Tip: had 308 and went the gravel way through the rooms instead of past the dumpsters
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debdie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After booking 2 nights here the reviews on TA just got worse and worse but we had non-refundable booking so were stuck and the prices of hotels in Key West are ridiculous.
Paid £260 / $290 for 2 nights to sleep in a very small room, also had to pay $10 resort fee on arrival.
Sleep perhaps not really the right word as the parrots woke us up at 5.30am and traffic on road beside hotel was very noisy. Had paid for courtyard room but no other room available.
Hotel is almost 3 miles from Duval Street so you either walk, hire bikes or get taxi as parking is really expensive and difficult to find. At least hotel has free parking.
Room was clean buttiny - one queen bed, two bedside tables, two chairs at bottom of bed under wall mounted tv. No drawers or wardrobe so had to live out of case.
Bathroom had toilet, basin and tiny shower.
Bed sheets and towels were threadbare.
No wi-fi in room, had to get signal at reception lobby or restaurant.
Pool area with sun loungers but have to use room towels as no extra towels provided.
Restaurant on site and meant to get 10% off food and free drink with meal but they conveniently forgot about that when they brought our bill. Free coffee at breakfast time but only in hope that you will buy breakfast in restauran.t.
In UK I would compare this to a 60's holiday camp/motel and have had better quality in £19 per night Travelodge. I realise prices are dearer in Key West but thought this was very poor value for money

Room Tip: Ensure that you get courtyard room and kingsize bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very outdated bathroom. Little parking. 10 minute drive to duval st.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brunette1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've stayed here for 3 nights. First night we were waked at 5:30 AM by a truck and parrots (right across room 501 to 505 'ish). I complained about it and got 2 free drinks (wow! :( ) and told them the parrots think it's sleepy time when there is a blanked over the cage (even when it's sunny). As expected they didn't do it. Second night there was less noise. Third night is yet to come. The bed itself is pretty good! Flatscreen TV is also there. Only downsize is there is no refregirator and a small shower (it's good though!). Pool is very nice and you can rent bikes at the reception (18 dollars a day and any extra day 10 dollars). It's a bit dangerous to ride a bike here but it's ok. The parking prices for cars are REALLY expensive that's why I mentioned there are bikes available.

Room Tip: Do not choose (if there's room) for rooms 501 till 505 'ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurens654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Well- I did read reviews.. too late, but it couldn't be that bad.. WRONG!!! Asked for a renovated room.. It must of been renovated 15 years ago. Couldn't get in shower w/o closing the bathroom door..No Fan so very hot!! Sheets so thin you could rip them, you actually can see through them!! The 100% best part of the place is the restaurant/bar!! The staff was great!! Not much else good to say! No Beach.. Pictures on there web sight are very, very deceiving!!! No closet, dresser, no where to put clothes.. Kept them in suit case!! Air Conditioner was saving grace!! It drowned out the noise of the other rooms!!Plus the construction around the place!! I know the owner is new and he has redone alot of stuff, but he definitely needs to address the rooms.. It by no means should have resort after its name!! would never stay there again!!!

Room Tip: book one some where else!! If we hadn't prepaid through BOOK IT >COM.. we would have moved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 31rustyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing