We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'special' place to stay in Key West”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is a true example of where the customer is king. Nothing is too much trouble, or left to chance and no detail is overlooked. From the complimentary fridge of cool drinks, to the umbrellas or beach towels to take out. The garden is an oasis of calm with a huge hot tub; the bedrooms focused on comfort with their own mood enhancer! Breakfast is made up of home cooked goodies. I cannot recommend this B&B enough and would not consider staying anywhere else if I am ever lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room which was bright and quiet, overlooking the garden. A small balcony enhan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was my first time at a B&B. This place is beyond words. From the Love Birds to the Florida native plants you would have to see to belive.
Where my husband and I stayed you awoke to the song of the birds, what a sound to be awoken to. The staff took care of you like you were their family. Caya and Havanna, the best moscots ever. I booked our room for our next vist before returning to Sarasota. (we have no place like this in Sarasota)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a great 4 night stay in Key West at The Mermaid & The Alligator. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms and enjoyed them all. The home is beautiful and the gardens are lush and so relaxing. The breakfast are good but not fancy. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to come back next year. They know how to run a nice B&B.

Room Tip: I liked the Garden room especially the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was our first time to a B & B and we were delighted. Our room was very eclectic but also
elegent and homey. The breakfasts were delicious and having them served in the garden was a
big bonus. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The gardens were lovely and there were numerous seating arrangements throughtout the grounds; lounge chairs, hammocks, or table and chairs. Loved the two dogs and the birds. We would definetly recommend this guest house and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A delight. Warm welcome. Breakfast cooked specials may not be to everyone's taste if you like cooked style egg and bacon- but the muffins were superb. Garden is fantastic- full of hidden corners. Great plunge pool hammocks and shady areas What a find! Thank youk

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewoman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We very much enjoyed our couple of days here - the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, the garden was a delight, the breakfasts varied and fresh. Well-appointed and carefully thought out. We stayed in the Garden Room, which opened directly out onto the garden and just a few steps from the spa pool. Well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Judging by other comments, each of the rooms has its own attraction but I still recommend the Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wils0ncapelrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was the best bed and breakfast I have ever had the pleasure staying it. The owners and their staff have thought of everything to make one feel at home. From the evening wine tastings to the fabulous home made breakfasts this is a must-stay in Key West. I give this guest house my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
746 reviews
0.5 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,202 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
1.4 km away
Atlantis House
Atlantis House
#1 of 77 in Key West
428 reviews
0.5 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#19 of 77 in Key West
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $363 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing