We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Nearby Hotels
US$336
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$380
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$282
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,174
US$967
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
874
49
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
49
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomaudubon roomtreetop suiteevening wineafternoon lemonadekey limecomplimentary wineplunge poolquicheother gueststhe main housebeach towelseach morningtropical gardenqueen roombreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 943 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We stayed just one night. The room we stayed in was very comfy and the staff was very nice! You are so close to everything but off the beat and path so it was quiet. We would definitely stay there again. It was Fantasy Feast week but found this place on hotels tonight about $80 cheaper than any other site.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon7649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

How lucky that you found us on the web last minute! We're happy you got to stay with us and hope you come back soon! Thanks so much for sharing your experience on TA.

All the best,
Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful and well maintained property. A very comfortable bed and breakfast with helpful, friendly staff in a great location. Would definitely like to stay there again and will return as loved Key West.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, General Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. Our staff worked hard to get everything clean and beautiful again after IRMA, so we're thrilled to welcome our guests back again. We'd love to have you back again on your next trip to Key West!

All the best,
Geri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here from 10/8 through 10/13. This was our second stay and I can say that it exceeded the first! We stayed in the Audubon Room which was nicely furnished with a large bathroom and outside entrance to the garden area. Geri and Rebecca are amazing resources about the island and made several reservations for us prior to arrival. We found the island to be in good shape following Irma and it seemed sometimes we had the island to ourselves! Breakfast is one of our favorite parts of staying here and we were not disappointed as we had quiche, orange poppyseed waffles and frittata along with wonderful muffins,fresh fruit and the excellent coffee while sitting in the lush garden area. We really enjoy how you can relax here especially the aspect of no television in the rooms!This is a unique property with an amazing staff who makes you feel truly pampered! We give this our highest recommendation and will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for such high praise. We were all reeling a bit after IRMA, so it was great to reconnect with our guests, and you were super. Thank you for coming and supporting the island. We hope you come back again soon.

All the best,

Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this place in October, a few weeks after ” Hurricane Irma. The place is beautiful and it give you an intimate feeling with gorgeous lushes grounds. Jerry, Rebeca and Paul were just lovely in a very aspect. I would definitely stay here again for the price BUT if they would do some minor improvements I would be more then happy to pay more money. 1-They should put TVs in the rooms 2- They should upgrade the towels. 3- upgrade the curtains with some black outs for example. The room gets very bright super early every morning. 4-They should add hot cocoa, lime and honey for the tea selection and more of a continental breakfast options. 5-For the five o clock wine I would have loved some cheese and crackers.... a rose type of wine would have been lovely since that is what i drink lol
Thank you Jerry for being so sweet and for giving us a lovely room. Rebecca you were exceptional!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yiliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

You were so sweet to write about your experience. We'll consider your suggestions, although I must say, chances are unlikely that we will ever have TVs in the guest rooms. We have a flat screen in the living room for folks to use, and ipod docks, WIFI, and sound machines to soothe guests to sleep in the rooms. We've had a few skeptics who were pleasantly surprised by how well they adjusted to not having a TV in their room and actually felt it was more relaxing without it! We hope you managed alright without it as well.

The next time you come, please remind us about the Rose wine, and we'll pick some up for you. We're fans, but there isn't enough room on the buffet for another ice bucket. Lime and hot cocoa are easy; honey is always available, so just ask if you don't see it.

Again, thank you for coming down to support our wonderful community and to enjoy this lovely island and place we live and work. It was a pleasure to meet you!

Yours truly,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Greetings from All of Us at The Mermaid & The Alligator!
Thank you for your concerns as we weathered Hurricane Irma. It means a lot to us to hear from you. The good news is every one of us is safe and sound. The Mermaid & The Alligator came through with no significant damage. The garden lost tree limbs and foliage, but all in all, we were very fortunate and feel oh-so grateful. We are working on getting everything ready to receive guests October 1.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank BarryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews