We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Experience ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Key West and stayed 3 nights at The Mermaid and the Alligator. The rooms, house and grounds are beautiful, clean and so relaxing Our room had a private entrance to the garden backyard, it was quiet and super private. The backyard was a beautifully kept tropical garden with lovely spaces to sit, relax and enjoy. The plunge pool was a nice option, big enough for several people without being on top of each other and very pleasant to just sit and relax in after a long day of hanging around Key West. Breakfast was delicious and served in the garden each morning. Overall, a wonderful place to stay that helped to make our getaway perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I'm so happy you took advantage of your location near the plunge pool and garden. The previous owner was a landscape architect who created lovely private spaces throughout the property, perfect for that feeling of getting away from it all. Please come back and stay with us again!

All the best,
Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

My partner and I got married in Key West and chose The Mermaid & The Alligator as our place to stay. We'd never stayed in a B&B before and we feel like M&A set the bar really high! We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room and just like the rest of the house/grounds, it was beautiful, well-decorated, and just made us feel special.

We stayed several days and got to interact with with Geri, Victor, and Rebecca and they were all so accommodating and friendly that they really helped make our trip feel special. We also got to see several rooms, each with its own personality. No matter where they were in the house, they all felt private and secluded.

Don't skip the breakfast! It was some of the best food we had during our trip, and eating in the garden is such a peaceful and relaxing way to start your day.

The whole place felt special. We can't wait to visit again. This may be our new go-to place in Key West.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms. There doesn't seem to be a bad one as they all feel private no matter wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We were thrilled to meet you both and to be a small part of your wedding memories. Please come back again--perhaps on your anniversary, to sip champagne in the garden and celebrate each other! Congratulations again!

All the best,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We stayed just one night. The room we stayed in was very comfy and the staff was very nice! You are so close to everything but off the beat and path so it was quiet. We would definitely stay there again. It was Fantasy Feast week but found this place on hotels tonight about $80 cheaper than any other site.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon7649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

How lucky that you found us on the web last minute! We're happy you got to stay with us and hope you come back soon! Thanks so much for sharing your experience on TA.

All the best,
Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

A beautiful and well maintained property. A very comfortable bed and breakfast with helpful, friendly staff in a great location. Would definitely like to stay there again and will return as loved Key West.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, General Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. Our staff worked hard to get everything clean and beautiful again after IRMA, so we're thrilled to welcome our guests back again. We'd love to have you back again on your next trip to Key West!

All the best,
Geri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here from 10/8 through 10/13. This was our second stay and I can say that it exceeded the first! We stayed in the Audubon Room which was nicely furnished with a large bathroom and outside entrance to the garden area. Geri and Rebecca are amazing resources about the island and made several reservations for us prior to arrival. We found the island to be in good shape following Irma and it seemed sometimes we had the island to ourselves! Breakfast is one of our favorite parts of staying here and we were not disappointed as we had quiche, orange poppyseed waffles and frittata along with wonderful muffins,fresh fruit and the excellent coffee while sitting in the lush garden area. We really enjoy how you can relax here especially the aspect of no television in the rooms!This is a unique property with an amazing staff who makes you feel truly pampered! We give this our highest recommendation and will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for such high praise. We were all reeling a bit after IRMA, so it was great to reconnect with our guests, and you were super. Thank you for coming and supporting the island. We hope you come back again soon.

All the best,

Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this place in October, a few weeks after ” Hurricane Irma. The place is beautiful and it give you an intimate feeling with gorgeous lushes grounds. Jerry, Rebeca and Paul were just lovely in a very aspect. I would definitely stay here again for the price BUT if they would do some minor improvements I would be more then happy to pay more money. 1-They should put TVs in the rooms 2- They should upgrade the towels. 3- upgrade the curtains with some black outs for example. The room gets very bright super early every morning. 4-They should add hot cocoa, lime and honey for the tea selection and more of a continental breakfast options. 5-For the five o clock wine I would have loved some cheese and crackers.... a rose type of wine would have been lovely since that is what i drink lol
Thank you Jerry for being so sweet and for giving us a lovely room. Rebecca you were exceptional!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yiliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

You were so sweet to write about your experience. We'll consider your suggestions, although I must say, chances are unlikely that we will ever have TVs in the guest rooms. We have a flat screen in the living room for folks to use, and ipod docks, WIFI, and sound machines to soothe guests to sleep in the rooms. We've had a few skeptics who were pleasantly surprised by how well they adjusted to not having a TV in their room and actually felt it was more relaxing without it! We hope you managed alright without it as well.

The next time you come, please remind us about the Rose wine, and we'll pick some up for you. We're fans, but there isn't enough room on the buffet for another ice bucket. Lime and hot cocoa are easy; honey is always available, so just ask if you don't see it.

Again, thank you for coming down to support our wonderful community and to enjoy this lovely island and place we live and work. It was a pleasure to meet you!

Yours truly,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Greetings from All of Us at The Mermaid & The Alligator!
Thank you for your concerns as we weathered Hurricane Irma. It means a lot to us to hear from you. The good news is every one of us is safe and sound. The Mermaid & The Alligator came through with no significant damage. The garden lost tree limbs and foliage, but all in all, we were very fortunate and feel oh-so grateful. We are working on getting everything ready to receive guests October 1.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank BarryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
740 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#21 of 77 in Key West
873 reviews
1.4 km away
Atlantis House
Atlantis House
#6 of 77 in Key West
427 reviews
0.8 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 77 in Key West
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $362 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing