We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
889
49
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
49
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room audubon room treetop suite evening wine afternoon lemonade key lime complimentary wine thought of everything plunge pool quiche other guests the main house beach towels each morning tropical oasis queen room breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 958 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017

My partner and I got married in Key West and chose The Mermaid & The Alligator as our place to stay. We'd never stayed in a B&B before and we feel like M&A set the bar really high! We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room and just like the rest of the house/grounds, it was beautiful, well-decorated, and just made us feel special.

We stayed several days and got to interact with with Geri, Victor, and Rebecca and they were all so accommodating and friendly that they really helped make our trip feel special. We also got to see several rooms, each with its own personality. No matter where they were in the house, they all felt private and secluded.

Don't skip the breakfast! It was some of the best food we had during our trip, and eating in the garden is such a peaceful and relaxing way to start your day.

The whole place felt special. We can't wait to visit again. This may be our new go-to place in Key West.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms. There doesn't seem to be a bad one as they all feel private no matter where they are in the house or cottage.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

We were thrilled to meet you both and to be a small part of your wedding memories. Please come back again--perhaps on your anniversary, to sip champagne in the garden and celebrate each other! Congratulations again!

All the best,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We stayed just one night. The room we stayed in was very comfy and the staff was very nice! You are so close to everything but off the beat and path so it was quiet. We would definitely stay there again. It was Fantasy Feast week but found this place on hotels tonight about $80 cheaper than any other site.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon7649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

How lucky that you found us on the web last minute! We're happy you got to stay with us and hope you come back soon! Thanks so much for sharing your experience on TA.

All the best,
Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful and well maintained property. A very comfortable bed and breakfast with helpful, friendly staff in a great location. Would definitely like to stay there again and will return as loved Key West.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, General Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. Our staff worked hard to get everything clean and beautiful again after IRMA, so we're thrilled to welcome our guests back again. We'd love to have you back again on your next trip to Key West!

All the best,
Geri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here from 10/8 through 10/13. This was our second stay and I can say that it exceeded the first! We stayed in the Audubon Room which was nicely furnished with a large bathroom and outside entrance to the garden area. Geri and Rebecca are amazing resources about the island and made several reservations for us prior to arrival. We found the island to be in good shape following Irma and it seemed sometimes we had the island to ourselves! Breakfast is one of our favorite parts of staying here and we were not disappointed as we had quiche, orange poppyseed waffles and frittata along with wonderful muffins,fresh fruit and the excellent coffee while sitting in the lush garden area. We really enjoy how you can relax here especially the aspect of no television in the rooms!This is a unique property with an amazing staff who makes you feel truly pampered! We give this our highest recommendation and will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for such high praise. We were all reeling a bit after IRMA, so it was great to reconnect with our guests, and you were super. Thank you for coming and supporting the island. We hope you come back again soon.

All the best,

Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this place in October, a few weeks after ” Hurricane Irma. The place is beautiful and it give you an intimate feeling with gorgeous lushes grounds. Jerry, Rebeca and Paul were just lovely in a very aspect. I would definitely stay here again for the price BUT if they would do some minor improvements I would be more then happy to pay more money. 1-They should put TVs in the rooms 2- They should upgrade the towels. 3- upgrade the curtains with some black outs for example. The room gets very bright super early every morning. 4-They should add hot cocoa, lime and honey for the tea selection and more of a continental breakfast options. 5-For the five o clock wine I would have loved some cheese and crackers.... a rose type of wine would have been lovely since that is what i drink lol
Thank you Jerry for being so sweet and for giving us a lovely room. Rebecca you were exceptional!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yiliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

You were so sweet to write about your experience. We'll consider your suggestions, although I must say, chances are unlikely that we will ever have TVs in the guest rooms. We have a flat screen in the living room for folks to use, and ipod docks, WIFI, and sound machines to soothe guests to sleep in the rooms. We've had a few skeptics who were pleasantly surprised by how well they adjusted to not having a TV in their room and actually felt it was more relaxing without it! We hope you managed alright without it as well.

The next time you come, please remind us about the Rose wine, and we'll pick some up for you. We're fans, but there isn't enough room on the buffet for another ice bucket. Lime and hot cocoa are easy; honey is always available, so just ask if you don't see it.

Again, thank you for coming down to support our wonderful community and to enjoy this lovely island and place we live and work. It was a pleasure to meet you!

Yours truly,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews