We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$341
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
US$269
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$167
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NYAH Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$297
US$263
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
US$791
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
880
49
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
49
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomaudubon roomtreetop suiteevening wineafternoon lemonadekey limecomplimentary winethought of everythingplunge poolquicheother gueststhe main houseeach morningbeach towelstropical gardenqueen roombed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 949 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

We stay two night in this magical place...what can I say... Wonderful rooms, stunning tropical garden with a beautiful warm swimming pool, amazing staff very kind owner everything in a perfect location! We are going to miss this paradise every single day! See you next year ( is just around the corner) Manuel and Gloria

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

You are so sweet . . . Thank you for your writing about your experience here. It was our pleasure to meet you and to spend time chatting with you as well. We'll look forward to seeing you again! Good luck with your plans!

All the best,
Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over Thanksgiving. Beautiful house and grounds. Breakfast was also great. The staff was attentive and helped with recommendations and reservations. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeffro3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We love the holidays here at The Mermaid & The Alligator. We're so glad you were here to share Thanksgiving with us. Please come back again!

All the best,
Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

We lucked out and were able to get a room over Thanksgiving weekend at The Mermaid. We were thrilled. We stayed in the Bamboo Room this time around. I loved that I could do a bit of yoga on the patio in the morning. Viktor, Geri and Rebekkah were incredible hosts. The breakfast every morning was delicious. Everything about this place is relaxing. I was finally able to hit my FitBit sleep target and then some. I want my backyard at home to feel like these gardens. This is the laid back life with all the right amenities. Fantastic stay as always.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flafreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Key West and stayed 3 nights at The Mermaid and the Alligator. The rooms, house and grounds are beautiful, clean and so relaxing Our room had a private entrance to the garden backyard, it was quiet and super private. The backyard was a beautifully kept tropical garden with lovely spaces to sit, relax and enjoy. The plunge pool was a nice option, big enough for several people without being on top of each other and very pleasant to just sit and relax in after a long day of hanging around Key West. Breakfast was delicious and served in the garden each morning. Overall, a wonderful place to stay that helped to make our getaway perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I'm so happy you took advantage of your location near the plunge pool and garden. The previous owner was a landscape architect who created lovely private spaces throughout the property, perfect for that feeling of getting away from it all. Please come back and stay with us again!

All the best,
Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

My partner and I got married in Key West and chose The Mermaid & The Alligator as our place to stay. We'd never stayed in a B&B before and we feel like M&A set the bar really high! We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room and just like the rest of the house/grounds, it was beautiful, well-decorated, and just made us feel special.

We stayed several days and got to interact with with Geri, Victor, and Rebecca and they were all so accommodating and friendly that they really helped make our trip feel special. We also got to see several rooms, each with its own personality. No matter where they were in the house, they all felt private and secluded.

Don't skip the breakfast! It was some of the best food we had during our trip, and eating in the garden is such a peaceful and relaxing way to start your day.

The whole place felt special. We can't wait to visit again. This may be our new go-to place in Key West.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms. There doesn't seem to be a bad one as they all feel private no matter where they are in the house or cottage.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri L, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

We were thrilled to meet you both and to be a small part of your wedding memories. Please come back again--perhaps on your anniversary, to sip champagne in the garden and celebrate each other! Congratulations again!

All the best,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews