We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thank you to all the team for making our stay at Alexander's so memorable.

On arrival the team just make you feel part of the gang so quickly and once you've experienced your first cocktail hour at Alexander's you can't wait for the next.

Found everyone staying there so friendly and we met up later in the bars downtown and had an amazing few nights out in Key West.

When we arrived we were booked into room 12. It's on the ground floor to the side and just felt a little dark. The bedroom itself is the usual high design standard of all the bedrooms. We were quickly moved to another room upstairs which was more private and had more light - then settled in with a drink by the pool.

Breakfast is positioned in the kitchen and it does look and taste really good. It's an informal affair with people sitting by the pool casually eating the buffet style breakfast and drinking lots of great coffee and juices. Love the muffins. Thanks for wifi, papers and books which are available to use/read.

Just love this place. Favourite guesthouse we stayed in during our trip. It will take a lot to beat the hospitality at Alexander's.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to cocktail hour
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We, my partner and I, stayed at Alexanders this past March for a week, and wish we could have stayed...not another week, but stayed! This was our fifth trip to Key West, and our fifth Guesthouse. We will never stay anywhere else on the island. The staff (now considered our friends...Laura, Charlie, Agnes, Jeff, Aimee and Raul) really enjoy what they do, and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The facilities are excellent...clean, quaint rooms, beautiful grounds, relaxing pool. Really enjoyed making new friends at the daily happy hour by the pool...not a party but a casual, relaxing, social event. And Charlie's cooking...excellent! We have already booked out stay for next year and will definately recommend Alexanders to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My partner and I just spent our second vacation at Alexander's and we have booked again for the same time next year. We are celebrating 32 years together and are looking foward to spending our 33rd here next March. The service is outstanding and the place is impeccable.
There is nothing a guest could want. Laura, Jeff, Charles ,Amy, and Agnes will do anything for you to make your visit a great experience. Happy hour is always fun and you get to meet all the great guests and laugh with the bartenders. Can't wait to get back. We highly recommend Alexanders for an outstanding vacation.
Rick and Bill

Room Tip: We suggest rooms on the second floor facing the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

For my first trip to Key West, I researched on-line a lot of places to stay - and Alexander's always came out at the top. My researched paid off... Alexander's is a comfortable, classy, relaxed guesthouse which has a real Key West feel. The pool area is the best feature. I took a midnight swim every night - under the stars. The pool and deck/patio are clean and well appointed. I stayed in two different rooms while at the guesthouse - both rooms were comfortable and Key West contemporary stylish. (The front porch is right out of a magazine.)
Alexander's is close enough to the nightlife and restaurants but far enough to be quiet. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was presented well. There is a happy hour with wine, etc. One guest told me on my first night that the "Happy Hour" is what every one does. I am more private and opted not to do the Happy Hour - which I felt comfortable doing.
I walked by many other guesthouses and from the outsides of those place, Alexander's would be my choice again. Alexander's is not inexpensive but the old adage - you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Select a room on the second level of any of the buildings.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittenbergbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Because of Alexanders place, I will return to key west. I will never again stay somewhere other than this guesthouse. Rates are affordable. Rooms are extremely clean and very attractive. Grounds are beautiful. Met some great friends while staying. Above all, the staff consists of people who enjoy their job. They are warm and welcoming and make each guest feel as though they have been awaiting your arrival all year. I would recommend a stay here to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We recently stayed at Alexander's for the first time, and were both extremely impressed. Our room was delightful, and had all the amenities one could ask for, and we loved our shaded porch, which was great for relaxing when we felt like getting out of the sun! Even before arriving, I had talked with one of the staff (and she took care of all our restaurant reservations for the four nights we were in town! - Thanks, Aimee!) All the staff were friendly and accommodating. Each morning's breakfast was a treat and happy hour at the pool was fun (and we loved the mojitos :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vestalgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We've just returned from our third visit to Alexander's, and it's better than ever. Lots of new pool furnishings give an already lovely compound a fresh look, but the real stars here are the staff of dedicated and friendly folks who make this guesthouse run so smoothly. Their positive attitude makes everyone feel so welcome. We'll be back next year...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,697 reviews
1.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,163 reviews
1.3 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.1 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St, 1118 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $195 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Alexander's Gay And Lesbian Guesthouse Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing