We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Picturesque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Freedom III

Yankee Freedom III
Book In Advance
US$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the eighth wonder of the world aboard the Yankee Freedom II Dry Tortugas National Park Ferry. Cruise in spacious comfort to Fort Jefferson Dry Tortugas National Park seventy miles southwest of Key West. Our veteran captain and friendly crew will take you to one of the most unique and spectacular national parks in the United States. Your trip includes breakfast, lunch, snorkel gear and guided tour of the largest brick structure in the United States.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Full day trip to Fort Jefferson (Dry Tortugas), perfect time of the year to go as it wasn't too busy. Whilst the trip to/from Fort Jefferson can be long, a beach towel (a must) make a nice pillow. But it is so worth it - the waters are pristine and the historic Fort Jefferson stunning. Be sure to take your swimmers for a dip in the water; plenty of time before/after lunch to do so.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndrewC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    128
    32
    10
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Great Day Made Better by Yankee Freedom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This trip is a must for anyone visiting Key West. The trip starts early; check in and then go around the corner for a Cuban coffee while you wait to board. The crew was knowledgable and friendly and welcomed us aboard. Breakfast was served buffet-style and there was a good variety. The trip takes a while - bring a book - but I really enjoyed just watching the water and listening to occasional information from the crew.

The Dry Tortugas themselves are amazing. I wasn't as interested in the fort as I was the snorkeling (all equipment was included) and the beach. The water was warm and clear and beautiful shades of blue. The waves got a bit choppy, but since you were so close to the beach you could stand up easily if you got overwhelmed. Lunch was buffet style, served from 11-1 on the boat. The food was tasty and it was a nice break. There are two freshwater showers on the boat when you're done with the beach and there are changing rooms on the dock.

The trip back was a little choppy, but they played a video about finding sunken treasure so there was something to focus on. Drinks were available at a good price but I didn't indulge because I was a little seasick.

I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Key West; it was a highlight of our trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Trip from Key West to Dry Tortugas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Io e la mia ragazza abbiamo intrapreso questa gita da Key West con la Yankee Freedom ed è stata un'esperienza fantastica, la consiglierei a tutti, è stato stupendo.

Me and my girlfriend we started this trip from Key West with the Yankee Freedom and was a fantastic experience, recommend it to everyone, it was wonderful

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndreVale24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Republic, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dry tortugas tour is worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Be prepared, it takes a long bumpy boat ride to get out to the dry tortugas on the yankee freedom and back, but the island is so worth it. Snorkeling there is a must and the snorkel gear provided was very nice. The food provided was adequate and the staff was decent. Definitely worth the money (kinda expensive) to see one of the least visited national parks. It has history, nature, beautiful beaches for relaxing, and amazingly clear blue water to swim in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to fort Jefferson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Anyone that goes to the keys must take this trip it is stunning between the history of the fort and snorkeling on the reef it's incredible. The dry tortugas islands are breath taking. The guides and all of the employees of the ship were great

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yankee Freedom III also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida Keys
 

Been to Yankee Freedom III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing