We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Southernmost House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Southernmost House is absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. As much as there is to see and do in Key West, you will want to spend most of your time poolside. I can not remember feeling such depression as when it came time to check out. You will not want to leave! We will, with out a doubt, be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302. Views of pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    99
    35
    20
    22
See reviews for
44
413
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our first visit to Key West. Absolutely lovely! We frequently search for Bed and Breakfasts. How fortunate I was to make a find like this! A great location overlooking the ocean, restful, quaint. The location was very convenient. Our room was lovely; the staff was friendly and helpful. We interacted with Ariel a lot because she was the one on duty when we had questions or needed help. No matter what the question, she had the answer and was efficient and eager to help. We plan to return next year and stay in the same room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 723Susan723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was in vaction mode and arrived to the airport with all my friends on Monday 2/20 expecting to leave the island travel back home to New Jersey. Turns out, I had mistakenly booked my ticket for 2/21. I frantically called every hotel and B&B on the island and was continuously told "sold out" as it was Mardi Gras and prime tourist time in the area. My first call was to Ted Palm at Southermost House with a rate of $350. After calling many more places; I called Ted back and asked him to book it. He was extremely calm, politie and friendly over the phone. I also had to call him once in the cab because there are so many "Southernmost" accommodations and I was not sure the exact location. Ted remeberered me immediatly and told me the diections. Upon arrival Ted greeted me, checked me in, showed me the amazing facilities, brought my bag up and made me feel at home. The room was gorgeous with the biggest king bed and most comfortable I have ever slept on. The next day I enjoyed a leisurly free breakfast on the second floor patio and spent the day relaxing by the infinity pool, beach chairs, hammock, all while sipping great frozen cocktails from the pool bar. Ted was everywehere and did everything. He was the reservationist, guests service agent, bellman, concierge, etc. I assumed he was the manager of the property. All observed encounters with Ted; he was welcoming, ccommodating, knowledgeablem, hospitalble and polite. He is an amazing employee and you are lucky to have someone with such passion for hospitality. I work for HIlton in HR so I know he is a keeper. Thanks Ted for your hospitality! I have recommended this location several tiems over since I have arrived back home to my friends and collegues in NYC.

Room Tip: My room - 203 was beautiful. Shower was a bit strange as it was half enclosed in glass so the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Southern Most and it just kees getting better everytime.We visit twice a year and have never been disappointed.We stay in the same room every time.A great addition to your staff,I must give the highest grade possible to Ted,this gentleman is outgoing always a smile and egar to assist.He made our stay a very joyfull event a great person.We have made reservations for our next trip.

Best Regards
Larry and Cindy

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Three rooms were booked at the Southernmost House for small family reunion and fun in Key West for one week... our time in Key West was complemented by Ted, at the front desk, who adeptly handled every possible question and concern. Ted was very helpful and patient in enabling our whole group to take advantage of so much of what Key West has to offer. The initial feeling you have upon entering this grand historic property is that you are staying somewhere very special, however, the welcoming attitude of the gracious staff makes you understand you are in for a real treat. Ted was the primary reason that our stay at Southernmost House was so enjoyable, as well as the primary reason that this particular property worked out to be so ideal for our family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you enjoy history, elegant architecture and a really helpful staff, the Southernmost House is a great choice. We only stayed one night--our last night in Key West. Remember, it's an old house, and there are creaks and no elevator. So if you are looking for a traditional hotel this is not for you. We found it to be incredibly charming.The pool area is fantastic and a great place to watch pelicans diving for fish. The drinks at the pool area bar are very good.
To be honest, I think they could work on their breakfast selection---but still, eating a croissant overlooking the Atlantic in the morning was a memorable way to say goodbye to Key West!

Room Tip: Room 201 has an amazing porch that overlooks the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChanceUpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at Southernmost House for our 25th anniversary. I must say the house is just beautiful! We had room 103 directly across from the pool. The property is very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were within walking distance of everything but it was very peaceful and tranquil at the end of the day. The continental breakfast was standard; typical breakfast of cereal, fruits, coffee,juice, etc. Everything was plentiful and the staff was very diligent about keeping the breakfast items well stocked.

We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Key West.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.2 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southernmost House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost House Hotel

Property: The Southernmost House Hotel
Address: 1400 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southernmost House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Bed and Breakfast on the Ocean in Key West, Florida. Located on Duval street and within walking distance of Museums, Restaurants, Bars and entertainment. A sophisticated setting located directly on the Oceanfront. The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. Built in 1897 and electricity was installed by Thomas Edison in 1990. The Southernmost House is the 2nd most photographed home in the USA. The most requested location in the Florida Keys for Weddings. The Mansion has hosted presidents, movie stars and writers. Guest must be 18 years or older due to museum pieces throughout the Southernmost House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Southernmost House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West
The Southernmost House Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing