We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“So relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We wished we stayed longer. We were there with only one other group - 1 family in 2 rooms - so it was very quiet around the pool and out at the back. The pool and 'beach' were very nicely done and lovely to relax around. The free kayaks and bikes were great as well.

The staff were also really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigcitylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed K, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your review. The next time you're "on this side of the pond" please come back for a return visit!

Ed Kinkelaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    35
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
298
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just finished staying there this week and I was disappointed. There were many things the resort fell far short to be considered called a "luxury " resort.
The resort's definition of a private beach and mine are miles apart. There is no private beach except a very small entrance by way of rocks and seaweed to get to the ocean. We had to drive miles to get to the closest beach. For this to be a truly luxury resort, there are many small details missing. The landscape and outdoor furniture are beautiful indeed but that is not enough to make this 5 or even a 4 star resort. Having 2 paddle boards and 2 sets of fins/snorkel equipment is also a bit below the mark of luxury amenities.

The other point i need to bring up is the continental breakfast. For the price of the room a more substantial breakfast would not have cost the resort much and it would have gone a long way to truly being a continental breakfast. Yes it was a nice touch that it was brought to the room or by the pool side should you so desire. But a small glass of orange juice, a plain croissant and a very small chocolate croissant with butter and jam is truly a farce for this to even be called anything remotely a breakfast. For a small cost to the resort, providing fresh fruit, and/or yogurt, and/or cereal, and/or muffins and a small pot/thermos of coffee would have made it a memorable and satisfying continental breakfast. All in all I didn't not feel the pricey cost of the room was worth the stay or its amenities.....

Room Tip: Too quiet , not good for families as there is not much to do for children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedheadedLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed K, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our resort is designed to appeal primarily to adults for a stay in a quiet intimate atmosphere. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with our beach. Because our reef protects our shorelines, the Florida Keys do not have large wide and long beaches that you see on the Atlantic and Gulf Coasts. However, it is a great little beach giving a true island atmosphere. Pictures of our beach and landscaped grounds are well represented on tripadvisor as well as on our resort website. We provide high quality amenities in quantities appropriate for our 8 room resort. The continental breakfast is delivered to your room or poolside. It is a relatively new amenity for us and we’re refining the details of what is served for the best experience of our guests.

Ed Kinkelaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Staff was very helpful. Rooms are clean and large. View is great. Grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Best views are from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjbeckwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The grounds are spectacular and it is very private. I realize you do not spend TOO much time in your room, BUT you do have to sleep...it is quite loud if you have a ground floor room and the beds really are terrible (and I am not picky about my bed!) We both woke up with a sore back. We loved the property and friendly folks, but not sure its worth the price...and we tried 2 different rooms.
I'll give the property/grounds an A+ and the rooms a B...someone needs to help them with the set up of the furniture...the beds were right in front of the sliding door which made it difficult to get in and out, no place to hang a wet coat or towel and no place to put toiletries in bathroom. Our first room the sink is in the room...not in the bathroom.
Beautiful place. Layed back atmosphere.

Room Tip: Not ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckeyetravel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just returned from Ocean House, this resort is almost perfect. Very upscale, very private, and very relaxing. The staff went out of the way to make the stay perfect. If you have high expectations, this place is for you. We took the complimentary bikes and toured about 5 other resorts on Islamorada and nothing compares except maybe Checa Lodge, and that place is large, Ocean House is small, only 8 rooms, nice and private. The only negative i can come up with is if you are in a bottom unit you can hear the people above you walking around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pizzazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We just returned from an extremely relaxing and quiet vacation in Islamorada Key at the Ocean House Boutique Hotel. It's recently been renovated, and they did it right! The grounds are beautiful, with a nice clean and very private pool. In addition, the sandy ocean front lounge chairs were so relaxing where you get a nice breeze and endless horizon of the ocean. We kayaked and paddle boarded each morning off their shore and would go down the coast and see all of the beautiful homes and boats. We also had yoga classes available that we did a couple times in the mornings. Everything is so close to the resort that we could ride the hotel bikes down to dinner, or lunch or just to pick up a bottle of wine for our afternoon by the pool. The room was very comfortable and a good size, and very clean. The bed was comfortable as well! Our room looked out onto our patio which extended into their water garden. Amazing flowers including orchids and lots of little white butterflies. The best was having a member of the staff deliver breakfast to our patio each morning while we sat and enjoyed the sound of water trickling through the garden. There is no onsite restaurant, but they will take any order you want, and will run and get it for you. What I thought would take a while for them to do, it only took about 5-10 minutes for our food to be delivered on a basket weave tray on white plates, white linen napkins and silverware. You would never know it's not coming from their own kitchen. I have Celiac disease, and they were extremely accommodating to my gluten allergy. Made adjustments to my breakfast, and ordered food knowing it always had to be g-free. An Extremely Gluten Free Friendly spot!

I highly recommend if you are looking for a quiet very relaxing get away, this is DEFINITELY your spot! The staff Evette, Jen and Brian are the best, and will do anything you need assistance with! It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: I preferred the garden view, over the ocean view. Everyone faces the ocean, but ocean view is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chicagoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending four nights here and it was amazing! This place looks like it is off of a post card. Because it is a small, boutique hotel it was private and oh-so-relaxing! We did make some new friends (hi Sue and Carolyn!) but that was by choice and could have easily disappeared into our own world for our time there if desired. Many previous reviews stated, in detail, all the great amenities Ocean House has to offer so I do not feel the need to repeat. Look at the pictures traveler's post - that is just how it looks in person! PERFECT!!

What really made our stay from "great" to "superior" was the staff!! They bend over backwards to make you happy and relaxed. TO THE OWNERS AND MANAGEMENT: I HOPE YOU KNOW WHAT A GEM BRIAN IS. Brian made our trip so peaceful and smooth and he is truly an asset to the Ocean House. His dedication to the guests and property in general deserves substantial recognition. I know we would have loved the accommodations regardless but our experience was made because of Brian.

We spent almost all of our time at the Ocean House during our four days in Islamorada except when we felt like going out to dinner. And, while at the Ocean House spent almost all of our time outside! During the day we were by the pool or beach. The cabanas and tiki hut provide plenty of shade if you want to be out of the sun but still outside. My husband also had a massage 2 mornings in a private cabana and loved it! Every night after dinner we would bring our drinks down to the ocean side fire pit to relax and star gaze.

The ONLY thing that would have been better would be if we could still have the fire pit on after the staff leaves at night :-/ The staff had to turn it off when they left for the evening. Since Islamorada doesn't have much of a night life we looked forward to doing this and some nights would have liked the option to have the fire longer. But this hardly deters from staying at the property overall.

As for some of the other reviews that were negative about the resort: the complaints about the balconies not being private I feel must be because people like to complain. It is true that instead of having plaster or cement walls dividing the balconies you can just draw a curtain (a very high quality, outdoor-grade canvas). This provides with plenty of privacy -you cannot see through them. Sure, you can hear people on the other side but it is the same way in any other place with a balcony that has concrete walls - you are still outside and can hear a neighbor talking! The perk of the curtain is that you can draw it back and access the spiral staircase to go down to the pool/beach instead of going through the main entrance of your room and walking around the building. As for the bedding being uncomfortable - we thought it was just fine and my husband can be really high maintenance about bedding. We were not tearing back the sheets to read the label of the mattress to go buy one at home or anything but the bed was not uncomfortable nor did we lose sleep because of it.

If you are on the fence about whether or not to stay here - DO IT! It was fabulous. We are absolutely going to be returning, hopefully sooner than later, and can't wait to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Salt Water Taffy Suite. It was on the second floor on the end and perfect! It was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEPHEIFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
2.1 km away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
2.5 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada
Ocean House Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing