We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
284
28
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
28
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespalm treesthe parkerbeach cafemorada bayprivate beachfull kitchenpaddle boardsour honeymoonbedroom cottagelarge poolthe florida keystrading postlow keythe entire propertywatch the sunrisefour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 326 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

If you are travelling south in the keys .. this is a hidden treasure .. probably unheard of until Bloodline the famous Series became a hit.. the beautiful pictures and beautiful home you see are all filmed here.. it is indeed a treasure a beautiful and one of a kind place to stay if you are travelling in the Florida keys

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank darlynec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Thank you for the nice words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This is the kind of place to truly get lost in luxury! (But also you can cross Hwy 1 and be in the mix with people). You get the sunrise on the private villa side and literally 2 min away on the west side you get the sunset. We just stayed at the Russell Villa within the Mooring Villas for a much needed family vacation. It is like having a whole resort to yourself. Secluded, but if you need something it is as someone just appears out of nowhere. Want a a BBQ brought to your villa and voila it is sitting on your porch with all the equipment and charcoal.

They have water equipment, but we brought our own paddle board. We sea kayaked and saw starfish, lemon shark, nurse shark, parrot fish, angle fish, etc. all just right out in front of the private beach. Literally the most quiet and serene experience we have had in a long time.

For those who don't know this fact, The Moorings Villa is where the set of Bloodline filmed 3 seasons (a Netflix original). We are trying to book for a week at Thanksgiving and there is only one opening.

Across HWY 1 you have open air beach restaurant to watch the sunset and Pierre's for high end cuisine. You can't go wrong. There is also the Bass Pro - World Sportman's facility across the street to outfit your fishing trip which also take off right across the way.

An amazing experience, and apparently it has been a relatively quiet and secretive place. Well no more! This place was wonderful and is only a 2.5 hour drive from our house.

**one other thing, probably the most comfortable beds we have slept in ever. We travel quite a bit as well and stay at very high end resort and hotel destinations! Keep in mind this is probably the most humid and hot time of year, but the ocean breeze and extremely well air conditioned villas made the heat a non issue. In these kind of humid villa locations you expect cold but really damp air in the villas, but not at all. Nice dry cool conditions!

I hate to leave tomorrow, but we got lucky as the eclipse tomorrow and the kids' school gave them off, so at least we squeezed one extra day in!

Truly a place to visit. We will be back.

Thank you to Jerome who checked us in after hours as well! What a happy and well executed late arrival in the dark!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank MacMota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Moorings! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

The moment you open the door of the car and breathe in that fresh ocean breeze, you know you have been transformed.

This is one of the very few properties that truly makes you feel vacationed. There is no check-in process, you just go to your cottage, open the door and get greeted by warm lighting, relaxing music, and a welcome basket in the kitchen. Everything is so effortless … minutes in and you feel like you’ve never left.

During the day, a sea of palm trees create a natural shade on the beach. Soft towels hugging comfortable sunbeds, quiet ambiance and a glass of cold Chardonnay puts that Mona Lisa smile on your face … mmmm.

Spacious bedrooms, full kitchen, large living room, but my favorite: white Caribbean style bathroom with an oversized bathtub that makes you feel guilty for spending so much time inside … but you don’t care.

A truly amazing hidden gem that elevates hospitality to a higher level.

Room Tip: Each cottage is different, this way there is something new every time you come back
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VLADcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate your review of The Moorings. We are very lucky to have you as a repeat guest over the years. We thank you for your business and always look forward to welcoming you back each visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

From the minute we arrived in the pouring rain and were handed umbrellas and a six pack of water, we loved every second! We stayed in Mango Cottage which is a lovely 2 bed cottage looking straight out onto palm trees and the beach. The pool was right behind our cottage, bikes and beach equipment could be borrowed whenever you wanted them and the gym was always empty and was well equipped. We loved the laid back atmosphere. It is not cheap but it felt worth every penny... we moved onto a large scale hotel on the Sunny Isles and it did not have any of the charm, joy or ease of The Moorings Village.... Would recommend it to any-one! It is close to lots of restaurants, a supermarket and all the facilities you could want.

Room Tip: Mango Cottage was fantastic but expensive.... if the view is important to you, go for it, it is great!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TheDelightCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your nice review! Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. The grounds were beautifully kept and maintained quietly all day long by the staff. We stayed in La Petite Villa South and were worried that it would be too small. It was beautifully designed & decorated and had everything we needed and more. Our cottage was immaculate and the staff here were all friendly, helpful, & courteous. We rarely saw other guests but when we did we heard the same comment over and over...welcome to paradise! The private beach is quiet, low key, and full of beautiful palm trees and hammocks. We had a massage on the beach in an airy canopy equipped with ceiling fans, lounged by the pool, and were in one of the hammocks each day of our stay. We actually joked between ourselves after the first day and said we would try to find one thing we would change here...there was nothing. We are already planning a trip again next May and know that we would never consider staying anywhere else in Islamorada. Honestly much better than we ever imagined!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hmloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Moorings. We look forward to welcoming you back in May!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews