We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant is awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina
Ranked #11 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Boca Raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“restaurant is awful”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The food is horrible, the service is terrible in the restaurant. The lobster bisque my wife ordered tasted like buttery water. The fried maui sandwich my daughter and I had was doused with so much garlic salt that they were inedible. I asked the server for an iced tea refill that never arrived, this with the restaurant only having 2 other tables of patrons. When we explained the issues with the maui sandwiches to the server, the chef came out and was obviously very angry that we complained about his food. I will never eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keystraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    45
    18
    14
    49
See reviews for
44
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This was my husband & my first trip to Islamorada with friends.
We had such a good time at Smugglers. We enjoyed the live music nightly and playing shuffle board.. Everyone that worked there was so nice and accommodating. The other patrons were also so nice it seemed everyone became your friend instantly. The rooms are clean and the food was great.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Timberkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2007

My husband and I spent 14 days at the marina in a transient slip. The people there were wonderful! We had not intended to spend our entire trip in Islamorado only because they did not have a slip for that period of time. They were able to accomodate our stay for the entire time. After only one day we felt like everyone there knew our name. The marina, hotel, restaraunt was truly indicative of the laid back attitude of Islamorada. The marina had just been sold when were there and was getting ready to go through updates and changes that progress brings. We only hope when we return the serenity of Islamorado remains.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank mimidakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2006

My husband and I have traveled extensively and can unequivocally say that Smuggler’s Cove is one of the worst. The hotel is a dump (I mean this literally as there are areas in back with trash heaps including an old toilet). The rooms are dingy – and I cringe to think of them before the so called “renovation”. The bedspreads are nasty and stained and the shower is gross. There are no amenities which are considered basic even in budget lodgings such as a hair dryer, iron, shampoo. And if you need a cup of coffee in the morning (as most of us do) – be prepared to get in your car and travel. We were only in Islamorada for several days and no other accommodations were available on short notice – otherwise we would have left immediately. It was sickening to be presented with such a hefty bill at check out for this substandard stay. Live and learn!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank NancyFCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2006

Had stayed a few years ago and was pleasantly surprised to find the countless changes in the property. The building, the restaurant, the rooms have been transformed. The on site restaurant is very very good, excellent food and pricing. Overall a great value in a great location.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2004

Its all there good food-Bar-dive shop rooms. Trouble fishing charters. All in one spot and not over priced .

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2002

Great restaurant, bar and marina. Senior mechanic is fair, fast and very knowledgeable. All in all a good place for folks who like to fish and eat seafood. Bad points: lack of hot water in rooms at times, actual rooms are not as "pretty" as pictured in ads, ramp may not accomodate boats over 18' and no weekly rate - you pay the same daily rate whether you spend one night or a week. But I plan to return. Is well sited to explore rest of the Keys and a County park a mile away has plenty of activities for non-fishermen. One of my top choices.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
8.8 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
2.0 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
271 reviews
6.0 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,303 reviews
3.0 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina

Property: Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina
Address: 85500 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 85.5, Islamorada, FL 33036-3400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a resort that includes a hotel, marina and restaurant. We are located at Snake Creek bridge making it easy access to both bay side and ocean. We have many amenities for families, couples or friends trying to have a good time. They include but are not limited to kayaking, snorkeling, diving, fishing charters, boat rentals, and sunset cruises. Our rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada
Smugglers Cove Resort Islamorada
Smugglers Cove Islamorada
Smugglers Cove Resort And Marina Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing