We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Pineville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in Dec 2011 during the Holiday breaks so we paid a little more BUT well worth it and still I think the best bargain on the keys! We had a room on the Blue Fin side with the kitchen. We had service items for 4 which was what we wanted. We could spend our money other places instead of eating out! Floors clean, room clean, bathroom clean. Water pressure in our shower was lower than we have at home BUT that is personal - we like high pressure so. . . It is NOT on the water but so what, we saved money to use elsewhere and it was well worth it. Also, get the FREE WIFI code from office. Place on entering room had a "bleach-chlorox" smell so it was clean. Opened windows and turned ceiling fan on high and within 5 minutes air was just fine!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    63
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
66
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, FL
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My friend Annette and I stayed one night at the Blue Finn side of this motel. We had room 21, right next to the road and the soda machine. I have to say, for the price, $49 with a full kitchen, the room was immaculate and roomy. Only drawback was frequent visits to the soda machine by others staying here, so we kept the blinds shut. Also, in the morning, you could hear the traffic very early. It also is NOT on any beach, but behind it just down the road is the Lorelei Cabana Bar And Restaurant with dining next to the beach and a canal with boats and live music. We walked in, took some photos and left. It didn't seem to bother anyone. If you don't mind a room without being next to the beach, this is definitely a good value. We were suppose to stay 3 nights but decided we wanted something beachside to do some snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Finn side if possible, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 321AreaFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We travel to the Keys regularly and have stayed at several different hotels & resorts with varied rates and amenities and the Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn is one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. When visiting the Keys on a budget (who in their right mind isn't, in today's economy) you wont find a better deal. The owners are friendly, the rooms and property well kept, and great food,drink, entertainment is within very close proximity (Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar is within walking distance)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twisted-Priorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Plains, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We planned on using the place as a place to sleep as we explore east and west and that is what it was supposed to be. We did plan on cooking there and It did not have the cooking utinsils claimed in the reviews. The Linens looked clean but the matresses were due to be replaced as they sagged really bad. The vanity in the bathroom was torn away from the wal a little and the grout was badly discolored. The metal seal on our door was broke away so that you could see a hole about 1 inch by 6 inches on the right side when looking from the inside. The road noise in the unit we were in was not bad could only hear an occasional truck. We had tiny ants in the kitchen and bathroom but if it was in between spraying I can completely understand that in that invironment. The other room had large centipedes which they proptly swept out the door but no ants. It had no kitchen in that room which may explain that. Thier beds were just like ours. The very worst thing was was a guy that had nothing to do with the motel walked up to me and another 2 rooms of guests trying to score drugs the very first night. When we couldn't help him he went to the office to see if they could point him in the right direction. There were partiers everywhere in this hotel and if you want a cheap place to stay that won't hassel you about loud music, you have found the place. Isn't that what the keys are all about. A good time and no hassels. If you get a room with new mattresses and a better funished kitchen or no kitchen you will be very impressed for the money. There are very nice places withing walking distance behind the motel and some stores you could walk to on the road. Its a gem in the rough.

Room Tip: Rooms 23 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed in the Key Lantern Motel for two nights while diving and sightseeing in Islamorada. The place is pretty much what you would expect for the price.

The room was small (the owner made this clear when I booked it though) and basic, but functional. The decoration could have been more inspiring (whitewashed cinderblock walls inside), but it seemed clean, and we had no problems with noise from other rooms or the road.

The guy who checked us in was a bit of a character (he paused from a telephone conversation to tell us "I hate people"), but was helpful enough, giving us a new lightbulb to replace the one in the bedside light and offering to help with suggestions for restauarants.

Although the connection was a bit unreliable inside our room, a free wireless internet connection is available, which is good at this price.

I would have rated the place higher but for one problem: our double bed was very small and a bit saggy. I did not sleep particularly well either night, otherwise I would have rated this place as pretty good for a very low budget option. Maybe it was just bad luck, and maybe the beds in other rooms are better. With just one person, it would probably not have been an issue either.

So, in short: if you get a room with a decent bed then this place is worth considering if you prefer to spend your money on fun stuff instead of hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilTwinSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We have stayed here for 14 years and will keep coming back. Because we spend most of our time fishing and diving, we just need a quiet, clean place to sleep. This is the perfect motel for this.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gofishflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Ok this is not The Ritz it's not even a Laquinta. So don't go expecting 5star service or accomadations. The room was clean and enough for our needs. We didn't do much but sleep there. The water was always hot when we needed it and the kitchen is equipped with all the basic utensils. Would I stay here again? Yea I would. Honestly this isn't my type of place. But I made the best of it and it worked out ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLQ0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
0.4 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.5 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
962 reviews
3.5 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.5 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Inn Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing