We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can you expect for the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What can you expect for the price?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Booked this at the last minute while traveling through the Florida Keys. The place is old and quite run down, but we were expecting it for the low price we paid (sub $100/ night before taxes). Room was in pretty rough shape and wasn't very clean. The ceiling fan had not been dusted / cleaned in ages. Everything in the room was old except for the modern toaster (the room was equipped with a kitchenette). The door piston (mechanism that closes the door automatically behind you) had been ripped off and the door was slightly off kilter and almost had to be slammed to close properly. The facility also advertises wifi,buit it was so weak and unstable that you hardly couldn't use it. The location is pretty good, but the place definitely needs some TLC. Also saw a roach, which didin't bother us much since we've traveled quite a bit and bugs don't really gross us out. Blasted it with sunscreen and stomped it. We just made sure to keep our bags closed.

It was an ok place to crash for a night, which is what we did since we were just driving through to get to Key West. I wouldn't plan on staying here more than a night if you plan to spend any amount of time on the property itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcadianBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    83
    76
    52
    104
See reviews for
97
136
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Let me first start by saying that this is a 2 star hotel, so those looking for a lavish upscale hotel, this is not it. However, if you are looking for a clean place to put your head in a great location, then this is the place! We stayed here in April and had a good time. We did not spend all that much time in the room, but it was fairly clean. My biggest complaint is that during the 3 nights I was there, the room was never vacuumed. The beds were made and the towels were changed daily, just nothing to the carpet. Other than that, the pool was clean...the view was great...and the staff was friendly.

So basically, if you are looking for an EXTREMELY affordable, clean place to stay while in the Keys, Harbor Lights is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I sadly made a reservation at this motel thinking that it was a wonderful place because of all the positive reviews, god was I wrong. I reserved it by phone they told me that it was $118.00 per night and I drove two hundred miles to get there. I think they are racists because I was treated like human garbage. They overcharged me by $72.00 dollars because they originally told that it was $118.00 for the night and then it suddenly became $190.13 per night. I wanted to cancel my reservation and just stay the night because it was already late. My family and I were very tired but they would not let me even though I had already paid one full day. It was my mother's birthday and we had envisioned a wonderful three days at the Keyes. We even asked to speak to a supervisor but they told us that he was not available. Listen to me avoid this place because you will get ripped off!

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We were wondering when this family was going to submit the bad review. We understand that anyone can write anything on TripAdvisor, and we are just happy to have the chance to tell our side of the story!

The real story: This large family of people reserved the smallest and most inexpensive room we have on the property over the Internet. Our standard queen room is ideal for only two people maximum. It is 10 X 12 feet and has a single queen sized bed and private bathroom. Basically it is the size of a small bedroom in a regular house. When they checked in, we told them that they could not fit their family of 6 or 7 in that room. They mistakenly thought they reserved a larger room, but even after we showed them their own reservation details, for some reason it was still the hotel's fault? We rented them a larger room plus another room at a considerable discount, but from their comments it appears that we were expected to keep the single rate for the small room?

Upon the morning of their checkout and ten minutes before checkout time, this lady came down to ask if they could stay for the day in the rooms at no charge. I explained that the rooms they were occupying were indeed rented that afternoon, so we could not extend our checkout time. She left the desk angry. Almost two hours after checkout time they still had not even begun to pack up and they began screaming and cussing at the staff after we threatened to call the police because they would not leave the rooms! It was amazing.

As they finally loaded up and left, they dumped a massive amount of garbage out of their 4 cars all over the parking lot, and called us "Racists" and "White Trash" among other things.

This is the real story. It is just a shame that they can be allowed to post a bad review at all!

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

suffolk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We flew into Miami and drove down to Islamorada and checked into the Harbor Lights for 5 nights....have to say it suited us perfectly,the room had every thing that we required for our stay,fridge ,cooker,toaster,perco,,,etc......comfortable beds,air con...
We were on a 5 day fishing trip and have to say the HL is perfectly situated mid keys,to acsess all the bridges and beaches with just a short drive,bait shops,good bar over the road...
P.S. we caught loads of fish !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddbodSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you so much! We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide everything you need for a weekend or a few weeks, and we are glad you caught fish! Islamorada is definitely the place to catch! Thank you again and see you soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I needed one night for our last day in the Keys. We were staying in Islamorada our whole trip and did not want to go north to Miami or Ft. Lauderdale for the last night. We went to Harbor Lights and inquired about a Friday night room. I knew this might be tough to get due to the weekenders coming into to town, but to our surprise, they had a room available! Todd was more than nice on helping us out (Barkley was adorable!!!) can't wait to see him next year and how big he got! Anyways, we checked in, went to our room, and to our surpise, what a NICE room!! Clean, updated, great view of the ocean and gulf! Loved the balcony! I wish we would have seen this place first, because we would have stayed all week here!!! Pool was great as well!! Very nice location to everything! And very affordable! I definitly would recommend this great place! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for the great review! We are so very happy we were able to get you in that last night of your Islamorada vacation! Baxter looks like he is going to be a 100 pounder!

See you next year!

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I spent 4 wonderful days in the Keys. The hotel is small and very clean. Meet soom really cool people from up North somewhere...LOL the owners are super friendly and they have a golden retriever puppy that my daughter played with. Note to all (No fires on the beach) My daughter had found some drift wood and wanted to know if what her science teacher had told her was true. We still don't know if it will burn blue because we got stopped in the middle of it.??? Anther place and time. But the hotel is differently a keeper for a road trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are so very glad you had a great time at the property! We promise next time to help you complete the experiment (on one of our charcoal grills) on your next stay. See you soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome,Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Three nights at Harbor Lights. Slept well in quiet, clean motel. Comfortable beds, lots of towels. Very good value for the money. Owners/managers were especially helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are so happy you found us! Your review is also a "pleasant surprise" and we really appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.9 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
8.8 km away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 km away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.1 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.8 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Property: Harbor Lights Motel
Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Harbor Lights Motel Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing