We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New respect for Kon Tiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon-Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon-Tiki Resort
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“New respect for Kon Tiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Let me start with I have been to the KonTiki for over 25 yrs, No bull. I have always loved the place becuz it is a hidden gem. I have stayed away over the last three yrs becuz of management. When I am in the keys I don't need to be pestered by employees that don't have a clue and run not a tight ship! I was here with four fishing friends and I was really surprised. The grounds and rooms were the best I have seen in yrs. When the rains came, Ray got a bucket and started baling my boat out before it almost sank. The wealth was the pits and I believe another boat sank as well. The boat ramp is still really great and we we able to launch a nd retrieve a 23 ft boat with a float on trailer, with no worries. The pool is now heated and was almost like a spa pool! The shuffle board courts have even been painted. By the pool are two really great grills. The have really good covers and you can cook on indirect heat if you a grill master like me. The place is really great now and the management seems to work like a TEAM. SO, the Kon Tiki is back! Two thumbs up!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 6digityachtclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    51
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
37
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The cons first...the room was no frills, but we knew that - no hair dryer or shampoos, no cups, and we could only get one tv channel to work...the water was hard to get started in the sink, and the shower ran (a hot and heavenly) full force...but...the pros...we weren't there for the water or the cups etc. Everyone who says the pictures don't do it justice are correct; don't make the mistake of going to your room and judging before you have walked to the water. This place was a retreat; we had dinner (carry out pizza and some bottles of wine)by the water with the sunset and later the stars, sat outside for three + hours and ended looking at the stars from the hammock. Family friendly but also couples friendly. Just peaceful, even with a lot of kids around. It is the perfect halfway point between Key West and Miami if you are flying in/out of there.

Room Tip: We had room 24; up by the road but traffic noise was not a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a couple, not staying with us, over to visit us during the day and the staff said they were not welcome. What is that?!? Its not as if they were staying in our room. They simply joined us at the pool. My family and I have been coming for years and I've never heard of such a thing. It's not like we were a bunch of partying kids. I demanded our money back and left. Never be back again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

So we needed a place to stay for wedding that we were attending the first weekend of March. As usual I started my research online and asking around about nice, yet affordable places to stay. Of course I hit up tripadvisor.com to analyze any suggestions I got and that's what really helped to make my decision for the perfect place for our visit to Islamorada. So Thanks to everyone for posting your reviews!

I called about 2 months in advance and they only had 1 room available so make your reservations early. There are only 23 units total, but that made for a more personal and quaint visit. We hardly saw anyone on Friday and very view guest on Saturday. The staff was very helpful and polite and were also rarely seen, but always available when needed. We had been assigned room #5 over the phone, but when we arrived we were pleased to learn we had been upgraded to room #3 which is just a little bit closer to the water. "Barbara" and "George" were there when we checked in and couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

The grounds were spotless and I started taking pictures right away. The "cottages" were adorable and super clean with just enough space for us. The screened in porch facing the water got a lot of use and the living room, kitchen, bathroom and bed room were very comfortable and inviting. The bathrooms had plenty of towels and the kitchen was fully stocked with any thing you need to prepare and enjoy a meal.

We immediately changed clothes and jumped in one of the hammocks in the palms by the water and soaked in the gentle breeze and beautiful sunshine. We eventually made it in the cool, but comfortable lagoon then the clean heated pool. The wildlife was abundant with plenty of small fish in the lagoon as well as plenty of egrets and pelicans to watch fly around and catch their dinner.

Unfortunately we only stayed two nights and spent most of the evenings at another resort where the wedding and other friends were staying for the weekend. When we were at Kon Tiki it was very quiet and felt like we were coming home each time we returned. We even got a game of shuffle board in!

We will defiantly be back and will suggest this lovely gem to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are basically 3 duplex units right on the water with the best view. I will stay in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed two nights in Feb and enjoyed our stay. The grounds were lovely, well maintained. This is a great place to relax, and enjoy a quiet hour in the hammocks. The room was clean, and that is very important to me. I would recomend the Kon Tiki Resort to anyone lookng for a relaxing simple place to stay at a great price.

Room Tip: stayed in number 7 and had a wonderful view of the water and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinarena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

While a little reluctant to write too many nice things in case people suddenly start flocking down there in droves and they have to raise their prices, or else are fully booked when we next want to go down and stay, I have to be honest and say what a nice little resort this is. It's very well maintained with a lovely fresh water pool and a sea water pool (with little beach), great boat ramp and dock, nice sitting areas and very very nice management staff. The room was spotless, and the shower was outstanding - one of the best hotel showers I've ever had. Unfortunately I had a bit of a cold so at 2 in the morning while I was awake sneezing, I had to sneak into the bathroom and sit there on the floor with a towel and read for a couple of hours so as not to wake my soundly slumbering husband - and so I had a chance to really examine the bathroom in detail from the ground up - and it really was absolutely spotless. Kudos. There is a great open area by the boat ramp so it was easy to get the boat in the water, and while the actual boat ramp was a little slippery (algae maybe?), it was really well laid out. The great thing is that probably 1/4 of a mile away (by road and by water) is the Islamorada Fish Company, part of Bass Pro Shops, so within 4 minutes you can be eating a great lunch or dinner. Very nice little resort, and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chewedpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

what a relaxing place! LOVED the hamocks that they have strung under the palm trees and it has a very nice outdoor pool. the rooms or condo's, i am not sure what to call them, are just OK...nothing special about them but they are clean! would go back in a heart beat :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.7 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
5.0 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
1.0 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.9 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
5.4 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon-Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon-Tiki Resort

Property: Kon-Tiki Resort
Address: 81200 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever been somewhere and feel there's something very important you have to do? Maybe it's fishing or scuba diving or nothing at all. The subtropical ambiance of the Kon Tiki Resort is that kind of place. You can enjoy swimming, fishing, diving, snorkeling and boating all year round. You'll be in paradise while soaking up the sun next to our heated freshwater pool or on the sandy beach of our private lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon-Tiki Hotel Islamorada
Kon-Tiki Resort Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing