We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You owe it to find out more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of History of Diving Museum

History of Diving Museum
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You owe it to find out more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is one of the most interesting places you will visit when you come to the keys

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ziggysdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    155
    28
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Massive collection of amazing diving equipment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

When I suggested this museum, none of my family was too excited...except for me. Afterwards they all said my favorite words..."you were right". We all found the museum very interesting with a fantastic array of beautiful diving equipment. In talking with one of the staff, I found out that the displayed pieces are only 1/3 of the collection that was collected from around the world mainly by one couple. Well worth the stop...diver or not. Also, their website contains a coupon.

Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravellotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad if you're interested in a small piece of diving history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

An interesting short stop along the highway, this museum focuses on the early history of diving that stops a few decades ago and does not present anything more recent. For history of hardhat diving, though, it is extensive. Be sure to get their brochure from the visitor center for $2 off admittance.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
380 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“This Was Really Fun - Do The Helium Bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This place just celebrated their sixth anniversary (2012) and it was my first visit. I thought the kids may be bored since I didn't know what was inside, boy oh boy was I wrong! There are several hands-on exhibits like pulleys that teach underwater pressure. Their room of dive helmets from around the world is very cool. Take your time and read through the displays, it's so educational. At the very end, in the gift shop, they have a "Helium Bar" where for $3, you can buy a mouthpiece and suck in helium. Childish? It was hilarious! Be a kid again and sing "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" while sounding like a chipmunk. I'm still laughing a week later. Fun little way to end your experience here. And once you attend, you'll know why helium is important to diving. This was really enjoyable and a great way to escape the Islamorada heat. Their library of dive books is most impressive, too. Unique addition to the Keys adventures.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting beginning of a Great Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This museum has some very unique items from Diving past. If you get a chance look through your basement or garage and donate some of those older diving equipment to them.

This museum can go from very good to outstanding with a little help

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walruspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing