We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,242)
Filter reviews
4,242 results
Traveller rating
2,286
993
535
253
175
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,286
993
535
253
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course adult pool family pool sushi restaurant atlantic's edge lagoon view outdoor tub glass of champagne main building turn down service resort fee tennis courts beautiful resort fish king suite ocean front sunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,403 - 1,408 of 4,242 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

I'm conflicted writing this review as I really, really wanted this to be 4 star stay this past August.
Pros:
Warm welcome, glass of champagne. Reception moved things around so we could check in early.
Lagoon view relaxing even if not beachfront.
One bedroom family suite spacious enough for two adults, one teen and one preteen - bathroom was beautiful and HUGE.
Water sports were AWESOME with great service. We loved paddle boarding, fishing and kayaking.
Overall, property is very pretty and lobby, sand, impressive.
Great grocery store right across the street that was a tad pricey, but had everything you would need.
Ocean front restaurant dinner was delicious with impeccable service. Highlight of stay.
Cons:
Major flooding in kitchen under sink soon after arrival. Called maintenance. Fixed. For a day.
Room had worn feeling; table had major wood nick.
Flooded again.
Day 2. maintenance came again, good response time. fixed for good.
Kitchen supplies bit random and not all essentials were covered.
Child had "accident" in the pool on arrival day. Closed. Out of their control, but definite con, however, they turned it around to open the following day. Pro.
Net, net, overall good stay. The good and bad seemed to balance each other out over our 3 day stay, but with what should be a solid, 4 star property, the service and attitude of staff should be better and more professional along with consistent, quality accommodations.

Room tip: The one bedroom suites with kitchen are well suited for a family of four. Ocean front would be better, but you lose the kitchen. option.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Famo4Philly_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Famo4Philly_PA,
Thank you for taking the time provide us feedback from your recent stay here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa. We appreciate the kind words about our team members and the service they provided, and we’re glad you enjoyed some of the many activities we offer. We regret the experience you encountered with your accommodations but have addressed them with our maintenance team. We certainly hope you will come back for another visit so we can try to earn our star back. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights last year and had a great time. The views overlooking the ocean and spectacular and it's an incredibly relaxing holiday. There's a great sushi bar in the hotel and some lovely restaurants nearby. Will definitely go back when next in Florida!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Andy B,
We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had an incredibly relaxing holiday. Thank you for the wonderful review. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple nights with my wife. I rarely if ever write a bad review as I understand that things happen outside the control of hotel owners.
Our visit started off checking in. They took three couples who arrived after us to check in prior to us. No problem. It happens.
We get a "free upgrade" to a room better than we reserved. We check in and drive to the room. All the parking for the room is occupied. Call the desk. Oh well park where you can. Even though it's reserved parking.
Get into the room. The slider is open and it's about 100 degrees in the room. Go to close the slider, it's. It open, it's broken. Off the glass. Broken. Send maintenance. Takes 3 hours for the room to cool and slider still does not close...
Go to watch a movie on in room DVD player. Doesn't work. 30 minutes into an attempt to fix it they bring a second tv and place it in front of the other tv. Room still about 85 degrees to sleep in.
Go to desk at 8 am. Advise them of issues and am told that only rooms available to change are smaller than we have and they will fix.
Shower also not working because handle pulled out of the wall when we attempted to turn it on. That was also fixed. Poorly. Because it still pulled off every time.

Come back to room. Room still 100 degrees. AC not fixed. Slider fixed. Still 2 tvs and a Jerry rigged shower.

So much for a 5 star resort

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank robmA453CU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Robmcginley
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. We obviously fell considerably short of delivering the experience you came to enjoy, and we regret that. We take your comments to heart and have addressed the items you noted with our team. In fact, all of the issues with the room have been fixed. Our parking is not reserved so we apologize for the inconvenience this caused you as well. We hope you will consider a return visit to Cheeca so we can show you the true experience our guests have come to know for generations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

I had never been to The Cheeca Lodge but my liver had, so he decided to surprise me to a wonderful long weekend away, I was hesitant about going but when we arrived I then realized he went all out and was really treating me to a romantic weekend away. Our suite was beautiful, I couldn't even describe it. I felt like I was staying in Fiji. We had our own spiral staircase down to our private beach. Our private beach had our own hammock which they changed the beach towels daily and you could basically walk around naked. It was so romantic and beautiful. The beach was right there, it was soo inviting, warm and beautiful. There are boat docks out over the water which you can hang out on or dive into the ocean. The pool is romantic and beautiful, there are servers that bring you drinks and who treat you like royalty. The golf course was small but fairly decent, we bought our clubs and played a few rounds of golf, we had fun but it was hot. The restaurant was lovely and the food was impeccable. I don't recommend bringing your kids here, it's more for adults and romantic. I don't recall seeing any kids and I'm really glad I didn't. It's not the type of pool to be running around screaming and it jumping around in the pool. Couples are all coupled up enjoying their love and peace and quiet. If you're looking to impress you're lady this is the place to go! Don't forget your golf clubs!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Michelle A,
We’re thrilled you had a romantic and beautiful long weekend getaway here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa. Thanks so much for the great review. Please come back soon so we can do it all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Fourth time visiting . We came back because we love it here however this time things were different. They were under staffed, pool service was SO slow when they were there . Half the time there was no one around . They also got rid of the awesome cushions for the lounge chairs by the pool disappointed they weren't there.
Lobby bar had no bartender . They use to have free self serve Starbucks coffee and tea in lobby in the mornings now you have to pay
4$ a cup for non Starbucks . The drink prices have increased as well.
My parents had ants in her room for two days straight , we had water bugs in our shower the last morning we were here.
Definitely different from the last few times we were here.
They also moved the activities hut to the other side of the property.
The food is still great ! The spa was amazing so that's a plus.
Might be looking to try other places next time around. For the amount of money you spend each day and night I expect to have a 5 star
Experience in all areas of my stay .

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jodimonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Jodimonetti,
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. We are very disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations but will certainly address the issues you noted with our team. We have made some changes since your last stay. We replaced our self-serve coffee with a lobby bar some time ago at the request of many guests who wanted specialty coffees and grab-and-go items early in the morning. We so hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the true Cheeca experience our guests have come to know for generations. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews