We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was ok”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed for our honeymoon, there was no mention or congratulations or anything special for us spending our honeymoon at Cheeca Lodge. Was suppose to be there for 8 days but unfortunately due to hurricane Irma we had to evacuate which were we're refunded our monies for the remainder of our stay which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 67daf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear 67daf,
We’re sorry to learn your stay was shortened due to Hurricane Irma, and we truly regret that we did not have an opportunity to help you celebrate your honeymoon. We sure hope you will give us another change to show you the Cheeca our guests have come to know for generations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 3,455 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Way above the normal Florida Keys accommodations and Resort. Incredible rooms, great views on the ocean (unusual) and beautiful facilities....perfectly maintained. It even smells great inside the resort!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear johnlT9856AV,
We’re thrilled you love Cheeca and the Keys, and we appreciate your great review of your recent stay with us. We hope you will come back soon for a return visit. Thanks again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We loved the oceanfront room with the large balcony. We stayed at Cheeca many times before, but this was the first time in the main hotel building. From now on, this is where we will always stay, if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CHRIS V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear CHRIS V,
We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience the rooms in our Main Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to our island home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My two daughters and I took a holiday pre-school . Much overdue! The most amazing vacation and fun kayaking,
boating , lizard seeking, paddle boating ....

We rented a car so drove from Fort Lauderdale.

Customer service was beyond !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Venus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Venus M,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us here at Cheeca. We’re thrilled you had a wonderful mommy and daughter getaway, and we hope you will come back soon for a return visit! Thanks again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I stayed here for business with a few other coworkers and have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. The grounds and rooms were beyond beautiful - impeccably maintained and clean. The views from the dining area and my room were stunning - especially in the morning when the sun was coming up. I felt every employee, from Bob the GM, to the greet staff at the door, went above and beyond to make sure all of my needs were met. The staff was always courteous - which is why I am looking to bring my family the next time I am in the area. My coworkers and i are already trying to plan the next visit!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room with a view - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Amy S,
Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us here at Cheeca Lodage & Spa. We’re so pleased that you and your coworkers enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the kind words about our resort and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

In September of 2017, Hurricane Irma stuck the Florida Keys and, by their location, the Cheeca Lodge and Spa. As a first responder, I traveled to the Keys to assist in the clean up and provide security. There was extremely limited power throughout the Keys and travel was almost impossible due to the damage from the hurricane. Even though the Cheeca Lodge and Spa was hit hard (nothing that can't be mended), the staff at the Cheeca Lodge and Spa opened up their rooms, their kitchens and their hearts for numerous first responders that traveled to the Keys. We were fed, we were housed and we were treated with the utmost respect from the entire staff that were dealing with their own problems created by the hurricane.

This is a first class establishment with a first class staff that should be experienced by anyone visiting the Florida Keys.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Zakman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Zakman99,
Cheeca and our community here in the Keys can’t thank you enough for helping us during our time of need. We really appreciate your services and were honored to host you and your team. We are working hard on our comeback and can assure you that we will be back bigger, better and more brilliant than ever. We can’t wait to welcome you back! Thanks so much for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here with a large group as all were in town for a wedding. The rooms were very nice and well appointed even those overlooking the golf course. The welcome glass of champagne was a nice touch but when we tried to order a bottle to be delivered to the bride to be as she was getting ready, room service was not able to deliver it in time which was slightly disappointing but we weren't charged. Some of the guests took advantage of the spa services and reported a good experience. The breakfast buffet was good but very expensive so only opted to do that one day. We did spend a lot of time at the pools but there was not a lot of space or chairs at the main pool so we did go over to the spa pool where it was less overwhelming and quieter. The pool bar and the bar in the hotel were good and made good drinks. Overall, a nice place to stay but wish there was a larger pool area or another pool area to relax at and definitely recommend going off site for cheaper meals and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelingqueen9207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear travelingqueen9207,
We’re glad you enjoyed your recent stay, and we appreciate your detailed review. We’ll be sure to address the room service issue you experienced and apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.8 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,408 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
992 reviews
4.3 km away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
5.2 km away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
31.9 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $411 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing