We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A death trap”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had low expectations for the $85 / night rate, but that's fine. We just wanted, clean, cheap and safe for a few nights.

We got relatively clean, relatively cheap (although the kitchenette rooms no longer have microwaves so save your extra $10)

Safe? Not even close. The smoke detector beeped all night because there was no AC power to it and the bargain basement 9volt backup battery was dead. Removing the unit to change the battery revealed the safety label "Replace Unit By 2002"!

The television in the room SIZZLED for 1/2 an hour each time you turned it on because it was full of water. One visit from a competent Fire Marshall would have this place shut down,

Spend a little more and go somewhere safe. It's not worth dying in the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a DIFFERENT motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmorrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Smoke detectors have manufacture dates on the back of them. There are no expiration dates. We have replacement TV's when one decides to not work. We are sorry for your bad experience. We hope you would try us again. We do appriciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Read a couple reviews and was skeptical. Not sure people have realistic expectations for one and two star lodging. Very suitable accomodations for the prices in the Keys. Clean room with comfortable beds, older but adequate bathroom fixtures and friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast and lunch right next door with good food and a host of other options for dinner with-in walking distance. Clean pool on the premises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Don't let first impressions fool you. The Sunset Inn is clean and comfortable. Dennise goes out of his way to accommodate you. We stayed 4 nites then went up to Key Largo for a week and came back and stayed at the Sunset instead of staying at the Days Inn in Key West. It's nothing fancy and it's needs some updating but I would go back again. Very budget minded place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyluckwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are contantly upgrading things as moneys are available. Please stop again on your next trip. Mangrove Mike's breakfast restaurant just changed his menu. Great new stuff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It wasn't our first choice, BUT, it was clean, and did for a place to stay! We were on 2nd floor and had 2 doors. One in front and one in back (front on street Overseas Hwy side and other is back on pool side) which was unexpected. Excellent water pressure - big for us as we don't like the no pressure water showers! It was clean, guy at check in was very nice. We will keep this place in mind if our other choice isn't available.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

When we go on holiday, we aren't seeking somewhere posh: we just want something as comfortable and spacious and convenient as (but cleaner than!) our own home. And at a good price. Found at the Sunset. Nice big rooms, everything worked properly. Good value for the money. Great location, walking distance to a number of fooderies, and only a two-minute drive to the excellent seafood buffet at Whale Harbour, and BrazaLena is also worth the extra money. Lovely mature trees on site, and space behind the buildings to sit out and take the night air. Thanks to Deb and hubby for "our kinda place" and to Dennis for the live entertainment!

Room Tip: We stayed twice during the same two-week trip, in different rooms, both good, but there are some les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Sunset Inn offers the bare essentials. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The man at the desk was helpful. The pool was dirty and the deck & chairs covered with bird droppings. It was an ok place to stay for one night and there is a good restaurant close by. I loved the Lorelei - good food & music, fantastic sunset. Anna's Beach is non-existant - no beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I had to make a short trip to the Keys for some job interviews and were looking for a cheap place to stay. The cheapest place we could find was the Sunset Inn which thanks to off season rates was only $55 a night for weeknights. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, and the pool area was nice and refreshing. The owner, Dennis was very friendly and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat (Islamorada Fish Company and Mangrove Mikes). There is a great little cafe right beside the Sunset Inn called Mangrove Mike's which served a great, affordable breakfast. There is also a Burger King across the street too. The only downside was that the Inn is right next to the highway which means you hear cars all night, but other than that we had no problems and would definitely stay here again. It's a great place to stay for those on a budget and aren't looking for a luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.5 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.8 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
3.5 km away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn and Suites Key Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing