We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go. ”

The Turtle Hospital
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I can't say enough good about this place. You can tell as soon as you walk in the door every employee enjoy's their job. Please make sure you have reservations I called a week ahead and had no issues with making reservations. But I did see a lot of people just walking in and all the spots were full. So it's best to call ahead. The tour was very informative and just being able to be with the turtles. was amazing. You get to tour where they have the surgery and then be with the turtles. Our guide was great. It is about an 90 minute tour and worth every minute. You won't want to leave.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TammyH144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea turtles"
in 836 reviews
"injured turtles"
in 150 reviews
"permanent residents"
in 134 reviews
"operating room"
in 86 reviews
"love turtles"
in 54 reviews
"tour starts"
in 48 reviews
"minute tour"
in 108 reviews
"bubble butt"
in 45 reviews
"educational tour"
in 64 reviews
"make reservations"
in 94 reviews
"slide show"
in 46 reviews
"call ahead"
in 41 reviews
"all ages"
in 158 reviews
"these beautiful creatures"
in 58 reviews
"gift shop"
in 130 reviews
"great tour"
in 94 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 83 reviews
Filter

277 - 281 of 3,921 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

They are doing great work funded by the tours, donations, turtle adoptions, etc. We enjoyed seeing the rescued turtles up close, and you get to feed the long term residents in the big pool at the end. Advance reservations are highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

My husband and I booked up by emailing the hospital before we left the UK. We were glad we did as all the places for the tour had been taken and others were being turned away.
The tour lasts for 1.5 hours and is very interesting. It is not cheap but think of it as a donation to the great work they are doing there. It was lovely to see so many different types of turtles up close and learn about how they are helped.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank YvySurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

My husband and I visited the turtle hospital while we were staying in Marathon. We were able to call that morning to reserve our spots but make sure you call ahead to make a reservation as the whole day was booked by the time we got there. The employees were very helpful at the front desk and very polite when dealing with drop in guests who did not understand that all the tours were full.

The tour starts with a presentation about general information about sea turtles and then you are taken through the turtle operating room. The second portion of the tour is visiting the different tanks to see the turtles who are being treated and those that are permanent residence at the hospital. At the end of the tour, guests are able to feed many of the turtles in one of the larger pools. Our only request would be that our tour guide would talk a little slower. She was VERY knowledgeable and gave a wealth of information but she had an accent that could be hard to interpret when she started talking faster. Overall we really enjoyed our experience. Yes, $25 is a bit expensive but it is all going to the work that the hospital is doing to help the turtles.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

It's expensive but if you consider it a donation to their work...then it doesn't feel like that much. It's cool o see the turtles up close and hear about the hospital. I would recommend checking it out -- get reservations ahead of time if a busy time of the year.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing